ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2008, 11:53 AM   #1
Dessert Storm OP
Dances With Drunks
 
Dessert Storm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Off route, recalculating
Oddometer: 753
Loss of Mapsource detail

Edit: 10 minutes after posting: Found it! Had 'Show GPS Map Detail' turned off. Duh. Thanks for looking anyway.


Got a 2610, and Mapsource City Navigator Europe V8. About 18 months old, I think.

Opened Mapsource today for the first time for a few weeks, to find that I cannot get the level of detail on maps that I could get previously. No matter what zoom I apply (100 miles, 5 miles, 200ft etc etc) or what level of detail I specify (low, medium, highest etc), small roads simply do not appear. Small settlements - such as the village where I live! - appear as named dots in the middle of void, where previously the various small roads leading to the settlements appeared.

I've checked various Preferences and settings, and don't think I've done anything stupid. An ever present possibility though....

Any ideas, please?

Thanks
__________________
'You like motorcycles, beer, and ladies. I'm afraid I have the same illness' - Thierry.

(Manti are dumplings not all too different from gyoza or pelmini) - Tourist.

Dessert Storm screwed with this post 09-25-2008 at 12:06 PM
Dessert Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 12:04 PM   #2
Boston12GS
Banned
 
Boston12GS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Boston/Maastricht
Oddometer: 3,886
Sounds like you're looking at your base map set that comes with the system by default, and not at the map set you pay extra money for.

But that's all I got, don't know how that could've happened.
Boston12GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 09:01 AM   #3
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,337
EZ to do.

I had that happen to me once! Been doing this a long time but it only takes one brain fart to screw things up.

I have an older riding friend who is fairly new to GPS and not overly computer wise call twice with a similar problem. His MapSource maps on his computer showed absolutely no detail, only a grid nothing more. I thought about it a little and suggested he zoom out a lot like to the 100mi scale. Sure enough he was centered in the middle of the Pacific Ocean!

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014