ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2013, 09:19 PM   #37486
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by crunchiespg View Post
alright, 3 circuit sealed one ordered..
im thinking ill leave all the 3CS under the seat, and just run the wiring from a 12v socket and the gps back to that. just need to find a decent 12v cigar socket and a way to mount it. the one thing ill miss from the ktm is the little glove box on top of the tank.. guess ill have to buy a new tank bag...

so you only ran the positive back to the 3CS using only on half of each connecter and just grounded it separately?

and, i didnt think you were getting an inspection done here?
even if they did they wont care as long as your aftermarket one has a running light and brake light which light up the plate.
It might be time for a flow chart, cause I've got a mln things going on. I thought I'd be required to do the out of province check.

I struggled finding any useful room under the seal for bulky items like that. Re-housed the garmin rino adapter and trapped that to the outside front side of the battery box. The phone charger box to the rhs subframe beam.

Re ground, that's right. I wanted an unswitched merit connector somewhere, and could only fit that mounted off the headlight shroud. That's the only ground going back along with the OEM wires of the garmin and phone charger. But those 2 have a combined +&- shield and always give to much wiring.
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:43 PM   #37487
woofer2609
Studly Adventurer
 
woofer2609's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Extreme Pacific SouthWest (of Canada)
Oddometer: 827
Giant Loop Fandango/ Mojavi

Has anybody tried either of these bags? I am curious if I can still have a passenger ride pillion with the mojavi on the bike. The Fandango looks like a nice bag, but does it stay put on this bike?
TIA
woofer2609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 12:40 AM   #37488
Mr. Fisherman
PROUD 2B Riff Raff!
 
Mr. Fisherman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Drinking from the Stanley Cup!
Oddometer: 10,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer2609 View Post
Has anybody tried either of these bags? I am curious if I can still have a passenger ride pillion with the mojavi on the bike. The Fandango looks like a nice bag, but does it stay put on this bike?
TIA
Yes and yes.
Mr. Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 08:39 AM   #37489
crunchiespg
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: AB Canada
Oddometer: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmotten View Post
It might be time for a flow chart, cause I've got a mln things going on. I thought I'd be required to do the out of province check.

I struggled finding any useful room under the seal for bulky items like that. Re-housed the garmin rino adapter and trapped that to the outside front side of the battery box. The phone charger box to the rhs subframe beam.

Re ground, that's right. I wanted an unswitched merit connector somewhere, and could only fit that mounted off the headlight shroud. That's the only ground going back along with the OEM wires of the garmin and phone charger. But those 2 have a combined +&- shield and always give to much wiring.

im 99% sure you dont need the out of province.. if you think about it logicially, your bike is not allowed to be imported into canada permanently as it doesnt meet canadian standards. so if it doesnt meet standards, then it wouldnt pass the test.. and if you could modify it to pass the test, then it would meet the standard to be imported permanently.. which cant be done.. so therefore no out of province test needed. plus im sure i read that you dont need one.
crunchiespg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 08:39 AM   #37490
crunchiespg
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: AB Canada
Oddometer: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer2609 View Post
Can't think of anything unless you feel the stock tank is too small
cheers, yeh a big tank would be useful... what is the consensus on which one is best now they've all been around a while?
crunchiespg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:29 AM   #37491
mcook0525
n00b
 
mcook0525's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Southern Piedmont, NC
Oddometer: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proud Highway View Post
I thought the dealer cost was ~$5800. What's a good price on a 2013?
Mine was $6199 OTD
mcook0525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 02:15 PM   #37492
camaroz1985
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Carlisle, PA
Oddometer: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by crunchiespg View Post
What are you guys doing for power needs on this bike?
I'm wanting to have gps power hard wired. 12v cigarette style for charging my cell phone etc and heated grips.
Has anyone used a fuzeblock on this bike to give switched power? If so where did you fit it? Where did you steal the switched 12v power from for the fuzeblock's relay?
Picking up my 2013 this week.
Cheers.
I just did mine this past weekend. Moved the stock fuse block from its mount to beside th coolant reservoir, and put the fuzeblock up on that mount (ziptied in place around the optional back plate). I ran switched power from the fuse blocks switched circuit (brown wire that is split to 3 terminals on the back side. Used a few picks to get it out and soldered the wire to it). It was super tight to get everything to fit, but I'm happy with it. Not super easy to get to the fuses, but it will do for now. Might move it if I can find a better place.
camaroz1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 04:44 PM   #37493
jgiacobbe
Skid plate tester
 
jgiacobbe's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Near Richmond VA
Oddometer: 2,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by burtonrider3889 View Post
Speaking of electrical hookups the PO put an AV plug on my WR, but I think he wired it to the headlight or ignition and not the actual battery as it turns on and off with the key. Someone told me this is not good for the WR as the fuses blow easily? Is this true? I had a fuse blow, and I don't know wether I should replace it or get a different wiring set. What would you guys recommend for someone that just needs AV power for a GPS and maybe a USB plug attached for phone charging at the same time. I know nothing about these things.
Order one of thesehttp://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Wi...3_circuit.html

