User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-27-2008, 09:12 AM   #1
Global Rider OP
Alps Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,720
Why would I want to "shop here"?

Well, I just got back from another great US shopping spree weekend.

Why bother? Well these are just a very few of the examples...

Example #1
My almost 5 year old BMW gel battery needed replacing. BTW, I never thought much of gel cells and a mere almost-5-years of service, is why.
Hammersley BMW in Virginia: $104.41 + $18.95 overnight shipping = $123.36
Local BMW dealer: $230
Saved: $106.64 on one item alone!!!

Example #2
I've been using Swish Facto AT30 for over 20 years. Its simply the best water based degreaser. Its manufactured by Swish in Ontario...yup...right here in Canada.
At my local Swish dealer: list price is $96.93 per 20 liter pail.
At Swish in NY state: list price is $73.25 per 20 liter pail. Yup, already $23.68 cheaper for a product made up here...go figure!!! So I was quoted $67 by the Swish USA office. By the time I got to the Swish store and told them what I was quoted, they gave it to me for $55 without me even asking.
Saved: $41.93 per pail. I bought 2 so I saved $83.86.

Example #3
Mobil 1 5W30 synthetic oil for the car; 4.4 liters up here, 5 US quarts (4.74 liters) in the US.
Canadian Tire: $38.99
Wal-Mart USA: 22.88
Saved: $16.11 on one jug alone!!!

Business up here, be it the distributor or dealer, just can't seem to figure it out.

Euro & North American Travel & Technical Stuff for the R1150 GS & Adventure

Euro & Alps Motorcycle Tours - Priced Right, How to go about

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.....A. Einstein
Global Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 09:48 AM   #2
GB
Mod Squad

Oddometer: 55,318