ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2004, 09:18 AM   #31
creeper OP
Still alive...
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Puget Sound
Oddometer: 10,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagwood
Creeper. paging Creeper, Clean up in Ward Three. Bring a mop.
Hey, I sent in my resignation letter two weeks ago! I am now the self-proclaimed Over Secretary of Under-thrusting. Besides, I think d0gWateR wants to be the janitor.
__________________
So... how's tricks?
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 11:21 AM   #32
gozell
Adventurer
 
gozell's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Oddometer: 70
The clutch switch was faulty after all, orderded new one through dealer and ......now able to start in gear with clutch pulled in! Excellent
gozell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 08:21 PM   #33
creeper OP
Still alive...
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Puget Sound
Oddometer: 10,718
Thats... how the hell many is that anyway? 3? 4? What?
__________________
So... how's tricks?
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 10:50 PM   #34
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by creeper
Thats... how the hell many is that anyway? 3? 4? What?
At least. haven't seen one that lasted yet. chucked mine, fubar- needless waist anyway. Keeps ya on your toe's
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 11:35 AM   #35
lost1
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Oddometer: 57
clutching at straws...

I have the same problem with my interlock. Only starts in neutral (but don't need clutch pulled in)
Although I can't resolve it with conventional means in that the dude that had my bike before me removed the clutch switch (and all wires going into the fairing), stand interlock (I can trace that wire under the tank and its open).

Which wires should I connect to bypass the whole mess. I want to start in any gear with or without clutch.
lost1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 11:55 AM   #36
creeper OP
Still alive...
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Puget Sound
Oddometer: 10,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost1
I have the same problem with my interlock. Only starts in neutral (but don't need clutch pulled in)
Although I can't resolve it with conventional means in that the dude that had my bike before me removed the clutch switch (and all wires going into the fairing), stand interlock (I can trace that wire under the tank and its open).

Which wires should I connect to bypass the whole mess. I want to start in any gear with or without clutch.
Wow! Pulled this one out of the twilight zone didn't cha'.



Number 40 is, or in your case was the switch.

__________________
So... how's tricks?
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 05:03 PM   #37
lost1
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Oddometer: 57
yep, here I go digging through everyones old dirty laundry, trying to pick up a bit of info, and then busted for dumpster diving.

not really related, but it is kinda funny
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_pictures/4884560.stm

thanks for the info, and the spaghetti diagram. Problem solved, now I can start and fall down like the rest of yous.

lost1
lost1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 05:06 PM   #38
gaspipe
Wandering Soul
 
gaspipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Pickwick Lake, Tennessippi
Oddometer: 11,342
When my switch fragged and died on me, I just cut a piece of copper wire and stuck it into the connector on the harness at the clutch lever perch, then plugged the connector back in. An elegant way to short the switch.

I never bothered to correct it.

__________________
gaspipe [the original]

Hair of the dog....
gaspipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 05:08 PM   #39
rapiti
IOR Veteran
 
rapiti's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: On the island
Oddometer: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaspipe
When my switch fragged and died on me, I just cut a piece of copper wire and stuck it into the connector on the harness at the clutch lever perch, then plugged the connector back in. An elegant way to short the switch.

I never bothered to correct it.


Mexicanada?
__________________
...its the best paint scheme that has ever been or ever will be on an Adv...-AussieRob
rapiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 05:45 PM   #40
gaspipe
Wandering Soul
 
gaspipe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Pickwick Lake, Tennessippi
Oddometer: 11,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapiti
Mexicanada?
Si, es muy mexicanada.
__________________
gaspipe [the original]

Hair of the dog....
gaspipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 04:26 PM   #41
alpiv
Sr. nOOb
 
alpiv's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Oddometer: 2,173
Well, I too now have the same problem ..
time to soder them together....


(Edit)
Well, it worked like a charm.. Not a problem!

alpiv screwed with this post 03-14-2007 at 07:15 AM
alpiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 01:25 AM   #42
R.Markus
Damage Addict
 
R.Markus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan City, IN
Oddometer: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpiv
Well, I too now have the same problem ..
time to soder them together....


(Edit)
Well, it worked like a charm.. Not a problem!

I have the same problem with mine. I thought it was some messed up safety device and didn't realize it wasn't supposed to start only in neutral. I'll have to correct that sometime.
__________________
The beatings will continue until morale improves.
R.Markus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 04:16 AM   #43
R&R4adv
Gnarly Adventurer
 
R&R4adv's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Oddometer: 320
I had the same problem when i changed over to short levers to fit inside the barkbusters the lever didn't have the little bump on it to actervate the switch so i used a tig welder to build the lever up till it did, works well now.
R&R4adv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 09:11 AM   #44
jonnycowboy
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Oddometer: 21
hrmm mine does that too!! gonna have to whip out my soldering iron.... is there a switch on the center stand as well?
jonnycowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:31 PM   #45
snowscape
Adventurer
 
snowscape's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greenwater, Washington
Oddometer: 17
Thumb

I killed my 07' adv on interstate 80 through Reno (a new rider can stop an engine at any speed) about an hour after I bought it and had a panic attack trying to restart it whial rolling down a congested freeway. Its going to take a hammer to fix the switch. Thanks for posting this fix
snowscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014