User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-24-2007, 06:56 PM   #1
boyscout OP
sittin' down

Oddometer: 1,322
Suggestions for a dragging LC4 clutch?

The clutch on my 2002 LC4 Adventure has dragged for awhile now. It has a little over 13k miles on it. If I adjust the play in the cable to 5mm as the manual states, when warm, it pushes the bike forward and neutral is difficult to find at a stop.

I recently installed a new clutch cable and had to spin the adjuster barrel almost half way out from the get go. I've adjusted the lever arm at the bottom of the cable to take up as much slack as possible. This seems a little weird to me, although I have very little experience with wet clutch bikes.

Does this sound like worn out or warped clutch disks? If so should I just replace all the disks or measure them and replace those that are out of spec? I'm outfitting this bike for a long trip and want to err on the side of precaution.

boyscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
creeper
Still alive...

Oddometer: 10,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyscout
Does this sound like worn out or warped clutch disks? If so should I just replace all the disks or measure them and replace those that are out of spec? I'm outfitting this bike for a long trip and want to err on the side of precaution.
What kind of oil you got in there and how old is it?

First... check these adjustments.

The check these specs.

Then do what ever it takes to make it right.

c
Old 05-24-2007, 08:39 PM   #3
boyscout OP
sittin' down

Quote:
Originally Posted by creeper
What kind of oil you got in there and how old is it?
Rock Oil S4. About 600 miles since I changed it.

Quote:
First... check these adjustments.
The slot on my release shaft is well past parallel to the case seam. I guess I'll find out why this weekend.

Thanks for the info.

Old 05-24-2007, 09:12 PM   #4
creeper
Still alive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by boyscout