ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Alaska & Canada
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 10:16 AM   #1
Lenijatlarge OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: N37 41.316 W122 02.508
Oddometer: 5
Question Canada maps Street Pilot III vs Zumo + what to buy

I'm considering whether or not to upgrade my SPIII or just buy more memory and deal with the multiple dowloads to the unit. I'm looking at the Map Source road maps for B.C and they really suck (I have the most current I could download from Garmin). Are the new maps any more detailed outside of metro areas? The ones I have for use with my Street Pilot show nothing but major routes outside of larger B.C cities, and some towns I wish to visit are not even on the map.
Also I am also considering what I would buy if I make a switch. I like having access to altitude, don't need the blue-tooth / XM/I-pod capablities. What are my options?
__________________

Lenijatlarge screwed with this post 06-21-2007 at 09:59 PM Reason: misspelling of Canada
Lenijatlarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:04 PM   #2
Moto North
Ontario ADV Rider
 
Moto North's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Campbellville Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 161
I bought the Zumo 550 and love it! You can save a few$ with the 450 without all the blue tooth and xm crap. I've used mine off road as well on organized GPS runs and it worked fine for that too.
Moto North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:06 PM   #3
Lenijatlarge OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: N37 41.316 W122 02.508
Oddometer: 5
Canada Garmin maps info needed

Thanks for the unit recommend- I am assuming it doesn't give an altitude readout. Correct me if I am mistaken.
Also I am assuming you are Canadian or have familiarity with using GPS N of the US Border. I need to know more specifically about the maps- I am not sure the North American Mapping Software is the same for my old Street Pilot as it is for the new generation units. If it isn't I may need to buy a new unit. Example: The only place I can "draw" routes ( the auto-routing function) without connecting a jillion little points along the road is around larger cities and heavy tourism areas- in these cases the software will only draw "as the crow flies" unless I mark every little bend in the road as it goes along. Even plotted mm by mm, the mileages are not correct. The town of Nakusp does not even appear in my updated software maps and there is no road to Bella Coola shown. This won"t do for my upcoming trip. Does yours have these limitations? Thanks-
__________________
Lenijatlarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 02:50 PM   #4
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,050
I'm using the Zumo 550 and it has street level details with the built in City Navigator 8. I have also added Canada Guide V 4.

I used to have the SP III and compared to the 2610 which can be had for $195, there's no point in buying Garmin memory cards will cost you more than the getting a refurbished SP 2610. The latter has way better routing and accuracy than the SP III ever did.. Of course, if you stop up to the Zumo, it's got a lightning fast processor and I really like the 3D map view.
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 10:58 PM   #5
FixerDave
KLR-650
 
FixerDave's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenijatlarge
...Example: The only place I can "draw" routes ( the auto-routing function) without connecting a jillion little points along the road is around larger cities and heavy tourism areas- in these cases the software will only draw "as the crow flies" unless I mark every little bend in the road as it goes along.
I was playing with the new Garmin Topo Canada mapsets - and the backroad coverage is decent, if a little hard to see with all those topo lines running around. You can get decent backroad coverage with the Canadian Enhanced Basemap set as well.

With the new Topo mapsets, Mapsource will autoroute alone any of the backroads. The older Enhanced Basemap set I have does not do this. I have no idea if the newer sets of the Enhanced Basemap can autoroute. So, take your chances, or try it out. (note that there are bit torrents of at least the new Canadian topo mapsets available - and that's all I'm going to say).

I wrote up a comparison here: http://www.dualsportbc.com/forums/forum27/4189.html
and I'll eventually get that copied over to my GPS blog: http://gpsdave.blogspot.com/

David...
FixerDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014