ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2007, 06:12 PM   #1
CaptRick OP
On dry land 4 now.....
 
CaptRick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 4,361
HELP O2 sensor removal and Y pipe

OK I am trying to install a Y pipe on my 1150GS. I got the muffler off, no problem, dropped the cat but I cant get the dam O2 sensor loose for the life of me!!!
Before I resort to violence, am I missing something really simple????
Any one else have a problem with the dam thing?
It looks like a simple nut to turn and loosen????
Help please I want to ride tomorrow AM early.....
__________________
Arggh ya scurvy dogs, thar's Pirating to be done!

Growing older every day but never growing up.
CaptRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 06:35 PM   #2
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,243
If memory serves me , you have to trace the O2 sensor wire to it's source, which I believe is under the fuel tank and unplug it from there, then spray the O2 sensor in the cat with WD40 or Liquid Wrench and let it soak in and then you shold find it'll come out with ease. Install it in the Y pipe, etc..

You could take the easier way and try to get the O2 sensor without unplugging it first, but the twisting of the wire might break it.
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 06:47 PM   #3
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,687

If you have the sensor unplugged, slip a 6 or 12 point box-end wrench on there, tip the catalyst onto it's side, and give the wrench a whack with a hard metal-head hammer. Just remember, lefty loosey

Reinstall the sensor into the y-pipe with any flavor of anti-seize. Any flavor will work because at max torque, the exhaust temp isn't ever much more than 600C right at the cylinder port. And is cooler by the time it reaches the sensor. After the catalyst it warms up again.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation

Poolside screwed with this post 06-29-2007 at 07:17 PM
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 07:52 PM   #4
CaptRick OP
On dry land 4 now.....
 
CaptRick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 4,361
*#%$@#%^&*&^%()
Blast dam O2 sensor!!!!
Arghhh walk the plank yer scum dog
Ill nail yer tits to the table bitch
happy place happy place.......
anger managment.....
Ok I took offf the gas tank unpluged the sensor and willlet it soak over night with some liquid wrench, if in the AM I cant get it loose its over to the dealer for a new sensor. Hope its a stock item......
On the plus side the bike is getting a good dusting and cob web removal!
Oh the joys of a BMW, as the germans say YOU WILL DO IT MY WAY!!!
__________________
Arggh ya scurvy dogs, thar's Pirating to be done!

Growing older every day but never growing up.
CaptRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 11:41 PM   #5
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,687

It'll likely be a stock item at the BMW store. But there's another option.

If the sensor cannot be removed, you do not need to buy the OEM BMW replacement part. It's a 4 wire heated O2 sensor that's identical to several hundred million installed in vehicles since time began. The only difference is the electrical connector. (And I think the sensor body comes in 2 different physical sizes)

Auto parts stores have 4 wire and 5 wire UNIVERSAL replacement O2 sensors with a wire splice kit included. Cut the OEM cable and connector from the old sensor, and splice in the new sensor.

To avoid the blank stare at the parts store when you say "Its for a BMW motorcycle", tell them its for a 2002 BMW 320. Not that I know that that sensor is the right physical size mind you, but rather it avoids triggering the reflexive response of "We don't have motorcycle parts, sir"

Bring the catalyst with you and physically match up one of the universal O2 sensors. Really there's only like two different flavors.

The 4 wire colors are White-White-Black-Gray. The whites are the heater, not polarity sensitive. Gray is signal ground, and Black is the signal.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation

Poolside screwed with this post 06-29-2007 at 11:59 PM
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 05:27 AM   #6
CaptRick OP
On dry land 4 now.....
 
CaptRick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 4,361
Thanks poolside!
If my cycle dealer is out I will hit the auto zone. I had no idea it was a universal thing. I would also think the universal will be a little less coin since it wont come over the magic parts counter. It's magioc cause it turns penny parts into gold plated parts!
__________________
Arggh ya scurvy dogs, thar's Pirating to be done!

Growing older every day but never growing up.
CaptRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 05:39 AM   #7
BobFV1
Beastly Adventurer
 
BobFV1's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 23,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptRick
Arghhh walk the plank yer scum dog
Ill nail yer tits to the table bitch
Oh my!

At least give the WD40 a try
__________________

BobFV1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 06:18 AM   #8
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,243
WD40 or Liquid wrench should do the trick, no need for violence Just be sure to use a good size wrench and the cat is held in place so it doesn't move.. get a helper! The hardest part is getting the tank off to unplug it. When reinstalling it the sensor, you might want to use some anti seize compound on its threads just in case you have to remove it again without resorting to threats of violence!
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 12:39 PM   #9
CaptRick OP
On dry land 4 now.....
 
