ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2009, 06:13 PM   #46
Balsta
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Chilly Northern Europe
Oddometer: 400
320 mm for my SE?

Does it make sense to put the 320 mm brake disc on my Superenduro?
Balsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:12 PM   #47
Qwik
Adrenaline Addict
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Oddometer: 6,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balsta
Does it make sense to put the 320 mm brake disc on my Superenduro?
If you go offroad you run a higher risk of hitting the larger diameter rotor.

Snarley Stay out of this forum mate!
http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=49

Cheers!
__________________
Speed bumps never seem to make me go any faster
Qwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 04:41 AM   #48
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,374
Has anyone done this with a different 320mm rotor?

I can pick up a used motomaster caliper & adapter quite cheaply - but would still need a disc/rotor...
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 05:29 AM   #49
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,374
Any reason why a Braking rotor (320mm) wouldnt work with the motomaster caliper?

I can get one very cheaply



motomaster disc
http://www.supermotodaz.co.uk/images...toracedisc.jpg
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 07:20 AM   #50
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookymoo
Any reason why a Braking rotor (320mm) wouldnt work with the motomaster caliper?

I can get one very cheaply



motomaster disc
http://www.supermotodaz.co.uk/images...toracedisc.jpg
Only thing I've noticed is some discs have wider rivets than others. Could change your clearances a very small amount. Price is right, get it!
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:57 AM   #51
Patacca
Pimp my SE italian style
 
Patacca's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 554
So at the end......

I've a SE and I'm not happy of the front brake because I've to apply too much power to the brake to stop the big boy.

Is this Motomaster kit a good idea to mount on my bike or not?

Do you suggest to buy only a bigger radial pump or (ie 19 mm instead of 16 mm) or what?

Please give me a good advice.....I want to brake applying less power to the lever.

BYE raf
__________________
If you aren't sure, open to MAX!!!

www.raffaellophoto.com

check out my pimped SE @

http://www.myktm.it/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=223

Patacca screwed with this post 09-13-2009 at 10:11 AM
Patacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:16 AM   #52
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patacca
So at the end......

I've a SE and I'm not happy of the front brake because I've to apply too much power to the brake to stop the big boy.

Is this Motomaster kit a good idea to mount on my bike or not?

Do you suggest to buy only a bigger radial pump or (ie 19 mm instead of 16 mm) or what?

Please give me a good advice.....I want to brake applying less power to the lever.

BYE raf
There is a 310mm kit in the flea market. Get it, buy it, make it work. The caliper alone is worth twice what he is asking. The disc is $150+. You will need to spacer it out just like all the rest. I am making some spacers so I could make you a set. If I didn't already have two of these kits in my garage I would buy this one.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...ighlight=brake

Keep your stock master cylinder.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:45 AM   #53
Flanny
Flanny-it-up!
 
Flanny's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, the World, the Universe
Oddometer: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookymoo
Any reason why a Braking rotor (320mm) wouldnt work with the motomaster caliper?

I can get one very cheaply



motomaster disc
http://www.supermotodaz.co.uk/images...toracedisc.jpg

The depth of the recesses for the mounting bolts is important. On my motomaster disk, the flange thickness at the bolts was 2mm. I replaced this disk with a KTM 320MM disk, and the flange thickness was 3.8 mm - enough to make even my shallow-head allen bolts rub on the speedo sensor.

I wound up machining them back down to 2mm....so - buyer bewar - you need to know your clearances cold. That braking disk looks like it doesn't recess the mounting bolts, so that could be a problem..
Flanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 01:21 PM   #54
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanny
The depth of the recesses for the mounting bolts is important. On my motomaster disk, the flange thickness at the bolts was 2mm. I replaced this disk with a KTM 320MM disk, and the flange thickness was 3.8 mm - enough to make even my shallow-head allen bolts rub on the speedo sensor.

I wound up machining them back down to 2mm....so - buyer bewar - you need to know your clearances cold. That braking disk looks like it doesn't recess the mounting bolts, so that could be a problem..
Hm. Thats a point. Thanks for the heads-up.

BTW, Flanny, did you end up moving your speedo sensor - or did you leave it in the stock position?
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 01:37 PM   #55
Patacca
Pimp my SE italian style
 
Patacca's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanny
The depth of the recesses for the mounting bolts is important. On my motomaster disk, the flange thickness at the bolts was 2mm. I replaced this disk with a KTM 320MM disk, and the flange thickness was 3.8 mm - enough to make even my shallow-head allen bolts rub on the speedo sensor.

I wound up machining them back down to 2mm....so - buyer bewar - you need to know your clearances cold. That braking disk looks like it doesn't recess the mounting bolts, so that could be a problem..
Sorry for my bad english, but if I understood well this braking rotor could be a problem.

So you said it's better to buy a motomaster disk and calliper...right?
I'm not a very good mechanic, so I need the most simple kit to install, that works well.
I want the fewer problems possible, cause can't have pieces machinated...
__________________
If you aren't sure, open to MAX!!!

www.raffaellophoto.com

check out my pimped SE @

http://www.myktm.it/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=223
Patacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:07 PM   #56
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanny
The depth of the recesses for the mounting bolts is important. On my motomaster disk, the flange thickness at the bolts was 2mm. I replaced this disk with a KTM 320MM disk, and the flange thickness was 3.8 mm - enough to make even my shallow-head allen bolts rub on the speedo sensor.

I wound up machining them back down to 2mm....so - buyer bewar - you need to know your clearances cold. That braking disk looks like it doesn't recess the mounting bolts, so that could be a problem..
Actually, that pic looks like the disc is upside down.
The bolt holes for the Braking rotor are recessed. 3mm thickness at the mount point (5mm disc, recessed 2mm).
Hmm
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:13 PM   #57
mookymoo
Mookish Mook
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Either UK or Australia ...
Oddometer: 4,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patacca
Sorry for my bad english, but if I understood well this braking rotor could be a problem.

So you said it's better to buy a motomaster disk and calliper...right?
I'm not a very good mechanic, so I need the most simple kit to install, that works well.
I want the fewer problems possible, cause can't have pieces machinated...
Thats correct.
mookymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 12:12 PM   #58
Flanny
Flanny-it-up!
 
Flanny's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, the World, the Universe
Oddometer: 2,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookymoo
BTW, Flanny, did you end up moving your speedo sensor - or did you leave it in the stock position?
I moved it down and forward and tucked it in as tight as possible. It's being held in place by a thin peice of AL sheet-stock and a wad of JB-weld.
Flanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 02:52 AM   #59
Patacca
Pimp my SE italian style
 
Patacca's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 554
Any suggestion where to buy this kit...?

http://www.motostrano.com/moflrakit.html

900$ for rotor and calliper....any cheaper?
__________________
If you aren't sure, open to MAX!!!

www.raffaellophoto.com

check out my pimped SE @

http://www.myktm.it/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=223
Patacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:49 AM   #60
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patacca
Any suggestion where to buy this kit...?

http://www.motostrano.com/moflrakit.html

900$ for rotor and calliper....any cheaper?

Don't forget to consider shipping, VAT and import duties if you are in the EU, which will add at least 30% to the US price.

A local dealer here in Austria has the caliper for 400 and the disc for 230, so I think you should be able to get the package for 600 or so (including VAT).
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014