ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2013, 08:51 PM   #1096
JimVonBaden OP
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ride4Coffee View Post
Hey Jim, How's the kit held up over the past couple months that you've had it? I'm shocked to see a HID kit for $24. I just thought it would be some major expense.
I use it every day, still no issues.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 09:12 AM   #1097
johnny80s
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 250
I put in a ddm tuning kit and took it on a 2000 mile test run. I like it a lot.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 10:18 AM   #1098
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny80s View Post
I put in a ddm tuning kit and took it on a 2000 mile test run. I like it a lot.
Yep, I've had my DDM Tuning HID in for about a year and 12,000mi. I know I paid under $30 shipped for it and I wish I bought it when I first bought my bike.
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:16 AM   #1099
Falco888
Adventurer
 
Falco888's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Oddometer: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falco888 View Post
Has anybody install a HID on the 2013 GSW?

thanks!
Anybody?
Falco888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 02:41 PM   #1100
JimVonBaden OP
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falco888 View Post
Anybody?
It is an H7, same as the old Hex and Cam heads, be the first!

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 03:01 PM   #1101
Falco888
Adventurer
 
Falco888's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Oddometer: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
It is an H7, same as the old Hex and Cam heads, be the first!

Jim
I know but the cap looks different. Also, I was wondering how sensitive would be the cambus on the water cooled.
Falco888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 03:05 PM   #1102
johnny80s
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 250
At the most it will cost you 38 bucks for a kit and a set of caps. That's not bad at all.

DDM tuning has a lifetime warranty.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 04:19 PM   #1103
JimVonBaden OP
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falco888 View Post
I know but the cap looks different. Also, I was wondering how sensitive would be the cambus on the water cooled.
You can try it before cutting the cap, just to see.

If you were close I would lend a hand. I would try the 35 watt first.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:15 PM   #1104
johnny80s
Gnarly Adventurer
 
johnny80s's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Oddometer: 250
The 35 watt version puts out a lot of light.
johnny80s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:56 PM   #1105
RJP3579
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RJP3579's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, Md
Oddometer: 109
When installing the 35w ones, do you connect directly to the factory bulb connections or do you need to run a relay connection from the battery for enough power?
If you buy a set, which they seem to come in, can you use the other for the high beam?
__________________
Rick
'09 R1200GS - Namibia Orange
'04 BMW R1150RT - Silver (Traded in)
'97 BMW R850R (Gone but not forgotten)

RJP3579 screwed with this post 10-03-2013 at 12:33 AM
RJP3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:12 AM   #1106
TuefelHunden
Studly Adventurer
 
TuefelHunden's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Oddometer: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny80s View Post
At the most it will cost you 38 bucks for a kit and a set of caps. That's not bad at all.

DDM tuning has a lifetime warranty.
That lifetime warranty isn't all it that appears. I made the mistake of buying two of DDM 55w units. The high beam is going strong, but it was one lampf1 after another. They avoided the entire lampf issue, even when I got the error killer which did not work either. Yes they would talk to you and replace with more components that did not work. Got another 35w kit from HIDSRUS. Went through two ballasts and two bulbs. Again they would replace but the problem did not go away. IMO, the issue is not CanBus. It is ZFE and if you get one that is finicky you will have to find one that works. The set that JVB has is on and working, no problems. Like others have said, use 35w on low beam. 55w is too much light for low and definitely has issues with the ZFE.
__________________
Old, but not Dead
TuefelHunden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 08:52 AM   #1107
JimVonBaden OP
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJP3579 View Post
When installing the 35w ones, do you connect directly to the factory bulb connections or do you need to run a relay connection from the battery for enough power?
If you buy a set, which they seem to come in, can you use the other for the high beam?
No relay or extra wiring needed. Yes, you can do high and low beams.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:17 PM   #1108
kimzx1000r
Studly Adventurer
 
kimzx1000r's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Oddometer: 523
25 dollars off ebay, conversion done tonight on GSA, mounted ballast to light bar under oil cooler! Changed 3 h7 bulbs in 17000 miles! I hope I'm done for a while!
kimzx1000r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:21 PM   #1109
RJP3579
Gnarly Adventurer
 
RJP3579's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, Md
Oddometer: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
No relay or extra wiring needed. Yes, you can do high and low beams.

Jim
Thanks, Jim!
I ordered the same set you have.
__________________
Rick
'09 R1200GS - Namibia Orange
'04 BMW R1150RT - Silver (Traded in)
'97 BMW R850R (Gone but not forgotten)
RJP3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 06:30 PM   #1110
mbaur
n00b
 
mbaur's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
No relay or extra wiring needed. Yes, you can do high and low beams.

Jim
Ordered the same set on 09/09 since it was so cheap ($25 shipped) while I was two thirds of the way through this thread. Installed without a hitch and has been fault free (about a month later and 1000 miles on it) so far.

I tested the high beam first without installing since that looks like the quickest way to test if they work. Even without warming up they were as bright as the stock bulbs (subjectively, not measured), so I went for high and low beam. And just for the record the bike is a 2005 R1200GS.

Also worth mentioning if you haven't gotten this from the pictures: slim ballasts, but no separate igniters.

I'm very happy about the conversion and carry one of the H7s I replaced as a spare on the bike.

- Markus
mbaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014