ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 07:36 PM   #91
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 407
Cheers Bikky, good work!!

I have reset the stepper motor a couple of times but unfortunately it doesnt seem to make a difference.
I have had the injectors cleaned and tested, they say they are perfect but I havent got around to trying them on the bike yet.
I will post up how I get on.
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 04:32 AM   #92
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,756
Since this is an old thread, could you brief us on your problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider911 View Post
I have reset the stepper motor a couple of times but unfortunately it doesnt seem to make a difference.
Is your idle too high, or not keeping revs at all?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 05:05 AM   #93
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 738
in my previsou 990 had the very same issue. Swapped battery, multiple tps adjustments, solved the problem for a few days then it would go back to its state before.

swapped sensors, cleaned everything, etc... it was one (or both) of two things, TPS or stepper motor as i replaced the complete TB's. The TPS can be found for sale in +2010 models (its the same) and the stepper motor can be obtained by triumph as stated previously.

My guess, tps sensor. It never kept a constant value, and at full throttlwe opening would go 100% and over 4,05volts when it should be 96% and 3,96v
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:29 PM   #94
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
The TPS issue is so inconsistent.
I've set mine 0.60v so many thousands of mine ago and it has never changed.

It's so weird that people report them to change value frequently. Maybe the actual sensor isn't "right" in the first place and one would continue to run after that problem as the value keeps on changing.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 06:46 PM   #95
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 407
The story is I pulled my perfectly running bike apart to do some routine maintenance (valve adj, cam chains, water pump seal ect). Due to work and family commitments it was apart for nearly a year.
It fired up instantly when reassembled and for a few minutes idled fine but then the motor started to rev erratically by itself. Anything from 1700 to 5000rpm. I have the idle set at 1400 but it never went that low at anytime
I hooked up tuneecu and studied the data but couldn't identify a problem, I borrowed another 990 to compare the data but everything seemed to be the same. I swapped computers but nothing changed. FYI my bike is 07 the other bike is 2011, obviously the 11 ecu wont work on the 07 because it looks for an immobilizer but the 07 ecu worked perfectly in the 11 bike without any mapping changes.
I had a ride organised so I was starting to get desperate and conned the guy who owns the 11 into letting me swap the whole FI unit. This fixed it instantly and I used his FI for my ride.
Now I have to get to the bottom of my issues. Obviously it can only be the stepper motor, the TPS or an injector (which Ive had tested and supposedly ok)
I think it will be hard to differentiate between the TPS and the stepper motor because they both work off the same mechanical system. ie does a fluctuating ecu input from the tps cause the stepper motor to change? If the stepper motor is doing something weird by itself than the tps readings are going to correspond to what the throttle shaft is doing.
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 06:51 PM   #96
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 407
I have experienced the low battery idle problem twice in the last 4 years but that cause is easy to understand and different to this.
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 07:05 PM   #97
pdxmotorhead
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 602
I've bought TPS units that were bad out of the box.. Took 3 last time before I got one that worked on my Jeep...

Bad connections on the ECU plug can be diabolical..

Cheers
Dave
__________________
Freedom is a delicate thing.
More easily lost than gained.
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 07:21 PM   #98
BuzzOnWheels
n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: PC, UT.
Oddometer: 4
Replace Throttle Body!?

Hi Kind Mechanic,

Thanks for waiting today to get my bike in, I appreciate you doing that.
It has been a crazy summer between the Edge and Full Throttle and its almost winter.
I really want to get this figured out and hope you can help.

Here is what I had put out there about my KTM on ADV Rider forum under some Orange Crush posts and some responses.



I have replaced the battery, voltage regulator and done the following:

'07 KTM 990 Adventre - 33,000 mi.



Hi, trying to not buy a $1,100 part to resolve an idle issue.



I am told by local dealers (Utah) and their communication with "KTM" that I need to replace the throttle body to resolve my erratic idle situation.

That's like replacing the carbs to change the jetting, right?



It started with a strange high 1.75, and now up to 5K. Kill switch re-sets and back to 1.5 K rpm.


19K I noticed the first glitch and now at 32K it is holding 75 mph in 6th gear with out any hands.


TPS has been synced and sonically cleaned, no errors were coming up on computer with mapping for Akrapovic exhaust.


I heard that the "Big Grey Bundle" might be the culprit.


I also did the "15 min idle reset" with no difference.


Some responses:


---Quote (Originally by bikyto)---
Have they confirmed that the stepper motor on the throttle body is causing the issue?

