User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-17-2008, 06:51 PM   #1
wheatwhacker OP
It's raining here

Oddometer: 2,855
Another TAT

I'm planning a cross country trip this summer, have considered the TAT but, with pressing time and a need to cover more ground on a loaded KTM, I figure dirt and gravel are more suited to me than gnarly single track.
Bit by bit, I'm piecing together a route across the country.
I have some good maps and experience of the western states and figure I can make it most of the way from SF to CO via yosemite Nevada and Utah.
From here I depend on you guys to find me some nice scenic dirt headed straight East, to NYC.
I have friends in Wichita KS where I'll stop for a few nights and then want to pick up dirt again ASAP. Dirt in KS are mainly farm roads and are a dime a dozen so this part will be easy. Missouri, Indiana, Ohio or neighbouring states is where I'm looking. I'll head back a more southern route after doing an epic tour of the east coast, along the Gulf of Mexico and back through TX, NM, The Grand Canyon and LA.
I'll be solo with CDMA (Sprint) phone and a ham radio, either of which I cannot depend on for help if needed so, dirt without technical is fine for me.

If your sending me routes along this route, please send me GPS coordinates instead of locations as I'll just download the way-points before I go.

As a side trip, I may head to Vermont and while there may visit a friend in Quebec, so I'm sure there must be some scenic cross border routes as well instead of slabbing up hwy 91.

WW
Old 01-18-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!

Oddometer: 3,967
There are a bunch of us in Vermont who would be more then willing to show you some good trails and other fun route. PM me and we can work it out.