User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-18-2008, 10:59 PM   #1
Schmors OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 117
Question 1970 Honda CB350

Hey so i just got my first bike, a '70 CB350 last week. It wasn't running when i got it, but a new battery and some fiddling and got her fired up. I gave it a some what of a tune up with new spark plugs and such. Today I did my first ride on a non-residential street and it topped out at 39 mph down going down a small hill. I'm new to motorcycles, but I do know thats not a very good thing for a cb. Anyway, I got the idea that one of the cyclinders might not be firing correctly. I took the plugs out and one had began to blacken (rode it a few miles since new plugs) and the other still looked unused. So I think the left (its a twin) cylinder isnt working right. I took out the plug and touched it to the engine while it was trying to start, and I'm getting spark. I can also feel the air coming out of the plug hole when it turns over, so i think it is getting at least decent compression (dont have a checker, still need to do that). And when it runs you can feel air coming out of the muffler. But when I move the throttle arm on the left side carb, it revs great, but when i move the right side carb throttle, and I get nothing, just a soft kinda gargling weird noise. Maybe not getting fuel.

Anyone have any ideas of what that may be? A buddy said he had the same thing happen to him on his old cb, but he never ended up fixing it. I'll take the float bowl off tomorrow and see whats up in there. But anyone know? I don't know much at all about bikes, so it may be something simple I'm missing!
Thanks!
Schmors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:20 PM   #2
Cowboy
Ceteris non Paribus

Oddometer: 3,239
Hey Schmors, welcome to the asylum, and congrats on the "new" ride!