If so, you don't to replace the whole assembly. Just the stepper. Have them confirm it before you pull the trigger and report here if you'd like. By what you are describing, it does sound like a stepper motor issue.
---End Quote---


A 205 from me v

My last '08 990 started the high erratic idle after 20, 000 miles.
It would blast up to 4,000 settling down after a while.
It liked to hang high during decel, making the bike almost unrideable.
I had two '08 990's at the time and first switched the ecu's to no avail. then switched the TB's, which solved the issue.
But They went back on the 990 they came off of.

I finally had success by making slight adjustments to the actuating shaft
on the bottom of the stepper motor. IIRC it has a lock nut and the shaft
is threaded.
I'd guess I had the TB's off that bike 10 times.

Sold that bike to a local friend at 40,000 + miles and just put a CPR filter on it.
Needless to say I was well acquainted with the TB removal.
Now the idle seems to be hanging slightly again, so I'll be trouble
shooting that soon.
Man! the CPR or Sportinwood filter systems really stream line the whole
messing with the TB's deal.

Twist it , Max


Tune ICU Mapping - http://www.tomhamburg.net/KTM_Tune_list.html




"I had the same problem on my 2010 990R, turned out to be a faulty TPS. I ordered a set from KTM Twins and the problem sorted as soon as I installed them."

I looked up these parts, Im not sure if the CPL is necessary.


TPS-SENSOR CVRD43 44


KTM Part Number: 60031077000

TPS SENSOR CPL.


KTM Part Number: 75041077044



So, that is what I have found out so far.
I don't have the money to replace the throttle body so
im hoping you can find another solution.

Thank you for you time and I look forward to hearing back form you.

Demian
BuzzOnWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 01:58 AM   #99
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 738
You said replaced the ECU for a 2011 and it worked fine? (assuming you got the map adapted to pre 09 timing)
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 03:31 AM   #100
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustavo.Ramos View Post
You said replaced the ECU for a 2011 and it worked fine? (assuming you got the map adapted to pre 09 timing)

I said that I put the 07 ecu into the 2011 bike and it worked fine. I also said that I didnt change any mapping. I didnt try it under all conditions as obviously I was really only interested in verifying that the ecu was capable of delivering a stable idle. However on my short ride it seemed perfect.
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 10:08 AM   #101
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by rider911 View Post
I said that I put the 07 ecu into the 2011 bike and it worked fine. I also said that I didnt change any mapping. I didnt try it under all conditions as obviously I was really only interested in verifying that the ecu was capable of delivering a stable idle. However on my short ride it seemed perfect.
Sorry, i've replied too early in the morning and mixed up everything....
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 04:48 PM   #102
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by rider911 View Post
I said that I put the 07 ecu into the 2011 bike and it worked fine. I also said that I didnt change any mapping. I didnt try it under all conditions as obviously I was really only interested in verifying that the ecu was capable of delivering a stable idle. However on my short ride it seemed perfect.


The reason I mentioned that was some of us are worried about the reliability of the immobilizer on the newer bikes, so it looks to me the easiest fix would be just to install a older ecu that doesnt need a input from the immobilizer. Maybe the mapping might need to be tweeked but it will definately work.
__________________
New RR ~ Across OZ... Corner by Corner

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 07:08 AM   #103
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by rider911 View Post
The reason I mentioned that was some of us are worried about the reliability of the immobilizer on the newer bikes, so it looks to me the easiest fix would be just to install a older ecu that doesnt need a input from the immobilizer. Maybe the mapping might need to be tweeked but it will definately work.
Word was at some point though that you need to stick with the pre-2009 basemaps or the older ECU will look for the immobilizer, too. I think you can cut and paste the newer map info onto the older basemap though.

IIRC the ECU part number is the same pre and post immobilizer....

I'd sure like to know all of this for sure...

SA
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:29 AM   #104
Pistolero
W. F. O.
 
Pistolero's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Oddometer: 708
Pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:55 PM   #105
AJ990R
motorcycle guy
 
AJ990R's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: MKE,WI
Oddometer: 191
11' adv R w/29k mi & hanging idle (4-5k rpm)

Hey Guys,
My local dealer is awesome & has checked the bike for faults, none stored. Same symptom as Buzz On Wheels above. We reset the adaptations & then performed the infamous idle run-in, bike was good, for one day only. When riding in colder temps issue seemed to gone away, but bike is hibernating right now, good time to order parts to go with my new airbox.

So,
Do I replace both sensors?

Or just the rear one?


Was told by a superduke guy, the rear is the main TPS & the front is for the the secondaries.

thanks
CHEERS
AJ
__________________
"saddle up or shut up"
KaTooM North
AJ990R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014