ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2008, 06:32 PM   #1
Conrad OP
Karlshuld
 
Conrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Red Earth Oklahoma
Oddometer: 209
R1200 GS Fuel Gauge Problem

The day I was waiting to take delivery of my new GS resulted in the sales person coming to the showroom (I'd been waiting for 4 hours) to tell me that when the bike was test ridden that the "fuel strip" inside the tank had malfunctioned, and, that there was a BMW recall on it; I asked if there was a recall on it, why wasn't that taken care of prior to delivery? No clear answer was given.

It was the end of the day so they said they would have the bike ready the following morning; I arrived at 1:00 the following afternoon and took delivery.

Yesterday while on my second tank of gas, the bike ran out of gas with 3 bars of fuel gauge still showing - I should have been paying more attention to the miles I had travelled instead of the gauge, however, I ran the first tank of fuel down to the last bar on the gauge without running out of fuel. I'm more than a bit disappointed so far. Anyone else had this problem?
__________________
2014 F700 GS
2012 R1200 GS / Traded In
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:26 PM   #2
NtShiny
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 154
My problem has been the opposite.
The gauge reads at least a bar lower then reality, bike is averaging 45.7-51.2 mpg the computer claims 25.7 to 25.0.
Still cruising the forum to see if there's an answer before heading to the dealer 150 miles away.
NtShiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:09 PM   #3
Scotty7456
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Oddometer: 2
I know how you feel,,, I just got my 08 r12GSA and had the same thing @ 250 miles the fuel gauge said 1/3 tank and I was out.... luck I was able to get off the highway and cost to the pumps.... The dealer was great about it... replace the fuel strip and I have not a any prob...
Scotty7456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:34 AM   #4
perobins
Gnarly Adventurer
 
perobins's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
Oddometer: 147
2008 Redesign

I was hoping that the 08 fix for the 07 fuel strip problem would eliminate these problems. BMW can't seem get it right I guess??

My light would come on with 8 to 9 litres still in the tank.
Fuel strip replaced and reprogramed and seems to be working fine ever since.

Phil
perobins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:41 AM   #5
bigcat24
Seeing Texas on a GS
 
bigcat24's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 25
Question

Glad I found this thread My 08 started acting funny fuel wise yesterday. I left out on a 60 mile journey my computer said I had 180 miles to empty avg (by computer est) 40.7 mpg at the end of the 60 mile run fuel light was on and says I have 30 miles to empty?????? any advise
bigcat24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 04:53 AM   #6
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat24
Glad I found this thread My 08 started acting funny fuel wise yesterday. I left out on a 60 mile journey my computer said I had 180 miles to empty avg (by computer est) 40.7 mpg at the end of the 60 mile run fuel light was on and says I have 30 miles to empty?????? any advise
Take it to the dealer, and start using your trip meter.

Many who have had it repaired find that it works fine now.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 05:05 AM   #7
bigcat24
Seeing Texas on a GS
 
bigcat24's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 25
I use the fuel guage feature on my Zumo 550 Jim and it keeps track of miles traveled and I have it se to warm me at 165 miles just trying to get a feel for my distance available. I live 5 hours from closest dealer so I will get it there as soon as i can. Thanks for ALL your good advise.
bigcat24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 07:45 AM   #8
rwoo56
Adventurer
 
rwoo56's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 44
Busted since new

i don't even use the remaining miles thingy on the on board computer... it has been malfunctioning since new. i'll get around to having it fixed. i didn't know there was a recall though???
rwoo56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 08:15 AM   #9
chthomas1
Gnarly Adventurer
 
chthomas1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Annsiton, Alabama
Oddometer: 217
old problem

