ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2015, 01:48 PM   #1
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
Need an wizard

I installed a radar retector
I hardwired it to a FZ-1 fuzeblock
It was working just fine
Then a screw got lost under the FZ-1 and created it's own circuit
A short blew my fuse located next to the positive battery terrminal
I replaced the FZ-1 with a new one just to be safe
Now the radar detector won't turn on.
Everything else works just as it did before the incident
So I replaced the wiring to the radar detector in identical fashion
Still won't turn on
I was about to replace the radar detector except:

It works in my car.
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 03:34 PM   #2
Yella DR
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Oddometer: 51
Get a volt meter and a volt meter guy if needed, to see if you got 12V at the plug end. Check new fuse for continuity. I've had faulty new ones
__________________
2006 Bandit 1200
2005 DR650
Yella DR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 09:16 AM   #3
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 2,100
Tell us about the wire between the Fuze Block and the Radar Detector. Is there an inline fuse? Do you use the same one in the car?
__________________
-Lee
NE ADV Event Calendar (Request Additions here.)
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 08:51 PM   #4
anonny
What could go wrong?
 
anonny's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Beautiful Revelstoke BC
Oddometer: 5,652
While your checking continuity, check it on those 2 wires that feed the radar detector.

Or take the wires out of the car and put on the bike. Viola
__________________
Kawasaki H1 build thread

71- 450 Honda CL re & re

Just another pathetic sheep following the herd

anonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 11:31 AM   #5
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
Still can't figure it out. The cord that goes right into the radar has a hot red wire and the black one is grounded. The yellow and green are not used. Inline fuse is fine or I wouldn't have power at the connector

Same unit plugged into my car lights right up.
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 07:20 AM   #6
Yella DR
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Oddometer: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzz Watkins View Post

~
1) Then a screw got lost under the FZ-1 and created it's own circuit

2) A short blew my fuse located next to the positive battery terrminal

3) So I replaced the wiring to the radar detector in identical fashion
~
1) Seems like this is the detector and not your bike.

2) Fuse in the wiring to the FZ-1 or bike wiring?

3) Same OEM replacement harness? Verify.

Show a pic or link of the plug.

Check at the plug to red wire for continueity and then check the black. Me thinks the + - in the harness is not red/black like you assume
__________________
2006 Bandit 1200
2005 DR650
Yella DR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 03:22 PM   #7
manganos
Let me pontificate.
 
manganos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 3,578
Where are you located. I'm sure this is an easy fix.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.
manganos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:40 PM   #8
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
Radar works fine in the car with supplied cord. Im in denver

Everything else hooked up to fz1 works fine
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:57 PM   #9
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 2,100
Silly question - you checked/replaced the blade fuse in the FZ-1, right? If you blew the main fuse next to the battery, you may have also blown the fuse in the FZ-1 (or, if you got a new one, it may not have had a fuse in that slot).

You mentioned the wire used in the car was the 'supplied cord', but where did the power cable you're using on the bike come from? Did you make it yourself, or is it also an OEM part from the radar detector manufacturer?

Can you disconnect the wire from the FZ-1 and connect it direct to the battery to see if the power in the detector comes on?

BTW, I think in a DC system, green is ground, not black. Black is negative.
__________________
-Lee
NE ADV Event Calendar (Request Additions here.)
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 04:54 PM   #10
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
All the fuses are good. The damn thing worked before and there's power at the connector right now.

Buzz Watkins screwed with this post 04-17-2015 at 05:22 AM
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:15 AM   #11
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
Son of a B it needed to be grounded to the green wire.

Why did it function with the black ground until the fuse blew?
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:33 AM   #12
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 2,100
Don't know, but I suspected the wiring. I asked 3 weeks ago for details about the wires you had running between the FuzeBlock and the radar detector, and again last week, but never got an answer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Tell us about the wire between the Fuze Block and the Radar Detector. Is there an inline fuse? Do you use the same one in the car?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
...
You mentioned the wire used in the car was the 'supplied cord', but where did the power cable you're using on the bike come from? Did you make it yourself, or is it also an OEM part from the radar detector manufacturer?
...
__________________
-Lee
NE ADV Event Calendar (Request Additions here.)
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 08:33 AM   #13
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 15,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzz Watkins View Post
Son of a B it needed to be grounded to the green wire.

Why did it function with the black ground until the fuse blew?
Maybe it was creating its own ground path through a different device connected to the fuse block.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 12:18 PM   #14
Buzz Watkins OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: About 10 corners back
Oddometer: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Don't know, but I suspected the wiring. I asked 3 weeks ago for details about the wires you had running between the FuzeBlock and the radar detector, and again last week, but never got an answer...

I guess that would have been too easy. I appreciate everyone's help very much, was about to give up and sell it.
Buzz Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015