User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-20-2008, 01:10 PM   #1
Goodwill OP
Hoping for the best

Oddometer: 331
What is it with motorcycle boots?

Since I started riding, I have been using regular, non-moto boots for the last year or so. Your typical construction-zone leather boot, with toe-caps, laces up to the top, all the way over the ankle and whatnot.

Now, they're going to the bin, because, well, they were pretty damn near dead when I started to use them on my bike, so...

I find myself checking for moto boots and... WOW! That's expensive! By motorcycle standards, I'm pretty much on a tight budget... No BMWs for Lil' Will...

So I slowly start to think I'd be better buying other construction boots like the ones I was using, since they can be used both on the bike and in my yard, rooftop, shed, etc. Multifunction boots if you like.

My question: is there any reason why I should buy specific motorcycle boots? What does a motorcycle boot offers that a regular boot wouldn't?
I am aware of the fact that the boot must cover the ankle. I am simply NOT aware of any other safety-related stuff in regards to boots.

P.S. I only ride on street.

thanks in advance!
Old 08-20-2008, 01:26 PM   #2
mark1305
Old Enough To Know Better

Oddometer: 5,874
Probably the biggest difference with decent moto boots lies in the molded protection covering the ankles, torsional stiffness to protect against twisting the ankles and the main part of the foot around or down past it's breaking point, and usually better shin protection.

I've seen people still get foot injuries with good boots in trackday get-offs. But I would hate to have seen their feet with lesser non-specialized boots.