ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 04:41 AM   #1
BikeBandit OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 32
2007 KTM 990 S Lc8 Engine Mods

I was wandering if anyone has done any major performance mods to their Lc8 engine, more than just removing the SAS system and re-mapping of computer? Mods such as working with the cams, bore, valves, serious engine re-build type of stuff for increasing horsepower.

I can't help it, I 'm never happy with the standard factory set-ups, conscidering I intend on racing this beast.
BikeBandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:18 AM   #2
gweaver
Wandering between rooms
 
gweaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Oddometer: 1,534
I haven't done anything personally, but I've heard that the cams from the 990 Super Duke are a direct replacement. I think the SD puts out a few more horsepower, so a cam swap might help out.

G
gweaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:43 AM   #3
BikeBandit OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 32
Thanks Gweaver I'll look into it.
BikeBandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 07:57 AM   #4
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59° 14' 9" N / 135° 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
You may also need the SD heads to go with the SD cams. They are a different part than the ADV.
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 02:02 AM   #5
str
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Norbotten Sweden
Oddometer: 16
Sry for hijacking the thread a bit but read in a swedish forum about a mod where you disconnect two cables on the 990 and when you do this the limit on 2 and 3 gear is removed. I tried search but translating the swedish technical terms to english don´t work for me. So help is needed :-)
str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 02:33 AM   #6
byker_tr
Fenabahce
 
byker_tr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Fenerbahce Cumhuriyeti , Bursa - TURKIYE
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by str
when you do this the limit on 2 and 3 gear is removed.
mentioned here
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=324232
"sport sensor"
__________________
0sman..
byker_tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 04:17 AM   #7
str
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Norbotten Sweden
Oddometer: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by byker_tr
TY
str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:27 PM   #8
pauloston
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 39
I'm putting together a 1090cc stroker for my SE ATM, if anyone's interested...
pauloston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:31 PM   #9
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,617
I didn't think the SAS removal was considered a performance/power upgrade.
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale
Lurking more and posting less

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:35 AM   #10
uk_mouse
Aquatic adventurer
 
uk_mouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by catalina38 View Post
I didn't think the SAS removal was considered a performance/power upgrade.
It's not really, it's just removing supurfluous hoses :)

Although someone did suggest, when you remove the SAS, leave the left hand exhaust port vent attached, and connect the crankcase breather hose to it. Obviously plug up the hole in the top of the airbox. This will lower the air pressure in the crankcase giving less resistance to the movement of the pistons and allegedly increase power

It's also a way of preventing the oil that comes up the breather from ending up in your front carb.
__________________
"When compared to other motorists attempting to escape a zombie outbreak, dirt bike riders have a 23-to-1 survival rate." - The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks
uk_mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:14 AM   #11
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
If you are still sporting the 07 then 07 Superduke cams will drop right in.

red is stock cams
green is SD cams/some airbox mods/DNA filter
blue is custom 2-1 exhaust




This graph quality sucks but all of these runs were strictly airbox changes


Since your in Aus. and I here KTM parts are pricey down there you might want to check in to WEB cam in Los Angeles. They have cams for the SD but I don't know if they will fit without cutting reliefs. Superduke R heads have bigger valves and flow better.
Airbox gets heat soak and is too restrictive. Insulating will drop 50+ degrees off of Intake Air Temps.
Lots of gains can be had in the exhaust.
Wouldn't be hard to get 30+hp. KTM engineer has told me the engine was designed for 145 reliable hp.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:07 PM   #12
they
Draining
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: norcal
Oddometer: 1,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauloston View Post
I'm putting together a 1090cc stroker for my SE ATM, if anyone's interested...
Uh yeah. Weld and grind, billet or what? Bore too?
__________________
"Parts are no problem,all you have to do is make em" Nobby Clark
they is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 05:43 AM   #13
990s
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Oddometer: 44
sd cams

Mr tahoeacr:

First sorry about my English! (This is my first post to!)
I was wondering about a sd cam swap on my 06 990, could you enlight me about what needs to be done with the FI mapping, or do the "selflearning" EFI adjust fuel/air ratio and (possibly ignition) itself ?

And
Does the motor needs to go out for cam swapping?

Are you happy with the modification?

More information on the airbox modification?

990s
990s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 11:41 AM   #14
Dan950ser
NW Shredder
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 405
Sorry to hijack but will SD cams fit in a SE. Seems worth it for 10 extra ponies. Oh and please more info on the 1090cc stroker. Thanks
__________________
2007 KTM 990 SuperDuperEnduroR

2014 KTM 250 XC-W
Dan950ser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 11:53 AM   #15
mousitsas
Beastly Adventurer
 
mousitsas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 2,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan950ser View Post
Sorry to hijack but will SD cams fit in a SE. Seems worth it for 10 extra ponies. Oh and please more info on the 1090cc stroker. Thanks

+1090
mousitsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014