User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-09-2007, 05:23 PM   #1
davevv OP
One more old rider

Oddometer: 2,342
Me and the Uly, Anchorage to Dallas

Yep, it's another Alaska thread. Seems to be a lot of them this year, but why not? It's a great ride.

The background that goes with this story is that I'm a bike junkie. I've had quite a few from most of the major brands since I started riding in 1961. When I see something new and interesting I usually end up with one and the Ulysses had caught my eye. If I hadn't been jonesing for the Uly, I probably would have bought a new Sargent seat for my '99 1100GS and done a round trip, but the Uly had me hooked. So, I sold my '05 Road King (I'm 60 but discovered I'm still not ready for a geezer glide.) and purchased the Uly from House of Harley-Davidson and Buell in Anchorage about three months ago. I found a one way plane ticket for $229 and shipped all my riding and camping gear to the dealership.

To make the ride a little more comfortable, I also shipped a set of Polly grip heaters, a Laminar Lip, and Touratech handguard extensions to the dealer so they could install them before I picked up the bike.

At 6:00AM on June 18, I got on the plane and headed for Cleveland. Had a loooong six hour layover there (maybe why the ticket was so cheap) and then got on the flight to Anchorage. I had checked on hotels in Anchorage and anything above 1.5 stars was more than my plane ticket. Since all my gear was at the dealership, I had to have a place to stay, so I ended up at the Spenard Hostel. The cab driver at the airport was really po'd because he had waited 45 minutes to get to the head of the line and the hostel was so close that the fare was only $9.00. I gave him $15.00, but that still isn't much for an hour's work.