ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2007, 05:15 PM   #16
jack splash
Two Sheds
 
jack splash's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pt Pleasant, NJ USA
Oddometer: 2,296
Imo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonymalc
What about using an IMO from TT. I know its not just a tac, but anyone using one. I have been concidering it.
Hey: The TT IMO would work. I have one I removed from my LC4 but haven't installed it yet on my X. It connects to the CDI wire on the coil.

Jack
__________________
Stay dirty my friends!
Bigfoot has a picture of me!

www.pinebarrens500.org
www.pinebarrensadventures.com
jack splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 12:07 PM   #17
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,815
What kind of ignition does the X have:

is it a Capacitor Discharge Ignition (CDI) that has a positive ignition
signal to the coil.
Or is it a regular transistorized ignition or EFI with a negativ
ignition signal.


We need to know if anyone wants to add a tach.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 07:51 AM   #18
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,815
Anyone know what type of ignition the X Challenge has? No mention of it in the specs on their website..
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:44 PM   #19
leafman60
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 1,662
Whatever happened on this ??? Is the ignition a CDI or what ? Can you hook-up a tach ??
leafman60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #20
satur9
angry black guy
 
satur9's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: hfil
Oddometer: 486
its not cdi. most cdi bikes are carbed bikes. the ecu handles all the crap on efi. we do have twin plugs and i thought somebody somwhere on here tried hooking up a trailtech but it wouldnt act right cause of the twinspark. but i cant seem to find it.that being said. theres most likely a rpm wire off the ecu you can splice if you really really really want a tach
__________________
seriously?.... is that what you ride?
Well, it took a lot of work to be the ass that I am
And I'm real damn sure that anyone can, equally easily f*ck you over ...(modest mouse).

satur9 screwed with this post 07-12-2010 at 05:29 PM
satur9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:23 PM   #21
MZcountryboy
Beastly Adventurer
 
MZcountryboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Northeast Kingdom, Vermont USA (close to Canada!)
Oddometer: 5,467
The X-Challenge uses stick coils fired with a ~5v signal from the ECU.

I believe they both fire at the same time, but most tachs hook to the negative side of the coil for the signal, not possible with the X-C.

You don't need it, revv it up! the ECU will shut you down if you go too far.

MZcountryboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 12:10 AM   #22
HP2
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Oddometer: 249
tach? not so easy

You can not simply connect a tachometer "to the spark plug".
The tach is working, but every few seconds he jumps to the top.
I work a long time on this problem and see at on a oscillograph.
I'm using the right spark plug. 3 cables going to the spark plugs.
+ - And impulse.
Now, the impulse filtered through a capacitor and a resistor.
and.... the Tach is working quietly.


HP2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 12:50 PM   #23
leafman60
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 1,662
Okay, please tell us what type of capacitor and resistor and how to wire it.
leafman60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 01:40 PM   #24
SCQTT
Zwei Kolben
 
SCQTT's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Mike's Sky Rancho
Oddometer: 5,324
I have a small Daytona LCD tach that I wanted to use. You set it for the number of cylinders and wrap the pickup lead around the plug wire. I had the same set-up on an old RZ.

I do not think this design works with the XCH, the coil and spark plug /wire/ boot/ thingy are all one. No place to grab the signal.
__________________
This is SPARTA!
SCQTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 02:40 PM   #25
HP2
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Oddometer: 249
@Scott,

"I do not think this design works with the XCH"

absolut correct,

you have to strip the cable, direct contact with the copper
HP2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 02:49 PM   #26
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,456
What about the trail tech one?
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 09:34 AM   #27
leafman60
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 1,662
Peter, can you tell us specifics on how you made your tach function properly ? Capacitor? Resistor ?

Thanks
leafman60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 04:25 PM   #28
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,456
Just found out the Trail Tech one also has a non-rechargeable battery.
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 01:34 AM   #29
Don't shoot me!!!
Snowflakes are cold...
 
Don't shoot me!!!'s Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Norway
Oddometer: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmotten
Just found out the Trail Tech one also has a non-rechargeable battery.
yeah, but you can conect the trailtech unit directly to the battery.
Don't shoot me!!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 03:07 AM   #30
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,456
They didn't mention that to me. You sure on that?
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014