ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 06:47 PM   #1
JayBo1 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JayBo1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 2,697
KTM wiring loom connector blocks

I want to connect different model electrical equipment (switch blocks, start pushbutton, kill switch, indicator switch, etc from the EXC range) onto my 640 Adventure but the electrical connection blocks are different. Can you buy the electrical connector blocks that the KTM factory uses on the 640 Adventure as a kit for making up yourself?

I don't want to butcher the standard kit, as I want everything I take off put in a box for safe storage for when the bike retires to general adventure touring use in a couple of years. I would also rather not splice in second connector blocks into the main wiring loom to bypass the standard connectors.

An alternative for me would be to buy all the standard 640 Adventure bits from a "parted out" one and snip and solder here and there, but that seems like a PITA and possibly more expensive and potentially less reliable.
__________________
JayBo on Safari
Bro 1, Kiwi Safari Team, Perth, WA
KTM 450 Rally ... arrived
KTM 530 EXC-R (R for Rally, right!!) ... or Retired or Redundant
Cagiva 750 Elefant - Lucky Explorer '88
JayBo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 08:16 AM   #2
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBo1
I want to connect different model electrical equipment (switch blocks, start pushbutton, kill switch, indicator switch, etc from the EXC range) onto my 640 Adventure but the electrical connection blocks are different. Can you buy the electrical connector blocks that the KTM factory uses on the 640 Adventure as a kit for making up yourself?

I don't want to butcher the standard kit, as I want everything I take off put in a box for safe storage for when the bike retires to general adventure touring use in a couple of years. I would also rather not splice in second connector blocks into the main wiring loom to bypass the standard connectors.

An alternative for me would be to buy all the standard 640 Adventure bits from a "parted out" one and snip and solder here and there, but that seems like a PITA and possibly more expensive and potentially less reliable.
Have you pulled the front of the LC4 off and figured out what classes of connectors you need. The switch unit (turn, light etc) IIRC is standard molex and easy to find. Other stuff is harder. Example, I was able to find replacement pins for the stator connectors from K&L (had to find a dealer of theirs as they only sell in bags of 100), didn't check on the housing as I didn't need one. I doubt you need stator connectors howeber. For the 2 pin connectors and housing that are on the end of the front brake switch and the flasher unit (so they can plug into the factory loom), I had to get them from Sommer KTM in Germany as I couldn't find a retailer in the US (sent all the major distributors jpegs of the connector and they'd never seen anything like it).

You might be more lucky down-under as a lot of the control wiring is metric connectors, stuff that aparantly isn't common here in the US.

Tony
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:35 AM   #3
Tempo
Stumptown Native
 
Tempo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 684
I am also interested for the same reasons.

So far I've been successful just cramming enough wire into the factory female connectors then taping and zip tieing the wires in place so they don't wiggle free. But a proper male end would be better.

Haven't wanted to ask KTM what they want for it... probably way too much!

I've got a brilliant electronics shop in the area that I plan to visit as they have tons of connectors. But just haven't gotten around to it yet.
Tempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:52 AM   #4
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempo
Haven't wanted to ask KTM what they want for it... probably way too much!
KTM doesn't sell connectors. Only complete components with connectors already on. Sommer KTM in Germany has put in the effort to source connectors that are compatible but they did this themselves AFAIK.

Some stuff is Molex and easily obtainable. Other stuff isn't available in the US.

Quote:
I've got a brilliant electronics shop in the area that I plan to visit as they have tons of connectors. But just haven't gotten around to it yet.
Who is this? If you say Norvac, I'm gonna laugh out loud. They used to be good. These days a pale immitation of what they once were. Also, I went there when I was looking for LC4 connectors. I doubt they ever had the KTM ones I had to order from Sommer. They didn't even have Molex unless I wanted a pack of 25. I sent JPEGS to DigiKey, Mouser etc etc and none had ever seen the connector style thats on the end of the flasher and front brake switch.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 11:15 AM   #5
Tempo
Stumptown Native
 
Tempo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 684
Translation... unless they are Molex, Sommer is the only other choice. Thanks for saving me a wild goose chase.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit
If you say Norvac, I'm gonna laugh out loud.
Really... wow I haven't been there in years, makes me sad to hear they've gone downhill. Last time I was there looking for oddball electric bits they had everything under the sun, and what they didn't have they found and ordered for me. What a shame.
Tempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 03:08 PM   #6
JayBo1 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JayBo1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 2,697
Thanks for the replies dudes.

