User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-28-2003, 06:06 PM   #1
pathfinder OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 122
Flatlanders Ride through New Mexico and Colorado

Ok, boys and girls..... This is my first attempt at a trip report, so be kind.

Three of us Dan, Ed and I aka: Pathfinder departed Terre Haute Indiana at 7 am September 14 heading to the Southwest. Dan and I were on R1150GS, Ed on a K GT. The ride through St. Louis was

uneventful. I highly recommend early Sunday morning as a good time to pass through St.Louis and avoid the frequent traffic that you encounter there, as sometimes it can get ugly. We made it to Pratt Kansas the first night 694 miles. I took no pictures - just Interstated as I was hoping to make New Mexico in two days riding time.

The next morning we continued west through Kansas and headed into the panhandle of Oklahoma, down through Boise City and on into the thriving metropolis of Kenton. Along the way we say some

scenery. In Kansas you will find many of these along the roadside and some of these In Oklahoma we saw this kind of wildlife

As I said, Kenton is a large metropolis with one general store and one street light. Here Dan is studying the sign that says Free Ice

Cream and Gas TOMORROW! The owner of the general store apparently has a quirky sense of humor. This was my fourth trip through Kenton and I always look forward to it. Amateur astronomers like the fact that there are very few electric lights within 30 miles or so of Kenton , and if you talk to the locals nicely they will turn off the one street light.

Leaving Kenton and heading west on NM 456 you are never really very far from civilization , Then the road changes to gravel and occasionally mud I would not advise this road after rain as the ranchers trucks leave deep ruts in the mud some times..... and then they turn to adobe when the sun comes out..... After regaining pavement, we amble by Folsom, and fly on over