I put one in my Strom. After it comes in just bring you and the bike over and we will wire it up.
__________________
2009 Wee-Strom, 2002 VFR800, 2015 Ural cT
jgiacobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:34 PM   #37494
bluzharp
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Commiefornia
Oddometer: 92
I used the headlight wire on the relay by the batttery for the switched power. It comes on after the engine starts.
bluzharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:09 PM   #37495
godwinmt
They call me Crash
 
godwinmt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Seymour, IN
Oddometer: 729
Speaking of tail tidys...just finished mine tonight! Goal was to use all the stock components while still being 100% reversible to stock in the end if needed...Total spent: $0

The brake light fit best flipped upside down. After enlarging the holes on the bracket slightly it bolted to the rearmost tabs on the subframe.


After a little tweaking, the support bracket for the stock tail was pretty much perfect to support the stock signals and mount the plate:





The hardest part was cutting the pockets to fit the turn signals...if you used aftermarket signals drilling a hole would be a lot easier.


All in all I'm very happy with how it turned out. The tail light does a pretty good job at illluminating the plate, but if I ever get stopped, a little LED strip/LED license plate bolts would be a snap to add. Getting it up there should keep me from bending the plate as much when I dump it :)

-Malhon
godwinmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:18 PM   #37496
burtonrider3889
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Oddometer: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgiacobbe View Post
Order one of thesehttp://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Wi...3_circuit.html

I put one in my Strom. After it comes in just bring you and the bike over and we will wire it up.
Which one? There are a bunch in that link.
__________________
2012 WR250R
2007 SV650 (SOLD)
1984 XL350R (SOLD)
2002 CR80R (SOLD)
burtonrider3889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:23 PM   #37497
crunchiespg
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: AB Canada
Oddometer: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by burtonrider3889 View Post
Which one? There are a bunch in that link.
i ordered the sealed version, all switched.. seems like the sensible choice, unless you want one thats always on... i dont as it will be nice to leave my stuff plugged in and not worry about it draining the battery..
crunchiespg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 08:39 PM   #37498
mbabc
Curmudgeon trainee
 
mbabc's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Oddometer: 2,008
I've got the 3 circuit EB fusebox under my seat. I've got heated grips, GPS/tank bag and heated liner. Great gear.
__________________
"I have never seen a Kentuckian without a gun and a pack of cards and a bottle of whiskey." - Gen. Andrew Jackson
'08 WR250R - '12 Super Tenere - '64 CT-Frankentrail
Little Blue goes looking for Orange
I don't know what time it is, I've switched to kilometers
mbabc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:03 PM   #37499
Revvy
Okayest Adventurer
 
Revvy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by godwinmt View Post
Speaking of tail tidys...just finished mine tonight! Goal was to use all the stock components while still being 100% reversible to stock in the end if needed...Total spent: $0

-Malhon
This is a cool idea. I like that you kept the brake light. Looks good.
Revvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:38 AM   #37500
rsteiger
Bob
 
rsteiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Hotlanta Area
Oddometer: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by godwinmt View Post
Speaking of tail tidys...just finished mine tonight! Goal was to use all the stock components while still being 100% reversible to stock in the end if needed...Total spent: $0

The brake light fit best flipped upside down. After enlarging the holes on the bracket slightly it bolted to the rearmost tabs on the subframe.


After a little tweaking, the support bracket for the stock tail was pretty much perfect to support the stock signals and mount the plate:





The hardest part was cutting the pockets to fit the turn signals...if you used aftermarket signals drilling a hole would be a lot easier.


All in all I'm very happy with how it turned out. The tail light does a pretty good job at illluminating the plate, but if I ever get stopped, a little LED strip/LED license plate bolts would be a snap to add. Getting it up there should keep me from bending the plate as much when I dump it :)

-Malhon
Neat idea! Very clean looking.

Some comments/suggestions.

You may want to ad some thing in front of the license plate to help keep the mud off of it. I have one of those DRC stop lights and my license plate is cracking around one of the attachment holes. Not sure if it is a defect in the plate or if that is due to the numerous water crossings and mud holes that we have been through.

The DRC stop light has worked well for me but my GF pointed out the other day that when I do a lot of trail riding and then hit the street again the stop light is often covered with dirt and mud and not visible in the daylight. There were a couple of times she said that she almost ran up my backside. Because of this I am going back to the stock rear light assembly which while big looks like it would do a better job keeping the mud and dirt off the brake light. You may want to check out your mod after a few mud holes and see if the brake light is still visible.
__________________
2012 WR250R
2010 Beta 520 RR
2009 DL650
2001 GasGas XC250
rsteiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015