crazybrit
Quote:
Some stuff is Molex and easily obtainable. Other stuff isn't available in the US.
I'll track down the Molex ones without too much problems then. I'll see what I come up with on the other ones and let you know on here if I find something that might help you out with Euro spec connectors. It is just the "front end" connectors I'm looking for at the moment so not too worried about stator etc.

crazybrit:
Quote:
For the 2 pin connectors and housing that are on the end of the front brake switch and the flasher unit (so they can plug into the factory loom), I had to get them from Sommer KTM in Germany...
The front brake switch isn't an issue for me as I'll be installing an EXC master cylinder and front brake switch and it's a simple spade crimp lug connector into the main loom. (I suspect you guys must have a different front brake switch connection for US market though as even the standard 640A switch is spade crimp connector. Don't you guys have to have hydraulic pressure switch as opposed to our lever operated microswitch?).

Tempo:
Quote:
So far I've been successful just cramming enough wire into the factory female connectors then taping and zip tieing the wires in place so they don't wiggle free. But a proper male end would be better.
This certainly won't cut it for me. I need secure and reliable for the Safari Pig as the Aus Safari is around 10 days and 6,000 km's with 850km stages on ocassions.
__________________
JayBo on Safari
Bro 1, Kiwi Safari Team, Perth, WA
KTM 450 Rally ... arrived
KTM 530 EXC-R (R for Rally, right!!) ... or Retired or Redundant
Cagiva 750 Elefant - Lucky Explorer '88
JayBo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 03:46 PM   #7
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,159
I haven't tried these myself, but creeper really pimps those Deutsch connectors:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=160350
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51681
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=159078
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118713
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...=203399&page=2

I will use those when I need to replace connectors. Just cut off both the old connectors and replace with the new connector of your choosing.
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 05:29 PM   #8
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBo1
crazybrit: The front brake switch isn't an issue for me as I'll be installing an EXC master cylinder and front brake switch and it's a simple spade crimp lug connector into the main loom. (I suspect you guys must have a different front brake switch connection for US market though as even the standard 640A switch is spade crimp connector. Don't you guys have to have hydraulic pressure switch as opposed to our lever operated microswitch?).
Never seen the EXC brake switch but the issue (for me) was the connector on the SXC (LC4) wiring loom at the "front end" under the headlight. There is a metal plate where all the connectors snap into (on each side). I assume the 640Adv is the same.

The LC4 wiring harness side is a 2 pin connector holding 2 spade terminals but they are odd ones. 2.5mm metric IIRC and the housing is unusual also. Might be sourcable in OZ but not in the US.

I've no idea if the EXC switch has the same connector on the end as the LC4 one.

I got into it because I already had a botched DS wiring job on my SXC, hack and splice special, horrid. I cleaned it up using the factory add on wiring harness (for the signals etc) but I already had an aftermarket flasher and hydraulic front brake switch and the KTM flasher and brake microswitch with the correct connectors were like $50 each, no thanks.

Decided to use the existing switch and auto flasher so I needed the right connectors to attach to the ends which is where Sommer came in. Clearly someone makes them but as I said, couldn't find a US source.

My guess is the EXC uses the same connector and it'll just plug right into the connector on the LC4 harness.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 06:06 PM   #9
JayBo1 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JayBo1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 2,697
Quote:
I haven't tried these myself, but creeper really pimps those Deutsch connectors:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=160350
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51681
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=159078
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118713
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...=203399&page=2

I will use those when I need to replace connectors. Just cut off both the old connectors and replace with the new connector of your choosing.
You are the man!! The "search king". The "King of Search". Take whatever title you like best but thank you. Those Deutsch connectors really look the goods and maybe I'll just convert everything I need to those. Must be good being waterproof too.

Quote:
Never seen the EXC brake switch but the issue (for me) was the connector on the SXC (LC4) wiring loom at the "front end" under the headlight. There is a metal plate where all the connectors snap into (on each side). I assume the 640Adv is the same.
The front brake light switch plugs into the wiring loom between the rhs radiator and the main frame spine on my 640A. The EXC connects similar to your LC4 by the sounds of it behind the headlight mask.

Quote:
My guess is the EXC uses the same connector and it'll just plug right into the connector on the LC4 harness.
Yes for the brake light switch but I'll have to check for the indicator (flasher?) switch. It is slightly a moot point for me though because the EXC cable length from the indicator switch to the plug is too short for the 640A. Even if the plug is the same I would have to extend the wires by splicing a few inches of extra wires between the switch and plug. Then when the switch goes back on the EXC I would have to coil up excess cable length and things get messy for quick fault finding in an enduro if I have problems.

