User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-25-2008, 08:51 PM   #1
Shercoman OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 457
Dual Sport bike-XR650R or WR450?

Noob here so sorry if this has been asked before....
I'm trying to decide between a 650R or WR for a Dual Sport bike. The XR seems to be the obvious choice based on the amount of info available here.
I had a 2000 WR400 as a Dual sport and did very well with it.
My question:
Why is there so little interest or folowing for the WR450 as a dual sport? (sorry..maybe I'm looking in the wrong place)
The advantages for the XRR are listed pretty well.What are the disadvantages for the WR?
Shercoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner

Oddometer: 7,563
Well, I had both and got rid of the XRR. The WR is just a better bike off road. and pretty equal on road.
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 09:49 PM   #3
Shercoman OP
Gnarly Adventurer

What about maintenance issues? Oil capacity/changes,ect?
I'm a "Yamaha guy" so I like the WR better but there do not seem to be as many people converting them.
I'm just trying to find out why.

Are you comfortable going long distances on the road?
Old 07-26-2008, 12:00 AM   #4
Vertigo
Adventurer

Oddometer: 32
I just finished doing a motard conversion on a 2007 WR450F. Gave to my son for his 16th birthday. I could have bought him 2 new KLR650's or a GSXR 600 for what I have in the bike.
Vertigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:34 AM   #5
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner

Oddometer: 7,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shercoman
What about maintenance issues? Oil capacity/changes,ect?
I'm a "Yamaha guy" so I like the WR better but there do not seem to be as many people converting them.
I'm just trying to find out why.

Are you comfortable going long distances on the road?