ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 03:00 PM   #1
tkuhe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tkuhe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester,NY
Oddometer: 374
89 R100GS Tach

Can anyone rec'd a tachometer to add to my 89 R100GS. I am just not that comfortable without looking at the rev's.
tkuhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 03:24 PM   #2
jtwind
Wisconsin Airhead
 
jtwind's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Madison WI
Oddometer: 3,525
BMW made a tach that fit in a little pod for that bike.

Doesn't the speedo have the mph marked for the redline in each gear?
__________________
JT

www.northwoodsairheads.com
www.jefftrappwindsors.com

"Between two explanations, choose the clearest; between two forms,
the most elementary; between two expressions, the shortest."
Between two motorcycles the simplest (DW)
Eugeni d' Ors (1881-1954); Spanish writer.


jtwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 04:18 PM   #3
tkuhe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tkuhe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester,NY
Oddometer: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtwind
BMW made a tach that fit in a little pod for that bike.

Doesn't the speedo have the mph marked for the redline in each gear?
I wonder if I can still buy it?

Yes the speedo is marked but it seems a bit aggressive.
1rst - 40mph
2nd - 63
3rd - 86
4rth - 109
5th - 114

Does anybody really leave it in 3rd when they are going 70mph?
tkuhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:55 AM   #4
Klasjm
R100gs
 
Klasjm's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: BMWMOA Ambassador, Fond Du Lac, Wi.
Oddometer: 2,229
__________________
Jim Klas
BMW MOA Ambassador
Enjoy the travel photos at: klasjm.smugmug.com
Klasjm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 06:20 AM   #5
tkuhe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tkuhe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester,NY
Oddometer: 374
Nice pic. Any help on where you bought it would be appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klasjm
tkuhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:56 AM   #6
RandyB
.
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 5,072
I bought mine from Mike Wagner of Wagner's Cycles, a Ural dealer. Works great, looks great. $74. A google search should get you the number. No pic, as my bike is in storage.
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:07 AM   #7
tkuhe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tkuhe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester,NY
Oddometer: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyB
I bought mine from Mike Wagner of Wagner's Cycles, a Ural dealer. Works great, looks great. $74. A google search should get you the number. No pic, as my bike is in storage.
Was it difficult to install? Where did you mount it?
tkuhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 02:16 PM   #8
RandyB
.
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 5,072
On the handlebar just to the right of the riser. Comes with a nice clamp and some rubber strips. Piece of cake. The wiring is pretty scrawny, but you can protect that.

The only drawback to it is the backlight is bright. It reflected off the Parabellum screen to the point it was distracting at night. I glued a cheap watch to the face with Shoe Goo which cuts down on the light but still allows me to see the needle. Tells time, too. Yeah, I'm an Airhead $$$$ .
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 11:00 PM   #9
Mugwest
.
 
Mugwest's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: 3rd Ring of Buzztopia
Oddometer: 5,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyB
I bought mine from Mike Wagner of Wagner's Cycles, a Ural dealer. Works great, looks great. $74. A google search should get you the number. No pic, as my bike is in storage.
whoa, tiger-- we need a judge's ruling here-- are you saying you got the Motometer tach that retails for $237, as seen here

for under $80????

the pic of yr bike looks like the stock tach accessory-- am i late coming to the party? Because i thought the pod-tach was unobtanium other than BMW dealer stock---

__________________
.
Mugwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:24 AM   #10
RandyB
.
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 5,072
I can see where I might have caused some confusion. It's NOT the Motometer Tach. It's the same tach that's on the Ural. Sorry for the confusion. I'm not a purist so I don't think in those terms. I'll just keep the $150 or so I saved and be quiet now.
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 05:14 AM   #11
tkuhe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tkuhe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester,NY
Oddometer: 374
Just so I am clear, my option for adding a rev counter are the original BMW if I can find one, or something like the Ural one that I would have to make fit, but is about $150 cheaper.
I assume electrically they are not that hard to wire? Please correct me if I am mistaken.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyB
I can see where I might have caused some confusion. It's NOT the Motometer Tach. It's the same tach that's on the Ural. Sorry for the confusion. I'm not a purist so I don't think in those terms. I'll just keep the $150 or so I saved and be quiet now.
tkuhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:49 AM   #12
Mugwest
.
 
Mugwest's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: 3rd Ring of Buzztopia
Oddometer: 5,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyB
I can see where I might have caused some confusion. It's NOT the Motometer Tach. It's the same tach that's on the Ural. Sorry for the confusion. I'm not a purist so I don't think in those terms. I'll just keep the $150 or so I saved and be quiet now.
was'nt blasting, Bro-- i'm interested in this. who makes it --
__________________
.
Mugwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:57 PM   #13
RandyB
.
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 5,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugwest
was'nt blasting, Bro-- i'm interested in this. who makes it --
I didn't take it that way. I'm still $150 ahead....

tkuhe,

There was really no making it fit. I just found a spot on the bar where the clamp would fitwrapped it around and tightened it up.

I'm not sure who makes it. I just stopped by Wagner's and decided to buy it. The wiring is simple enough. Color coded even. Not a big deal. The backlight is bright though. I got the chrome with white face and blue light. I like it.
RandyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014