ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2007, 05:55 PM   #61
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...=242160&page=4

There is a pic of it below the map sensor. It was a pain to find somewhere to mount it. Fuel line requires some straight lines with no bends before and after. Plus those tanks really fit snug against everthing. There is no return line. These flow sensors work for return lines too.
Aha! So it's a direct fuel injection, more modern tech. My Aprilia RXV550 is also direct fuel injection, and both the RXV and the KTM990 exhibited the snatchy throttle at low RPM's, low throttle positions. A G2 throttle cam helped manage that a lot...
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 09:07 PM   #62
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,006
updates?

I'm about ready to do the canisterectomy and the sas removal on my 990.
Is there any new information from those who have completed these mods?
Are the resistors proving to be the correct ones?
Tahoacr how is your monitoring going and do you have any sage advice
on tuning etc.
Thanks, MAX
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 11:13 PM   #63
tahoeacr OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Resistors are working great for me. Same one in both. As far as tuning, been trying to get some dyno time with no success. The Akra map has killed my mpg. It is faster, but I will go back to stock. Even the guys I ride with have mentioned the fuel smell behind me. Thinking power commander would be good.

tahoeacr screwed with this post 08-15-2007 at 12:22 AM
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 12:00 AM   #64
minusone
Beastly Adventurer
 
minusone's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Beaches Sydney Australia
Oddometer: 1,290
Resistor works well for me 15KOhms
minusone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 06:01 PM   #65
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,006
Where?

Where can I order the resistors and plugs to connect them into the electrical
system.
I'm ordering a roll of the gold foil to cover the air box and tank insides, it's
3' x 10' for $261 does anyone want to buy half of it. Check it out in the
So I did the 15 min. idle trick thread .
Thanks MAX
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 06:34 PM   #66
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT
Where can I order the resistors and plugs to connect them into the electrical
system.
You can get the resistors from Radio Shack. I got the connector from http://eagleday.stores.yahoo.net/ampconnectors.html , but you could certainly do it without that.
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:49 PM   #67
FastEddy760
Lil' Mexican on a 990s
 
FastEddy760's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Lavigne
... I got the connector from http://eagleday.stores.yahoo.net/ampconnectors.html , but you could certainly do it without that.
Steve,

Thanks for the link. Would you mind posting the part #'s please?

Also, did this work for both ends, SAS and the Valve up front?

Thanks,
Eddy
FastEddy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 03:50 PM   #68
paochow
Bye bye desert
 
paochow's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: MinneSota
Oddometer: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastEddy760
Steve,

Thanks for the link. Would you mind posting the part #'s please?

Also, did this work for both ends, SAS and the Valve up front?

Thanks,
Eddy
+1 same questions

Thanks.
__________________

paochow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 09:51 AM   #69
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
Here is a copy of my invoice from Eagle Day:

AMP Connectors: 2-Pole ECK-212 1 14.95
Select Wire Gauge = 0.5-1.0 MM2
Male AMP Junior Power (AWG20-18)
Timer Connector Kit

AMP Connectors: Boots for AMP-CON-BOOT 1 3.95
Select Boot size = Straight
2/3-Pole Junior Timer Amp 37MM/2-pole
Connectors
Subtotal 18.90
Shipping 7.99
Total 26.89

I used this for the canister valve. I still have stock exhaust so I haven't messed with the SAS valve yet.
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 10:04 AM   #70
paochow
Bye bye desert
 
paochow's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: MinneSota
Oddometer: 1,177
Thanks Steve

I need to order that stuff up so I can rid myself of that octopus at the next service.
__________________

paochow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 10:33 PM   #71
FastEddy760
Lil' Mexican on a 990s
 
FastEddy760's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 188
Parts Ordered =]

Thanks Steve,
Parts ordered.

Does anyone know the connector type/brand for the SAS end of sensors?

Those who added the resistor(s), how did you secure it inline? Cut and solder, shrink tube?
FastEddy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:30 PM   #72
Timtiger
Adventurer
 
Timtiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore but Malaysia as much as possible
Oddometer: 66
Lambda sensor resitstors

Hi all,
Thought I would chip in with my experience on a Tiger 955i. I installed a Powercommander III USB and as part of this they sell a device that you plug into the wiring to replace the Lambda sensor. The Tiger is mapped to run lean at about 2,500RPM as a way to get the exhaust emissions low at the testing RPM but this gives the bike a big hiccup in the power output. You just disconnect the Lambda sensor and plug in the Dynojet Oxygen Sensor eliminator kit and tuck it away under the tank. They sell a few different kinds already installed in waterproof plugs. I am unsure which one (if any) will fit the 990 but they only cost US$15. Maybe an option for those not so "do it yourself" with electrics.
Look here:
http://www.powercommander.com/powerc...cessories.aspx
Timtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:44 PM   #73
paochow
Bye bye desert
 
paochow's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: MinneSota
Oddometer: 1,177
Local Radio Shack only had 10,000 Ohm and 22,000 Ohm 1/4 watt resistors when I went there the other day. Should either of these work?
__________________

paochow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 10:48 PM   #74
FastEddy760
Lil' Mexican on a 990s
 
FastEddy760's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 188
My steps to Smog Freedom and Resistors at Both Ends

Hello Team,

I took the advice, collective knowledge and some luck, and figured out the whole process. Following will be the addition of my pictures and how I removed, soldered, assembled, bleed, and put the mighty 990 back together.


For starters, I used the resistors from Radio Shack, and the plug for Eagle Day. Here we go...
FastEddy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:00 PM   #75
FastEddy760
Lil' Mexican on a 990s
 
FastEddy760's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 188
The parts list -
Attached Images
 
FastEddy760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014