ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 12:00 PM   #31
Moraflex
Banned
 
Moraflex's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: San Dimas California
Oddometer: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM8
What I did while riding off road for the weekend was just put a couple washers between the sensor and the housing onthe rear wheel. Moving the sensor away from the ring by just that small amount made the signal unreadable and the ABS was off.

To under just remove the screw and put the washers on the other side outside of the sensor and your done.

No cutting into the wiring harness and takes only couple secs to do.

The really cheap penny trick.

Absolutely brilliant. Would I be correct in thinking that the front wheel is still ABS while the rear is not?
Moraflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:06 PM   #32
Roeligan
Belgium power!!!
 
Roeligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM8
Like I said the REALLY CHEAP (Like KLR Cheap) penny tech.

Doesn't matter... I like it...

Drive 2500kms to the south of Spain, enter Marocco, put the washers in, ride 10 days offroad without thinking of deactivating the ABS all the time, enter spain again, remove washers and ride 2500kms home... cheap and certainly no malfunction...
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure (Stealth one ; 2008-), now S-d & Beta 350 RR 2013 to play with
Suzuki DL-1000 V-Strom (2004-2008) and Suzuki GSF 600 Bandit (2002-2006)
www.roeligan.net
Roeligan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:06 PM   #33
Roeligan
Belgium power!!!
 
Roeligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moraflex
Absolutely brilliant. Would I be correct in thinking that the front wheel is still ABS while the rear is not?
Don't think so....
But you can not do this with the front sensor as the cable is also used for the speedo, or am I mistaken?
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure (Stealth one ; 2008-), now S-d & Beta 350 RR 2013 to play with
Suzuki DL-1000 V-Strom (2004-2008) and Suzuki GSF 600 Bandit (2002-2006)
www.roeligan.net
Roeligan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 01:12 PM   #34
DSM8
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,606
Once the system sees an ABS fault code the system as a whole is deactivated. They are a shared circut not independent of one another.

All or nothing.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 01:34 PM   #35
rgmax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rgmax's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Orange County, Ca.
Oddometer: 214
There's an even cheaper fix.

Just unplug the rear sensor wire located under the seat above the shock.....
rgmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 02:06 PM   #36
DSM8
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmax
There's an even cheaper fix.

Just unplug the rear sensor wire located under the seat above the shock.....
WHAT?!!

Are you freakin INSANE!!!



That doesnt even require tools...whats wrong with you!
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 02:41 PM   #37
viatormundi
Citizen of the world
 
viatormundi's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Mallorca-Spain
Oddometer: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmax
There's an even cheaper fix.

Just unplug the rear sensor wire located under the seat above the shock.....
Do you have a picture of that?

And in this cheap versions, do we get an ABS warning all the time?
viatormundi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 04:22 PM   #38
DSM8
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by viatormundi
Do you have a picture of that?

And in this cheap versions, do we get an ABS warning all the time?
From what I have done on the bike the light will just remain lit that is all.
__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:38 AM   #39
shep532
Still a novice !!
 
shep532's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Rossendale, Lancs
Oddometer: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by viatormundi
Do you have a picture of that?

And in this cheap versions, do we get an ABS warning all the time?
Even with the 'trickier to do' switch fitted into the wiring for the rear sensor ............... the warning light stays on - but that's good because it reminds you the ABS is off.

I did the switch in the rear sensor wire a while ago. it took about 1/2 an hour to do, the switch is pretty well concealed - but comes in very handy for a day off road.

When the bike was last serviced the dealer told me I had a lot of error codes for the ABS rear sensor - but they couldn't find anything wrong ....... which means they didn't spot the extra wiring and switch ......... which probably means they didn't really look for any faults either!!

Pete
shep532 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 01:46 PM   #40
lc8john
Studly Adventurer
 
lc8john's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Porto, Portugal
Oddometer: 528
Guess I've something useful to do if it rains this weekend!
Thanks for sharing it!
Cheers,
J.
__________________
Husaberg FS 570
lc8john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 03:02 AM   #41
KTM Pilot
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTM Pilot's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Oddometer: 431
Thumb ABS disconnect

I've just finished the Triwi method (wired to both rear wires = short). Works a treat!

Only thing I did different was to use my high beam flasher button (you know the one you flash with your left index finger?).
Disconnected the white and green with black stripe wires from the connecting block behind the dash(these go to the switch), wired them to some figure 8 wire that goes to the abs wires under the seat. Total cost, well nothing except the wire that I already had.

Flick the flasher switch once, and the abs it off until I next restart.
__________________
Smugmug $5 discount coupon # 2ucrtCWwf7D7A
KTM Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:24 AM   #42
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,740
In the same thinking, I would suggest...

disconnecting the wires from the triangular ABS switch and connecting the new wires to this switch. That would be the most functional arrangement for the ABS switch disconnecting the system at will. How about that?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:38 AM   #43
DZL850
DZL850
 
DZL850's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 20
OK, so I am new to the 990 but I see several things I don't like about the ABS, one of them being the fact that 2/3 of my toolbox is taken up with the ABS crap. I still also am still trying to decide if I even like the ABS when I am street riding. Obviously it is no good in the dirt.
Do the rest of you guys have the ABS system mounted in your toolbox area?
Thanks,
__________________
2014 Ktm 690 Enduro
2014 KTM 300 XC-W Six Days
DZL850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 01:20 PM   #44
KTM Pilot
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTM Pilot's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Oddometer: 431
ABS switch

gefr - I'd guess the answer is no!
That circuit needs to be operated while stationary and for 4 seconds.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr
disconnecting the wires from the triangular ABS switch and connecting the new wires to this switch. That would be the most functional arrangement for the ABS switch disconnecting the system at will. How about that?
__________________
Smugmug $5 discount coupon # 2ucrtCWwf7D7A
KTM Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 02:42 PM   #45
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,740
I suggested just using the existing switch, not the OEM system.

To shortcut the rear brake sensor, the existing ABS switch could be used instead of using the flash switch. Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014