I have posted about this several times. My 08adv gauge has never shown there is a drop of fuel in it. they are suppose to fix it this week. I agree for the price of these bikes it should be fixed. How hard could this be? My 05 read clearly and accurately without any concern. I think it is the bikes that have the dte function that seem to be having more issues. My 05 did not give me the countdown until I hit my reserve and I never had a problem with it. i bet if surveyed everyone that is having the problem has the onboard computer with all of these features, dte, avg mpg, avg spd. I would trade for my old 05 comp in a second because I know it works. I will set you know after my service friday if I can see fuel or not.
__________________
"It is the question that drives us"
Stay Frosty
2008 R1200GSA--Magma Red
chthomas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 07:26 PM   #10
tpresten
RideUmAll
 
tpresten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by chthomas1
I have posted about this several times. My 08adv gauge has never shown there is a drop of fuel in it. they are suppose to fix it this week. I agree for the price of these bikes it should be fixed. How hard could this be? My 05 read clearly and accurately without any concern. I think it is the bikes that have the dte function that seem to be having more issues. My 05 did not give me the countdown until I hit my reserve and I never had a problem with it. i bet if surveyed everyone that is having the problem has the onboard computer with all of these features, dte, avg mpg, avg spd. I would trade for my old 05 comp in a second because I know it works. I will set you know after my service friday if I can see fuel or not.
At 1700+ miles I have the same issue on my 2008 ADV. I have the INFO features you speak of. I do not mind the gauge not working I just hate the yellow light and the flashing FUEL! on the computer. It is very distracting at night.
tpresten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:15 PM   #11
chthomas1
Gnarly Adventurer
 
chthomas1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Annsiton, Alabama
Oddometer: 217
I hear you

They did my service at 600 last week and guess what they did not have time to get to the nonfunctional gauge on my bike. What a surprise. Had to make another appt. to get it fixed but they are not going to go through the 2 drying processes they are just going to replace it and redo the computer. I will believe it when I see it! I have that stupid warning symbol on my forehead now. everything else with the bike has been spectacular
__________________
"It is the question that drives us"
Stay Frosty
2008 R1200GSA--Magma Red
chthomas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:50 AM   #12
grahamspc
Smitty
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: S.E. PA
Oddometer: 132
Thumb Fuel gauge fix

Fuel tank full...Yellow warning light burning hole in my forehead...problem at 2 thous miles on my 09 gs1200....easy dealer fix in and out in 1.5 hours...hopefully won't happen again....love the bike...first GS...traded Ducati ST3S...also a good bike....G
grahamspc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:07 PM   #13
NJ Moto
Running Free
 
NJ Moto's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Oddometer: 7,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad
The day I was waiting to take delivery of my new GS resulted in the sales person coming to the showroom (I'd been waiting for 4 hours) to tell me that when the bike was test ridden that the "fuel strip" inside the tank had malfunctioned, and, that there was a BMW recall on it; I asked if there was a recall on it, why wasn't that taken care of prior to delivery? No clear answer was given.

It was the end of the day so they said they would have the bike ready the following morning; I arrived at 1:00 the following afternoon and took delivery.

Yesterday while on my second tank of gas, the bike ran out of gas with 3 bars of fuel gauge still showing - I should have been paying more attention to the miles I had travelled instead of the gauge, however, I ran the first tank of fuel down to the last bar on the gauge without running out of fuel. I'm more than a bit disappointed so far. Anyone else had this problem?
Its quite common. Same thing happened to me when my bike was only a few days old. Since then its been to the dealer four times in less than two years for the same problem. Someone is going to get killed because of this fuel gauge issue. Lots of luck
__________________
Every ride is an adventure

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuKeu...feature=relmfu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYqF_BtIwAU
"Can we get a party to finally represent us?" - Cenk Uygur
NJ Moto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:43 PM   #14
grahamspc
Smitty
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: S.E. PA
Oddometer: 132
Fuel guage

I hope once and done is it...time will tell...travelling this wknd..we'll see...G
grahamspc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:53 PM   #15
hammick
Beastly Adventurer
 
hammick's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Oddometer: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by grahamspc
I hope once and done is it...time will tell...travelling this wknd..we'll see...G

Mine failed againt this weekend. First failure was on a trip to Canada with seven other guys. Outside of Omaha I broadcasted to the group over CB that my bike was making gas. My guage had clicked up two bars over half full. Shortly thereafter I ran out of gas. The rest of the trip it showed empty the whole time with the blinking guage and yellow triangle. Got it fixed and then lasted for a few months.

Picked up the bike a few weeks ago after my third new strip and the dealer told me they think they have finally figured out a permanent fix. They charged me for a full tank of gas (BMW should be picking up the tab for this). They told me I need to run it as close to empty twice to finalize the calibration. Drove it home and the next time I started it the guage failed.

I am demanding that they come get with their trailer this time as my dealer is not conveniently located at all.
hammick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014