ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
xj9140 OP
Adventurer
 
xj9140's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Northern CA
Oddometer: 40
duke 1 speedometer cable warning

MAKE SURE YOUR SPEEDOMETER ISN'T CEASED UP BEFORE INSTALLING YOUR NEW CABLE.

My bike came with a (no worky) speedometer. So I pulled the cable off, noticed the cable was broken. Down by the front tire, the broken off piece was missing, probably removed by the PO. I orderd up a new cable. About $40 and a few weeks later I installed the new cable. Took her for a drive, damn still no worky. Pulled the brand new cable back apart and it was broken in the same spot. Come to find out my speedometer was ceased. I had to brake it free with some big channel locks, turning the cable. Seems to be working good now, it read 30 mph with my drill hooked up to it. So, now I got another cable coming in the mail.
xj9140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 08:59 PM   #2
xj9140 OP
Adventurer
 
xj9140's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Northern CA
Oddometer: 40
The speedometer ceased up again and broke another cable. I had to buy a third cable and a new speed gauge everything is all good now. PITA
xj9140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:49 PM   #3
2wheelsrbest
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: NCWA
Oddometer: 274
Been working on a 97 Duke for a friend. Speedo working fine, but the drive unit at front wheel twists when you torque f/axle down. Probably break the tab off after too many on/off cycles.

What sort of carb does your bike have? I posted here yesterday wondering of proper cold start procedure for the Keihin FCR carb. Has your carb been switched? Still stock Edelbrock?

These seem to be impressively hooligan bikes. This one is loud and wants to lift front wheel all the time. Quite different from my other bikes.
2wheelsrbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:27 PM   #4
xj9140 OP
Adventurer
 
xj9140's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Northern CA
Oddometer: 40
I have the 41 FCR carb the bike don't like to start or idle cold. I just pull the throtle back a couple times prier to hitting the starter and give a little throttle wile turning over. Fires right up but likes to die under a load wile cold.
xj9140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:32 PM   #5
2wheelsrbest
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: NCWA
Oddometer: 274
Ditto, same here.
2wheelsrbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014