ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2007, 10:27 PM   #16
DirtyDog
Lust for dust.
 
DirtyDog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Tulsa... it's OK
Oddometer: 7,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meles meles
I just made my own out of some 10-gauge wire I had lying around, soldered to the alligator clips from the pigtails that come with those motorcyle Battery tenders...
Battery tenders transmit a few amps at best. Unless it's one that duals as a jumps starter, you need heavier wire than that of the battery tender. If you just used the clips, then you might be fine, but I'm not sure.
__________________
"This place fucking runs on beer, you buy the right person a beer, and you get a job, a blow, a place to sleep, whatever.
You're hot, cold, thirsty, hungry... beer will fix that.
Beer is a god damn miracle, and don't you forget it!"
-DustyRags
DirtyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 05:24 AM   #17
Jamie Z OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasy's BIGJIM
Ampage is it the same between different bikes? Its never going to go if you Fry that! I'd just Push start.
Hooked up in parallel, amperage doesn't matter.

You're right that there is a small risk of damaging some electrics, but sometimes that risk is the best option you have. In my personal experience, I was riding with my cousin in a relatively remote area. We didn't know that he was running a weak battery. He stalled out the bike in some loose sand, and the battery was too weak to power up the bike. We couldn't bump start because of the uneven and loose surface. Had I been carrying jumper cables like I've been meaning to, we probably wouldn't have had to mess around for the next couple of hours trying to get his bike started like we did.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 06:46 AM   #18
BigX
n00b - Yeah, right
 
BigX's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Don't fence me in
Oddometer: 609


Be-oootiful
BigX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 06:53 AM   #19
westnash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 3,246
Used several times for different friends bikes. Buy a m/c specific set from JC Whitney cheap and store under your seat...never know when they will come in handy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z
I've seen several references here about "jumper cables" to be carried on your bike during a long ride. It's a good idea, I think. I've already been in one situation where jumper cables would have come in handy.

But... what constitutes jumper cables? Surely y'all aren't carrying regular automotive cables. I can imagine a short length of good thick wire would be sufficient (and pack relatively small), but what about the ends? How do you connect it to the batteries?

Does anyone have any pictures or instructions on how to make good, durable, and reliable motorcycle jumper cables? I've done a search, but all I come up with is people saying, "Make sure you bring jumper cables" and no description thereof.

Jamie
westnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 07:52 AM   #20
Boatman
Take me down bitch!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 10,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigX
Be-oootiful

Thanks. When I'm not using them I have an old Crown Royal bag that I keep them rolled up and tucked up by the battery.

If I were to make another set I think I would use a good quality set of alligtor clips instead. Smaller and easier to get clipped on a GS battery.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs

Boatman screwed with this post 12-23-2007 at 07:57 AM
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 07:56 AM   #21
Boatman
Take me down bitch!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 10,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z
Thanks for all the tips, guys. It looks like I'll just find some good thick wire and some clips and make my own. The commercial cables look good, but none of them look very compact. I want to be able to pack mine in with my toolkit.

Now... where can I get some good quality clips?

Jamie
The clips on mine came from McMaster Carr but I have seen them at AutoZone and NAPA. Like I said in my post above, I would use good quality alligator clips next time to make them more compact.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 03:11 PM   #22
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 7,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z
Thanks for all the tips, guys. It looks like I'll just find some good thick wire and some clips and make my own. The commercial cables look good, but none of them look very compact. I want to be able to pack mine in with my toolkit.
Not compact? How small do you need them. Mine are curled up in an eagle creek packing cube along with a poncho, air pump, tire pressure guage, various kinds of tape, cable ties, velcro straps, mini-multi-meter, siphon, etc.

The whole package is about 10 x 7 1/2 x 3 1/2 inches. It's sitting on top in this picture:


marchyman screwed with this post 04-22-2014 at 10:42 AM Reason: fix broken link
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 04:07 PM   #23
Stook
Who you callin' a n00b?
 
Stook's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Deep Woods, East Texas
Oddometer: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z
Hooked up in parallel, amperage doesn't matter.

