ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2014, 12:47 PM   #1
nrp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Oddometer: 50
GSW/14 - Cruise control gremlins

Guys,

My brand new GS is facing some gremlins.

The behavior is the same and it does not matter if you replace the left cluster control.

The fact is that the cruise control not always resumes. Everything else works fine. Setting speed, increasing and decreasing speed, all that work fine always. But the resume function is erratic. 40-50% of the time it does not work.

It doesn't matter if you're in Dynamic, Road or Rain. 5th or 6th gear.

Dealer replaced the controls and nothing changed. They classified the problem as "real, repeatable and with no specific pattern" after riding my bike for 30 min. According to the Services Manager, this is the first time they see a problem like this that is not related to the left control cluster.

This is now going to BMW US and Germany for further instructions.

I will keep you all posted.
nrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 01:00 PM   #2
rotarywing
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 31
Subscribed
rotarywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 12:16 AM   #3
OzOldrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
OzOldrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Holbrook NSW Australia
Oddometer: 216
Mine is starting to play up, last ride a 2 weeks ago it would not increase speed unless I held it forward for a second or so, today started out ok on the way home played up again, try to increase speed it would cut out for a split second but increase. If I move switch back word it turns of and resume dose not work at all.
__________________
Bill

2013 GS1200LC R1200RT for sale
KLR650 gone WR250 gone, plus many more gone.
OzOldrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 12:27 AM   #4
Skyliner33
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Oddometer: 60
Interested. Mine never resumes, I thought I was doing something wrong. Will watch this thread.
Skyliner33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 06:25 AM   #5
GP1200
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 357
Mine resumes every time so far. Decreases and increases speed without a glitch too.
GP1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:03 AM   #6
nrp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Oddometer: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyliner33 View Post
Interested. Mine never resumes, I thought I was doing something wrong. Will watch this thread.
Skyliner33, you should definitely take this to your dealer. Probably it is just a matter of replacing the left cluster control.
nrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:15 AM   #7
Crilly
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Wi/Az
Oddometer: 740
If you hit resume for more then a second it well set instead of resume. Resume is just a momentary setting.
Crilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:35 AM   #8
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,856
My cruise control developed all sorts of trouble when the bike was new but after the left switch gear was replaced the problems have not returned.

The C/C system does have two little idiosyncrasy's that I find annoying though.

  • When you select Set the speed that it holds is 1.2 MPH higher then the speed you are currently traveling, in other words: the bike accelerates slightly when you momentarily press the Set lever to set/hold your cc speed.
  • The other is that the cruise control uses 1.2 MPH increments instead of the 1 MPH increments commonly found on almost all automobiles.
Just two minor annoyances that I've noticed.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:31 AM   #9
RickatSF
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 57
Okay, now I've got to try my cruise control on my next ride.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
My cruise control developed all sorts of trouble the bike was new but after the left switch gear was replaced the problems have not returned.

The C/C system does have two little idiosyncrasy's that I find annoying though.

  • When you select Set the speed that it holds is 1.2 MPH higher then the speed you are currently traveling, in other words: the bike accelerates slightly when you momentarily press the Set lever to set/hold your cc speed.
  • The other is that the cruise control uses 1.2 MPH increments instead of the 1 MPH increments commonly found on almost all automobiles.
Just two minor annoyances that I've noticed.
RickatSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:34 AM   #10
BikeWraith
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Oddometer: 82
my CC is flaky too

I had my bike in last Wednesday because the CC speed decrease function turns off CC. It used to work but started failing over the summer.

I am also having other more random issues with CC.

The speed decrease problem is repeatable and the dealer has reported it to BMW.

I will wait and see .....
__________________
2014 R1200GS
BikeWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:36 AM   #11
BikeWraith
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Oddometer: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
My cruise control developed all sorts of trouble when the bike was new but after the left switch gear was replaced the problems have not returned.

The C/C system does have two little idiosyncrasy's that I find annoying though.

  • When you select Set the speed that it holds is 1.2 MPH higher then the speed you are currently traveling, in other words: the bike accelerates slightly when you momentarily press the Set lever to set/hold your cc speed.
  • The other is that the cruise control uses 1.2 MPH increments instead of the 1 MPH increments commonly found on almost all automobiles.
Just two minor annoyances that I've noticed.
It's increasing/decreasing speed by 2km/h which is about 1.2mph.

I've noticed the initial increase on Set also....
__________________
2014 R1200GS
BikeWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:48 AM   #12
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BikeWraith View Post
It's increasing/decreasing speed by 2km/h which is about 1.2mph.
That's what I said, and I don't care for it.
It would be nice if BMW would have it set at 1MPH intervals for U.S market bikes like they do on their cars.
__________________
Not for the meek.
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 10:13 AM   #13
BikeWraith
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Oddometer: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
That's what I said, and I don't care for it.
It would be nice if BMW would have it set at 1MPH intervals for U.S market bikes like they do on their cars.
Ya I figured you knew what was going on but just in case anyone else didn't know what the software was doing. I can see why it's annoying.

I've taken to setting the CC low and using Increase to get it were I want especially since Decrease has failed on my bike. Also annoying.
__________________
2014 R1200GS
BikeWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 10:19 AM   #14
Rick_W
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Oddometer: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by BikeWraith View Post
... the CC speed decrease function turns off CC.
I had my left switch gear replaced at the 600 mile service because CC on/off switch would not go to the ON position.

This past week I've encountered the quoted issue as well as the CC not resuming.

Will tell them about it when I schedule the 6k maintenance in two weeks.
Rick_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 11:23 AM   #15
BikeWraith
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Oddometer: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_W View Post
I had my left switch gear replaced at the 600 mile service because CC on/off switch would not go to the ON position.

This past week I've encountered the quoted issue as well as the CC not resuming.

Will tell them about it when I schedule the 6k maintenance in two weeks.
I'm assuming and hoping that it will just be a switch replacement but I am a bit concerned because the dealer mechanic said that from what he can see the switch is sending the correct command to the ECU
__________________
2014 R1200GS
BikeWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014