ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Results:
0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2008, 09:52 AM   #886
Wallowa
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: NE Oregon
Oddometer: 5,011
Yes on '07..

Quote:
Originally Posted by IND GS
Yes the antenna installed is the one with the new part number. When I went to the dealer to buy the part and gave the old part number, it came out with the new part number as the old part number is no longer available, well at least here in Asia. My GS has a production date of 11/06. Does it make it a '07 ?
My bike was built about the same period..'07 GSA...

Also ask your dealer/mechanic if they actually know if the "new" antenna is indeed a new design...or just a re-numbered part..

Thanks...
__________________
"In Wallowas"
====================
2007 R1200GS Adventure " ...to explore off-road, alone in my case, way out in the boonies...that feeds the soul!"
Wallowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 07:37 AM   #887
IND GS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Oddometer: 52
According to the parts guy at the dealer in Singapore where I bought the antenna, the old part has been replace with the new part number, all bikes sold there could file a warranty claim on the antenna. Unfortunately my bike was imported directly from Germany so I am not eligible for the claim. I don't know if this is the case in the US.
IND GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:05 AM   #888
yamak
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: wasilla, alaska
Oddometer: 91
just paid for my new 07 1200gs, included in the sale is a new pn key ring for my tool kit, of all the bikes i have owned in 45 years of riding it felt strange asking for an rfid antenna instead of a set of spark plugs !!!!! old school rider.
yamak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:23 AM   #889
motoreiter
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Moscow, Russia
Oddometer: 1,136
You got a spare EWS antenna in the tool kit? Was that a BMW addition or something the dealer tossed in? Or did you just pay for it yourself along with the initial purchase?
motoreiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 10:58 AM   #890
yamak
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: wasilla, alaska
Oddometer: 91
they actually included it in the deal i made on the bike when i told them i wasn't confident that the bike wouldn't dump me this summer in a remote area, in my mind it was a condition of sale .
yamak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 07:56 AM   #891
IND GS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Oddometer: 52
Second EWS Failure !! Help

I was putting on my stebel horn and had to cut the wires from the old horn to put on the connectors for the stebel and everthing was going well and it worked well also, and suddenly another EWS! signal appeared on the dash ! I had replaced the EWS antenna recently and had no problems until changing the horn. Is there any relation to the cut wires and the EWS ? I was very careful in cutting the wires not to touch anything else. Any thoughts ? Is there something that needs to be reset ? Thanks for any inputs. I have a '07 GS.
IND GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:00 AM   #892
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,152
It depends on how you wired in your stebel horn. Did you use a relay? Did you move or push the EWS ring wires around? Sounds kinda fishy that it would happen like that unless you did something.

Then again, it could be a coincidence.

Jim

PS Why did you cut your horn wires?
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:31 AM   #893
niccoIndy
Not so noob?
 
niccoIndy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Oddometer: 161
stebel recommends not wiring it to the old horn circuit because it draws to much current. You instead need to use the old horn circuit to trigger a relay which controls the new circuit to the Stebel.
niccoIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:34 AM   #894
IND GS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Oddometer: 52
I had to use the spade connectors for the new horn which is different from the original horn. I probably touched the EWS wires but didn't move them much as they were pretty tight. Did the new horn trigger a fault which made the EWS fault ? Its pretty late here and I probably will be doing more tinkering tomorrow. Thanks.
IND GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:34 AM   #895
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccoIndy
stebel recommends not wiring it to the old horn circuit because it draws to much current. You instead need to use the old horn circuit to trigger a relay which controls the new circuit to the Stebel.
Correct! Unfortunately there are some who have done it, and one I know who swears it is fine! Not me, mine is properly relayed, and I never cut the harness.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:38 AM   #896
IND GS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Oddometer: 52
Bluhduh

Ahh..so probably I would need to get a new horn harness and get it properly wired. I will try to reinstall the old horn tomorrow, connect the old wires properly and see if it will work again. Otherwise I would need to get a new wiring harness.....
IND GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:44 AM   #897
ylexot
Super Genius
 
ylexot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: St Inigoes, MD
Oddometer: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by IND GS
Ahh..so probably I would need to get a new horn harness and get it properly wired. I will try to reinstall the old horn tomorrow, connect the old wires properly and see if it will work again. Otherwise I would need to get a new wiring harness.....
You could just try unplugging the Stebel.
ylexot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:45 AM   #898
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by IND GS
Ahh..so probably I would need to get a new horn harness and get it properly wired. I will try to reinstall the old horn tomorrow, connect the old wires properly and see if it will work again. Otherwise I would need to get a new wiring harness.....
NO.

First, disconnect the Stebel horn, then actually try to start the bike. If it doesn't start, disconnect the battery for 10 seconds and try again.

If that doesn't work, take a good look around at your wiring, it is likely you knocked something loose.

Cutting the horn wires should not effect the running of the bike, or EWS. More likely you did something else you didn't realize you did, and since you have already changed the antenna it is possible it is not fully connected again, or the wires going to it may be damaged.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:57 AM   #899
SocalRob
Beastly Adventurer
 
SocalRob's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles @ base of Angeles Crest Hwy
Oddometer: 12,408
Whats the proximity of the new horn to the EWS antennae? Is it possible that the presumably bigger magnets in the Stebel are interfering with the antennae ring?
__________________
Rob

'07 White (the coolest color) GSA rider
'13 Husky Strada & '14 KTM 690 Enduro
SocalRob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 09:05 AM   #900
Gordy
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,302

It's Voodoo.
Gordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014