You're right that there is a small risk of damaging some electrics, but sometimes that risk is the best option you have. In my personal experience, I was riding with my cousin in a relatively remote area. We didn't know that he was running a weak battery. He stalled out the bike in some loose sand, and the battery was too weak to power up the bike. We couldn't bump start because of the uneven and loose surface. Had I been carrying jumper cables like I've been meaning to, we probably wouldn't have had to mess around for the next couple of hours trying to get his bike started like we did.

Jamie
Haven't bought these yet, but plan to. It's a $9.00 option for those who would rather "let someone else do it" in terms of making them.
http://www.lbcarco.com/cgi-bin/gen5?.../jumper.html&o=
__________________
Stook
2008 Honda ST1300
Stook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 05:19 PM   #24
GSWayne
Old Guy nOOb
 
GSWayne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Oddometer: 2,943
I connected an SAE connector to the battery that dangles below the seat and 10Ga jumper cables that mate to it. Then I can use them without removing (1st my Micatech cases and then) the seat. Of course I needed jumper cables twice before I made these neat ones, and have never needed them since I made them.
__________________
It isn't the conditions its the decisions

Don't bring a motorcycle to a car fight
GSWayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 05:53 PM   #25
Meles meles
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Grayslake, IL
Oddometer: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog
Battery tenders transmit a few amps at best. Unless it's one that duals as a jumps starter, you need heavier wire than that of the battery tender. If you just used the clips, then you might be fine, but I'm not sure.
Yep, just use the clips, and 10 gauge wire. Clips look identical to the ones on the Aerostich jumper cables.
Cheers
Phil
Meles meles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 06:07 PM   #26
GSbiker
new and un-improved
 
GSbiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Wrong side of the tracks
Oddometer: 11,627
I have had to use these a few times to help others get started. The connector is from Cabelas and intended for a trolling motor. The wire is #8 stranded.



__________________
TRLcam



GSbiker screwed with this post 12-23-2007 at 06:17 PM
GSbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 08:19 PM   #27
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 7,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSbiker
I have had to use these a few times to help others get started. The connector is from Cabelas and intended for a trolling motor. The wire is #8 stranded.
That connector is called an Anderson Powerpole® and comes in standard sizes from 15 amp up to 180 amps. They are good stuff. http://www.andersonpower.com/product...powerpole.html

// marc
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 01:19 PM   #28
Gregg Wannabe
Just killing time
 
Gregg Wannabe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 2,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasy's BIGJIM
Look I wouldn't risk the Damage to my Bm electronics by Sparking Jumper Cables? Ampage is it the same between different bikes? Its never going to go if you Fry that! I'd just Push start. I've pushed a Goldwing my Race Bike.... some carry so much not needed stuff ? Jim. ?
For me the answer is there are times when bump starting is not an option, like the middle of the flat, sandy desert.
Gregg Wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 01:37 PM   #29
Carl.Custer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Carl.Custer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Oddometer: 469
I picked up a set from Molly Wart, ummmm, 10 years ago for ~$8.
They're compact (fit in the rear cowl of my '85 700 CC Sabre).
They're effective. In addition to jumping other folk's bikes, I jumped a very surprised but delighted motorist's Suburu in downtown DC.

Not had to use it to jump one of my bikes yet (Knock on wood) because I regularily ride 'em or plug 'em up to a Battery Tender using a two way trailer connector. That connector is also handy for hooking up the 2610 GPS cuz it doesn't go off when you stop for fuel.
__________________
Carl in Bethesda
Honda V-4s 83-96, and a NX650
Carl.Custer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:40 PM   #30
KTMRyder
throttle jockey
 
KTMRyder's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: KC
Oddometer: 3,813
I have a set of these in my Jesse's on the Strom.
Yuasa motorcycle jumper cables, they come with a small carrying case.

They don't take up much room at all and I have used them once when a buddy left his parking light on all night.

I don't remember where I got them but here's a link with a pic.

http://www.ridegear.com/rg/item/F-11..._pc=GBProducts
__________________
IBA # 38521
KTMRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014