User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-13-2008, 11:16 PM   #1
nada_scurb OP
Single Tracker

Oddometer: 43
3 Days in the Idaho Backcountry Riding Singletrack

I need to start this ride report off by saying that this would have never happen if mknight had not posted his ride report found here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255950

I read that ride report while working on my MBA. I told my wife when I graduated I wanted to take that trip as a reward for all of my hard work. She agreed, (8 months before I graduated) a decision she would surely regret later. After a little planning and a lot of procrastinating the day came that we needed to pack and leave.

Here is a link to some video of the ride. Not the greatest ever, but it will help get the point across and as always, it doesn't really do justice to the difficulty.
(make sure and click to watch in high quality, it looks far better)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iSDlp82hWc

I am ridning a 2007 WR450 with a 3.1 gallon desert tank.
Curtis is riding a 2002 KTM 520EXC with a 3.3 gallon desert tank

We decided that we had no reason to ride the Island Park to Palisades section because it was mostly dirt roads. Mknight had a perfect reason to make that ride, but since we didn’t we decided that we would rather spend a day riding single track and then on day 2 go from Palisades to Soda Springs, ID. Day 3 would take us from Soda Springs to Ogden, UT where my lovely wife would pick us up at Pineview Reservoir. So for day 1 we started near Kelly Canyon Ski Resort and planned on riding into Palisades and camping for the first night.