CaptRick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 4,361
NAPA to the rescue!

NAPA to the rescue!
Naturaly the dealer didnt have a sensor in stock and when I saw what he wanted for it,($ 186.00) I was glad he didnt.

Went down to NAPA found a bosch 4 wire sensor for $ 92.00 and rewired the plug to the GS plug.
Seems to work just fine! The old sensor is still welded in place, I used every lubricant known to mankind , nothing worked, Even had a helper and a breaker bar, no luck. Any one need a cat with a built in O2 sensor!

Any way back is back together, and Im changing all the fluids, Engine castrol synthetic, trans and FD BMW synthetic.

Tomorrow it's time for a ride!
__________________
Arggh ya scurvy dogs, thar's Pirating to be done!

Growing older every day but never growing up.
CaptRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 02:00 PM   #10
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,687

Glad it worked out for ya maytey.



Something important about using penetrating oil to remove an O2 sensor.

The backshell of the sensor has an vent that's open to the atmosphere. The location of the vent 'hole' may not be obvious. The vent allows atmospheric oxygen to reach the backside of the sense element.

If, via spraying oil through the vent, the sensor element is covered with penetrating oil well, that is a bad thing.

Blocking the atmospheric oxygen from the O2 sense element more or less 'inverts' the sensor output. You know, the sensor 'senses' the difference in levels between the oxygen in the air, and the oxygen in the exhaust.

Another way to say that is, it's comparing a high oxygen environment on the outside, to a low oxygen environment on the inside.

Blocking the O2 from the back side of the sensor 'inverts' the comparison. Instead of making a comparison to 'oxygen', the sensor is making a comparison to 'no-oxygen'.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 02:34 PM   #11
bykemike
"ready to navigate"
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: St. Augustine FL
Oddometer: 295
Is the sensor really needed? I was told ,at some point, that if the sensor is removed the ECU goes to a midpoint default setting and the operation of the bike is unaffected. Any thoughts on this??
Mike
__________________
"ready to navigate"

about as funny as a guy with a squirt can of FD fluid at a BMW rally
bykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 04:13 PM   #12
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,687

Quote:
Originally Posted by bykemike
I was told...at some point, if the sensor is removed the ECU goes to a midpoint default setting and the operation of the bike is unaffected.
Yea pretty much largely unaffected Mike.

The ECU oscillates the mixture between 'either side of stoichiometric', and normally uses the O2 sensor feedback to do it. This is true for the 11xx/1200

If the ECU does not have O2 sensor input, it uses real-time crank speed feedback to get to the same place.

The mixture 'swings' accomplished by the ECU using rotation velocity feedback end up being the same as those accomplished with O2 sensor feedback.

The difference is, on the load/rpm grid map, the the number of load/rpm points where closed-loop O2 sensor feedback is effective, is larger than the area where closed-loop crank speed feedback is effective.

Said another way, using the O2 sensor for feedback, the motor is operated in closed-loop over a larger number of loads and rpms. Crank speed feedback is otherwise the same, except for a smaller closed loop area.


Some mythology: Rich mixture 'limp-home' mode.


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation

Poolside screwed with this post 06-30-2007 at 06:16 PM
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 05:49 PM   #13
Poolside
Syndicated
 
Poolside's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Oddometer: 11,687

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptRick
Any one need a cat with a built in O2 sensor!
Check your PM inbox


__________________

IICE Air Hotrod your GS  Fuel Injection  Tech Info  Buy  Order List  Installation
Poolside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 05:53 PM   #14
CaptRick OP
On dry land 4 now.....
 
CaptRick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 4,361
Dam Poolside, That was mouth full. Im still scrathing my head to figure out what you said!

In any case thanks for your suggestion about a different O2 sensor. The NAPA guy was a big help also. He just went through the stock untill he found a 4 wire Bosch for me. When he said how $ it was I laughed and told him he was half of what the dealer wanted!
I am gonna hang on to the old cat just for shits and giggles in case I ever want to sell the Y pipe.
__________________
Arggh ya scurvy dogs, thar's Pirating to be done!

Growing older every day but never growing up.
CaptRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 06:28 PM   #15
pdoege
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdoege's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Oddometer: 384
Question Part numbers, capt.

We need part numbers for the O2 sensor Capt!

Please?

Peter
pdoege is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014