ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 03:30 AM   #6256
scrambler66
Gnarly Adventurer
 
scrambler66's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 179
round headlight

Hi Sergio,


everything is possible if you really want it 37mm headlight brackets, round headlight and speedo are easily available at eBay or elsewhere. The main problem, however, is with the steering lock, which is in the way. So either you got to mount the headlight low enough or you have to eschew the lock, just like that guy from the German Dominator forum.






scrambler66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:25 AM   #6257
valvecrusher OP
tractus pro pensio™
 
valvecrusher's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Dos Circlos
Oddometer: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry31 View Post
Tomorrow I pull the plastic and do-the-dirty-deed!

Must be something common. First try the left one flashed, and last year before winter storage, everything was working.
.
low voltage, bad bulb, or bad flasher unit....

Mine was a bad relay flasher unit, it's behind the headlight, under the cowl..

It's a black, cubic(roughly) about 25mm square by 30mm, 18mm deep? (approximation)






Does anyone have a 'chain SLIPPER' they don't need? not the slider, the slipper....
<=== needed...

.
.



please PM me if you have a spare one, thank you !
__________________
Honda NX250??
I prefer to ride, and when i do, it's 'un Equi

valvecrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:42 PM   #6258
tntmo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by valvecrusher View Post

Does anyone have a 'chain SLIPPER' they don't need? not the slider, the slipper....



please PM me if you have a spare one, thank you !
Where is the chain slipper located?
__________________
Buncha dirt bikes with license plates.
tntmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:17 PM   #6259
larry31
Back Roads Explorer
 
larry31's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 210
Turn Signals

Quote: by Valvecrusher
"low voltage, bad bulb, or bad flasher unit....

Mine was a bad relay flasher unit, it's behind the headlight, under the cowl..

It's a black, cubic(roughly) about 25mm square by 30mm, 18mm deep? (approximation)"


Thanks for all the info guys.
I jumped the flasher wires, and the lights on left light up when switch is left.
Right lights come on when turn switch is to right.
All circuitry and lamps are ok.
I put a flasher in from local auto parts store and turn signals work ok now. A little slow to start flashing but enough to get it inspected.
I ordered a Honda flasher from dealer. Will swap out when it comes in.

Took it for a nice 100 mile jaunt, today, around some paved, and not paved roads with a buddy. 70 deg's, sunny, and it's been dry here for a couple of weeks, so not much mud on abandoned roads currently.

I love this bike!!!
larry31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:23 AM   #6260
valvecrusher OP
tractus pro pensio™
 
valvecrusher's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Dos Circlos
Oddometer: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by tntmo View Post
Where is the chain slipper located?
It's on the left lower 'B' spar of the main frame...

Located in between the left primary footpeg, and the kickstand mounting bolt..





Or if you can suggest a supply for high density delrin(or high wear plastic resin) block,
i could shape/build/form one from raw stock ?




It's part #10, and the 'stay' that it mounts to is part #5.
__________________
Honda NX250??
I prefer to ride, and when i do, it's 'un Equi


valvecrusher screwed with this post 05-03-2013 at 11:33 AM
valvecrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 01:08 AM   #6261
Kingkobaa
n00b
 
Kingkobaa's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 9
Speedo cable

Does any other bikes speedo cable fit honda nx 250? I would need a cable that is few inches longer.
Kingkobaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 03:28 AM   #6262
Jacl-Kampuchea
Booze Merchant
 
Jacl-Kampuchea's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: I see Drunk People.
Oddometer: 668
A few, most obvious being the NX650 Dominator.

Why do you need a longer one?
__________________
CambodiaYeah!
Jacl-Kampuchea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:11 AM   #6263
Kingkobaa
n00b
 
Kingkobaa's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacl-Kampuchea View Post
A few, most obvious being the NX650 Dominator.

Why do you need a longer one?
The original can't quite reach the instrumental panel when I lifted it up. I did this because I fitted my NX with buell dual headlights.
Kingkobaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:53 PM   #6264
gloud
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Western mass USA
Oddometer: 160
Mcmaster carr will have the delrin block. I just bought some to have on hand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by valvecrusher View Post
It's on the left lower 'B' spar of the main frame...

Located in between the left primary footpeg, and the kickstand mounting bolt..





Or if you can suggest a supply for high density delrin(or high wear plastic resin) block,
i could shape/build/form one from raw stock ?




It's part #10, and the 'stay' that it mounts to is part #5.
gloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:45 PM   #6265
tntmo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 367
If you still need the slipper, I have one. PM me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by valvecrusher View Post
It's on the left lower 'B' spar of the main frame...

Located in between the left primary footpeg, and the kickstand mounting bolt..





Or if you can suggest a supply for high density delrin(or high wear plastic resin) block,
i could shape/build/form one from raw stock ?




It's part #10, and the 'stay' that it mounts to is part #5.
__________________
Buncha dirt bikes with license plates.
tntmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:08 PM   #6266
mp350
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 12
Got a what I thing is a carb issue and need a little help. Just got to take the bike for a test ride and it won't go over 50 mph, if you give it more throttle it sort bogs and feels like the brakes have been put on. When I rebuilt the carb I stuck the needle clip on the third notch, so to I go to the 4th or 2nd notch. Thanks
mp350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:17 PM   #6267
Dirtstar1
Human torpedo
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Almost mexico I.B.
Oddometer: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp350 View Post
Got a what I thing is a carb issue and need a little help. Just got to take the bike for a test ride and it won't go over 50 mph, if you give it more throttle it sort bogs and feels like the brakes have been put on. When I rebuilt the carb I stuck the needle clip on the third notch, so to I go to the 4th or 2nd notch. Thanks
A lean carb makes more RPM's and a rich carb makes more torque but is less efficient. Moving the needle up pulls it out of the main jet sooner. Move it back down and it leans out the mid circuit.

Was it windy? heavy air make my bike slow. Try your test again at night or early in the morning and see different results.
Dirtstar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:10 PM   #6268
mp350
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 12
Rode to work at 6 am and back home at 5 pm, Bike acts the same. The stock needle only had one clip with no washers, new needle ( has 5 notches ) set on third clip no washers. When I got the bike carb was leaking and running rough. Did the following... changed oil,air filter, cleaned & rebuilt carb . Bike has 13,000 miles and I live at sea level. Now it does idle at about 2000 rpms. Motor does not make any strange sounds or smoke. Plan is to take the carb off go to 2nd notch and put in a new plug for good measure. Put it sure is a pain to get that carb out. Thanks
mp350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:22 AM   #6269
Local Machine
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Globe Trotter
Oddometer: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp350 View Post
Got a what I thing is a carb issue and need a little help. Just got to take the bike for a test ride and it won't go over 50 mph, if you give it more throttle it sort bogs and feels like the brakes have been put on. When I rebuilt the carb I stuck the needle clip on the third notch, so to I go to the 4th or 2nd notch. Thanks
The position of the needle controls the mixture supplied by the venturi, so imho this is not the cure. The venturi jet is responsible for your midrange rev mixture.
At high revs the slide is all the way up so it must be something else.
I'd bet on a clogged main jet or a worn our rubber tip needle down at the carb floater section.
Local Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:34 PM   #6270
mp350
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 12
Took carb off and placed on section notch, still the same it goes flat right above 5000 rpms. Local machine I will have to take it off and clean again, but when a rebuilt it the only reused part was the float all other jets replaced with new parts. The only part not installed was the adjustable jet, didn't think I would need it since it is sealed. But that also may be the clogged part of the carb. So I guess I will drill it out and install it too. Thanks for the input.
mp350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014