ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 10:34 AM   #1
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
canisterectomy on 990FI

Can't seem to be able to fake out the pcm that the valve for the cannister is still hooked up. With ignition on, the pcm sends 12 volts and checks the circuit before the engine is even started. I've grounded the negitive side and the pcm still knows it's not plugged in. FI code is that the system is grounded(with the valve just unplugged). Cannot find a schematic on this in the service manuel.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:41 AM   #2
rubRsidedown
Beastly Adventurer
 
rubRsidedown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Maineiacationland, USA
Oddometer: 2,697
All in due time I'm sure......
__________________
Jeff B In Maine
05.5 KTM 950 Adventure Black, Mine
06 BMW F650GS Electric Orange, Hers
"We don't quit playing because we grow old, we grow old because we quit playing."
rubRsidedown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:15 AM   #3
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
I am currently contemplating the same thing while I am doing the 1st service of my 990.

I am wondering what sorts of fueling and ignition changes the ECU makes when it opens the evap valve and creates a expected vacuum leak. Leaving the evap valve in place, while the intake manifold ports are plugged seems like a possible solution. The question for me remains whether the ECU will make fueling and ignition compensations when it opens a evap valve that is essentially useless.

Or, you could always put tape over the FI light.
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:28 AM   #4
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Laugh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Lavigne
I am currently contemplating the same thing while I am doing the 1st service of my 990.

I am wondering what sorts of fueling and ignition changes the ECU makes when it opens the evap valve and creates a expected vacuum leak. Leaving the evap valve in place, while the intake manifold ports are plugged seems like a possible solution. The question for me remains whether the ECU will make fueling and ignition compensations when it opens a evap valve that is essentially useless.

Or, you could always put tape over the FI light.
I doubt they make any changes. Now, the SAS is a large enough draw it has to make a diff. I've got a EIS system coming in the mail so I will soon have EGT,CHT, A/F, and about 10 other parameters available. I'm too lazy to resort to good old fahion plug reading on this bike.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 10:21 PM   #5
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
Do I understand from this that a successful 990FI canisterectomy has not been done yet? I just got a 990 and was browsing OC to see who had done it for some instructions. How much does that smog gear weigh anyway?
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 12:43 AM   #6
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg
Do I understand from this that a successful 990FI canisterectomy has not been done yet? I just got a 990 and was browsing OC to see who had done it for some instructions. How much does that smog gear weigh anyway?
You can take everything off like the 950's, just have to leave the valve(that controls the flow) plugged in to the harness. Bike is fine. No FI lights. No vacuum is hooked to the valve(or anything else). I can now top off both tanks to the top and have no problems. The pcm must look for the proper resistance with the valve hooked up.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:45 AM   #7
Northbound
Adventurer
 
Northbound's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
Oddometer: 36
How does the bike run with all that taken off? Better I hope!? I'm getting ready to dig into mine. Do you have to remap the FI or anything? Also, do you know if the 15 minute idle trick really does reset the ECU? Thanks.
__________________
2007 990 Adventure
2007 300 XC-W
Northbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 10:05 AM   #8
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northbound
How does the bike run with all that taken off? Better I hope!? I'm getting ready to dig into mine. Do you have to remap the FI or anything? Also, do you know if the 15 minute idle trick really does reset the ECU? Thanks.
I haven't taken off the SAS yet. That I think will effect the mapping. Don't know yet if the stock mapping has wide enough parameters to compensate for it. I have EGT,CHT and a wide band o-2 to install. Going to start on that today. I want a baseline stock before I remove the SAS. And also want to get FMF cans on it before the SAS comes off. Just disconnecting the charcoal filter I doubt anyone would notice a difference. Take a wide band to even tell IMO.
The map idle reset did well on my bike. I bought it at a dealer at 2800'+- and I live at 6500'. First thing I did was idle it for 10 minutes. Stay tuned, I'll let you know.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 11:24 AM   #9
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
You can take everything off like the 950's, just have to leave the valve(that controls the flow) plugged in to the harness. Bike is fine. No FI lights. No vacuum is hooked to the valve(or anything else). I can now top off both tanks to the top and have no problems. The pcm must look for the proper resistance with the valve hooked up.
Thanks for the info!
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 12:03 PM   #10
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
I have EGT,CHT and a wide band o-2 to install.
Are those instruments you will install on the bike or shop equipment? If on-the-bike, who makes those?
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 03:02 PM   #11
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg
Are those instruments you will install on the bike or shop equipment? If on-the-bike, who makes those?
Here u go. Full deal. EIS will stay on the bike. The rest will be temp.

EIS will monitor Duel CHT & EGT, tach, oil temp & pressure, water temp, o-2, hour meter, flight timer , voltage, outside air temp, instantaneous fuel flow, total fuel remaining, time until empty, low fuel limit, max fuel flow, & I think that's it on that.

The Davtron measures fuel temperature & OAT. This will be temporary.
Also have a temp sensor mounted in the air box. These are just for data and to try and cool the airfuel charge.

The Innovate wide band will be for tuning only. Not to sure if I can replace a factory one with this. Adding it in could effect back pressure.

EIS: http://www.grtavionics.com/model_2002.htm

tahoeacr screwed with this post 01-21-2008 at 10:05 AM
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 03:04 PM   #12
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
another pic

tahoeacr screwed with this post 01-21-2008 at 10:05 AM
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 03:05 PM   #13
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
A little large for the dash, but oh well!

tahoeacr screwed with this post 01-21-2008 at 10:05 AM
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 04:50 PM   #14
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
EGT, CHT and so on are far more common terms and displays in airplane cockpits. Are those usually airplane vendors? Of course an engine is an engine, so it should all work fine.

You will have I'm sure the most instrumented 990 ever!
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 04:59 PM   #15
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
You can take everything off like the 950's, just have to leave the valve(that controls the flow) plugged in to the harness. Bike is fine. No FI lights. No vacuum is hooked to the valve(or anything else). I can now top off both tanks to the top and have no problems. The pcm must look for the proper resistance with the valve hooked up.
Maybe slap an Ohmmeter on the valve coil and read the resistance. Then a small resistor can take it's place? It can't be super-tricky if there's just 2 wires to the relay unless it's a CANbus link, then that's a whole 'nother can of worms, with ID codes etc... I haven't taken the bike apart yet, only had my 990S 3 days!
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014