User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-24-2008, 08:07 PM   #1
XS500RUS OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 376
Talking Cross Country on a $50 bike: NY-SF and back

This trip has been a long time in the making. Ever since my brother and I started riding (about 4 years ago) we knew that sooner or later we'd do this trip. This summer, he and 3 of his good friends all graduated from Cornell University, and had a summer to kill before some went off to grad school, others to jobs. I'm still in college, also at Cornell, and I blew off having a summer job for this trip (Although I'm back on the grind now).

We planned months in advance, buying everything we'd need from spare parts to camping equipment to helmet walkie-talkie sets. The bikes were tested and retested by way of shorter tours that took only several days (Catskills, Pennsylvania). The plan was to leave on June 1st and to arrive back home sometime near the beginning to middle of July.

Now, onto some technical bits about the motorcycles:

Me (Grisha): 1976 Yamaha XS500C, just broke 40k miles before the trip. Brandon and I bought our bikes together for the sum of $100, with a spare engine included. Mine needed a new cam chain and valvetrain put back together (some idiot removed all of the tappets and threw them all over the inside of the head, some got into the crankcase)

Brandon: 1973 Yamaha TX500, we're not sure of the true mileage of the bike, the cluster was around 20k but we had replaced the engine with the spare (new rings, gaskets, etc). Before the trip we replaced the ehad again after the old one cracked on a trip to the Adirondacks.

Vanya (my brother): 1982 Yamaha Seca 750, he bought it for $1000 with 1800 miles on it. All it needed was fork seals and the carbs cleaned.

Anton: 1979 Kawasaki SR650 (like KZ650), bought for $600, it needed some electrical work and the carbs cleaned.