ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2014, 08:54 AM   #1
Marotte OP
Adventurer
 
Marotte's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Seattle, USA
Oddometer: 73
XR650L Power outlet wiring

Title says all

I want to put a 12v / USB outlet on my Honda XR650L. I want it to work with the ignition (no need to power up all the times) and would rather avoid to wire it to the head or tail light... there must be a better way, right?
Marotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:23 AM   #2
Kommando
Grumpy Young Man
 
Kommando's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Spacecoaster FL
Oddometer: 6,444
On the DR650, there are several un-used switched connectors in the OEM harness. The XRL may be similar.
__________________
'8yrs in the Marines, 'almost a decade of knocking heads in the service industry, I took a ride out to visit family and friends for Thanksgiving at 41yrs old, and my mom confiscated my bike.

Kommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 09:30 AM   #3
gorilla2891
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gorilla2891's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NW WA. LaConner
Oddometer: 274
Get a 12v power port from auto parts store. They wire direct from battery with inline fuse. Some even come with a switch. I put one on my SV and installed my own switch.
__________________
Words from the prosecutor " you have a penchant for speed don't you?"
14 XR650L, 03SV100S, 95GL1500 ANI, 88ZB50/100, 83XL600/XR
gorilla2891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:26 AM   #4
Marotte OP
Adventurer
 
Marotte's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Seattle, USA
Oddometer: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorilla2891 View Post
Get a 12v power port from auto parts store. They wire direct from battery with inline fuse.
I have the port already, and I do NOT want to wire directly to the battery, because the port doesn't have any switch.
Marotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:45 AM   #5
crypto666
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: The best trails in Nevada
Oddometer: 1,138
In that case you need to tap the headlight, horn, or turn signal power feed, which may all be coming from the same wire.

There isn't any reason I can think of to avoid tapping the headlight feed.
crypto666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 12:26 PM   #6
ThumpnRed
Pig Wrangler
 
ThumpnRed's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Eye Duh Hoe
Oddometer: 2,296
Bring your main hot line from the battery through an in-line fuse into a four pole relay. Tap into the meter light for your dash (that way the circuit is only hot when the key is on) and run a hot and ground wire to the relay. The forth wire out of the relay goes to the outlet. Piece of cake. Here's a diagram that gives you the general idea (it's for grip heaters, but the same process applies)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigar Mike :With plastic buy two.
'93 XR650L A few stock parts left...
ThumpnRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 12:39 PM   #7
CiscoSF
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 30
ThumpnRed's post sounds promising.

What I have done is wired the negative wire from the outlet to my battery and positive to the fuse box using an empty fuse spot and one of these add-a-circuit devices:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's ignition only.
CiscoSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 01:32 PM   #8
Marotte OP
Adventurer
 
Marotte's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Seattle, USA
Oddometer: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiscoSF View Post
ThumpnRed's post sounds promising.

What I have done is wired the negative wire from the outlet to my battery and positive to the fuse box using an empty fuse spot and one of these add-a-circuit devices:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's ignition only.
Brilliantly simple, love it! Thanks.
Marotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 01:34 PM   #9
crypto666
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: The best trails in Nevada
Oddometer: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiscoSF View Post
ThumpnRed's post sounds promising.

What I have done is wired the negative wire from the outlet to my battery and positive to the fuse box using an empty fuse spot and one of these add-a-circuit devices:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's ignition only.

You have an empty slot in your fuse box? well there you go...
crypto666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:29 PM   #10
Marotte OP
Adventurer
 
Marotte's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Seattle, USA
Oddometer: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypto666 View Post
You have an empty slot in your fuse box? well there you go...
My understanding is that the empty slot is always on, not ignition-aware.
Marotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:51 PM   #11
mcma111
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcma111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco,Ca.
Oddometer: 10,642
The empty slot in the fuse box is just that, EMPTY!!!
__________________
Steve in SF

BMW's
58 R26
79 R100s
91 R100gs

87 Harley FXRS-SP ~ 06 KTM 625 SMC ~ 72 Honda CB750/915cc ~ 92 XR600/654cc ~ 95 XR650l/675cc ~ 03 CRF450r ~ 05 CRF450x ~ 02 XR650l/675cc ~ 86 YZ490 ~ 93 YZ80 ~ 93 XR650l Project
mcma111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 04:11 PM   #12
CiscoSF
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 30
I was under the impression that you can just use the empty slot, based on this post: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=689875

Instead of that, you can use the left-most fuse. Whatever the left-most fuse is, it's ignition only. You still get to use the fuse with the Add-A-Circuit device.

I just finished hooking everything up. Definitely works.

Install like so:



Key off:



Key on:


CiscoSF screwed with this post 07-02-2014 at 04:44 PM
CiscoSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:58 PM   #13
Marotte OP
Adventurer
 
Marotte's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Seattle, USA
Oddometer: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CiscoSF View Post
I just finished hooking everything up. Definitely works.
Brilliant. Thanks for the photos: I just copied you and it words great...
Marotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014