Thanks for your responses though. This forum rocks!!
__________________
JayBo on Safari
Bro 1, Kiwi Safari Team, Perth, WA
KTM 450 Rally ... arrived
KTM 530 EXC-R (R for Rally, right!!) ... or Retired or Redundant
Cagiva 750 Elefant - Lucky Explorer '88
JayBo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 08:24 AM   #10
nfranco
over macho grande?
 
nfranco's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: la ca
Oddometer: 763
640 Adventure,odd connector

Anybody have any luck with this one yet?
Yes I searched, but I still cant find the name/type of this connector.
It's one of the ones in the row above the lights and it's also the low beam connector.

It's not the molex that I've been able to find everywhere...

thanks all, nick
nfranco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:50 AM   #11
cevquit
maphead
 
cevquit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: At the foot of the mighty Sierra Nevada
Oddometer: 637
Midterminc.com or Easternbeaver.com

Easternbeaver.com for all your moto electrrical connector needs.


Hey Nfranco Sorry I didnt get back to you, crazy hectic month, was going to prescot till, my laptop was stolen last month, there went my entry and then some.

It is a molex but its a different pin dia. than the other one.


I was able to find them at a local electrical supplier.
But maybe not, thats right it is a different pin dia than the stock one and I replaced it with one I could get.

And whoa they have a web site

Midterminc.com


I was able to find matches for all the plugs on my KTM, but the duetsch connectors, there.
__________________
I know there is a road up here somewhere
cevquit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:37 PM   #12
nfranco
over macho grande?
 
nfranco's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: la ca
Oddometer: 763
Hey Cevquit! Sorry about your laptop, hopefully the asshat that stole it will get caught surfing kiddie porn.

I found two sizes of the molex with the sharp angles on them, the big one has the right size pins but the block is to big and the spacing is wrong.
The smaller one has pins that are to small. I drilled out the small one to make the bigger pins fit only to discover the curse of undersized wiring that lurks in the KTM.
I'm wiring up a HID kit in (after Gorman I swore no more crappy lights!)
but the stock wiring won't fire the light. Oh well, so I've got a fuse block on it's way and will spend a couple nights in the garage sorting it out.

Eastern Beaver has some great stuff.
Thanks for the links, have fun in Mt. Hood. Wish I could be there.

Take care, nick

p.s. I'm still down for a disc guard when they happen.
nfranco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:31 AM   #13
TipsyMcStagger
Beastly Adventurer
 
TipsyMcStagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: NYC & NPR, FL
Oddometer: 1,006
Are those Molex or Sumitomo connectors?

Tipsy

EDIT: If I understand correctly, the bottom photo is a Molex connector and the upper photo is still yet to be identified.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nfranco
Anybody have any luck with this one yet?
Yes I searched, but I still cant find the name/type of this connector.
It's one of the ones in the row above the lights and it's also the low beam connector.

It's not the molex that I've been able to find everywhere...

thanks all, nick
__________________
2008 Buell XB12X Ulysses

"There's a plane! Where there's a plane there's probably a pilot! Where there's a pilot there must be a bar! I can finally get a drink!" - Brian from Family Guy

TipsyMcStagger screwed with this post 06-16-2009 at 04:03 AM
TipsyMcStagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 04:40 AM   #14
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,774
If you're going to start using the Molex connector pins, go ahead and buy a pin removal tool from an industrial electronics type of place like Ralph's.

It makes life much easier, about $10. I got mine back when I was doing the electrosport high output stator project on my 640.

This tool is hollow and spring loaded and allows you to remove the male or female pins from their sockets very easily without destroying the connector blocks the sockets, or the wiring. It's makes it much easier if you need to change pin/wiring placement in the blocks.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:55 PM   #15
TipsyMcStagger
Beastly Adventurer
 
TipsyMcStagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: NYC & NPR, FL
Oddometer: 1,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez
If you're going to start using the Molex connector pins, go ahead and buy a pin removal tool from an industrial electronics type of place like Ralph's.
Thanks Sanchez...already have the pin removal too.

I usually use Delphi connectors on my bikes so I've had to collect a variety of pin extractors over the years.

Tipsy
__________________
2008 Buell XB12X Ulysses

"There's a plane! Where there's a plane there's probably a pilot! Where there's a pilot there must be a bar! I can finally get a drink!" - Brian from Family Guy
TipsyMcStagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014