ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 09:28 PM   #1
Escapegoat OP
Sidetracked again
 
Escapegoat's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Central Queensland, Blackwater
Oddometer: 159
KLR Temperature Sender/Sensor problems

HI All, Any one had any problems with the Temperature Gauge not reading. I had a 40 plus (C) here yesterday, and the gauge did not move. Is there a fuse in there and where should I look? Is that sender on the bottom of the Radiator the culprit?

Thanks
__________________
Wheredafukami

Escapegoat screwed with this post 11-04-2007 at 11:57 PM
Escapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:43 PM   #2
eaglemike
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: san Diego
Oddometer: 904
The temp sender is next to the spark plug. The thing on the radiator is a thermo-switch for the fan. If it's a 2008, the wire is melted against the air injection plumbing. If not, maybe the wire got damaged somewhere in the harness.

all the best,

Mike
eaglemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:03 AM   #3
Escapegoat OP
Sidetracked again
 
Escapegoat's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Central Queensland, Blackwater
Oddometer: 159
05

Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglemike
The temp sender is next to the spark plug. The thing on the radiator is a thermo-switch for the fan. If it's a 2008, the wire is melted against the air injection plumbing. If not, maybe the wire got damaged somewhere in the harness.

all the best,

Mike
Thanks Mike, didn't even think of mentioning the year, It's an 05. I'll check out those others out though.

The thermo's running, so I'll have a look at it now.

Update

I couldn't have asked at a better time, I had all the plastics seat and tank off anyway to put in a stebel. The little connector was just resting on the sender, and was a bit loose too, so I squeezed it up a bit and it's all good. It had been playing up for a while, but I just noticed that it had stopped working yesterday. You learn something every day!

Thanks Mike,
__________________
Wheredafukami

Escapegoat screwed with this post 11-05-2007 at 12:20 AM
Escapegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 02:15 AM   #4
SgtMarty
Retired, baby!
 
SgtMarty's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 1,626
Check the wires at the back of the temp gauge in the instrument panel. Had a KLR at one of the recent tech days that had a wire that had come loose and that explained his weird readings. We salvaged one of the long brass screws from another (trashed) instrument panel that I had on hand.
__________________
Did Prudhoe Bay to Ushuaia in 2008-2009!
http://www.errant-ronin.com/PrudhoeBayUshuaia.htm

COHVCO #6391 AMA #2800236
SgtMarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014