User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-26-2008, 06:42 AM   #1
Charles Seguin OP
Noob4Life

Oddometer: 521
Eek South America: Until our Luck or Money Runs Out

My brother Joe (J_Seguin) and I graduated college this last Fall. The winter before that we decided it was time to do a big ride: through Central and South America down to Tierra Del Fuego. When I called him the conversation went like this:

“I think we should ride South America or Europe the summer after we graduate”

“Europe? Screw that. We’re going to South America.”

“Ok, we’ll go to South America”

“How am I going to get the money to do this?”

“You’ll find a way.”

“I don’t know how I’m going to get the money.”

“You’ll find a way.”

“Ok”

“Ok, talk to you later.”

“Ok, bye.”

We later decided to take about 6 months to do the ride, which involved putting off our career plans for a year. I had an offer to go to Princeton for graduate school and I told them where they could stuff it (after unsuccessfully begging them to defer me for a year). And Joe told Teach for America where they could put their offer (after unsuccessfully begging them to defer him for a year).

There were and are a lot of people who thought and think that we’re crazy for riding to South America; people afraid of disease, banditos, rebels, corrupt cops, crazy drivers, insufficient engine displacement etc. While we’ve taken all reasonable precautions we can, in the end we decided it’s worth the risk.

The machines are to be a 1990 DR650 (my brother’s) and a 1990 KLR250 (my own). I’ll have to post later with a list of the things I did to prepare the 250, I’m sure my brother will do the same.

The route is to be roughly down the west coast of Central and South America until we reach Tierra Del Fuego. After that? We’ll ride the bikes off into the ocean, swim back to shore and fly home.