Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-28-2008, 07:07 PM   #1
Shmerel OP
™

Oddometer: 11,152
Question i need some suggestions regarding a restoration i'm about to start ...

so i got myself a bmw r 65, '82 model.

mechanically it's in pretty good dshape, but cosmetically it has surface rust abd looks tired.

this will be my first restoration and i'm determined to trade in my 10 unnecessary thunbs for 10 usable digits. i'm a novice (mechanic/restorer) is every sense.

i intend to bring the bike back to newish conditon. it's blue and i prefer it black with white pin stripes. i wantr to retain the bmw style of this bike, BUT, i also want to adorn it with functional modern bits (braded brake lines, handlebar mirrors etc) to make it a café racer-ish.

i don't want to end up with a mishmash and want it looking sexy and streamlined. my mind is open (more than my wallet).

anyone got some useful pics for me to look at as suggestions for this resto/café racer? also tips of parts and where to get them?

please, boys and gals, no silly pics or bullshit. i'm already sufficiently anxious here.

thanks in advance

Gad
Shmerel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 07:59 PM   #2
bpeckm
Grin!

Oddometer: 5,550
please, boys and gals, no silly pics or bullshit.

Who, us????

A couple of my favorite sites for tons and tons of cafe-style stuff:

Excellent for R65 in particular:
http://www.cafeboxer.com/
http://www.cafeboxer.com/WebScrapings/r65st.htm

Excellent for lots of bikes, stock to radical:
http://www.rockerboxer.com/page/page/1414315.htm

One particular R65 in GB:
http://www.randybozarth.com/gallery/stevehawkins/

There is lotsa stuff out there... fun fun fun

And a picture to dream about

Attached Images

Old 07-28-2008, 08:22 PM   #3
mutineer
Raoul Duke Lives

Oddometer: 18,902