Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-04-2008, 09:11 PM   #1
Manuel Garcia O'Kely OP
Back at last

Oddometer: 12,763
Knife Making

http://s166.photobucket.com/albums/u...ericus/Knives/

Here's some pics of knives I'm working on, my collection of knives and the furnace I built today out of a weed-burning 500,000 BTU propane burner.

I'm starting a new thread over here in Inmates so that people know what they are going to get.

I hope everyone on the list who makes knives will feel free to kick in with their hints and tips - I'm brand new to this myself.

There's casting, then there's running into the stream with a baseball bat trying to club the fish to death. - Jim Moore
Manuel Garcia O'Kely is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 09:12 PM   #2
DireWolf
Knees in the Breeze

Oddometer: 12,794
Old 10-04-2008, 09:25 PM   #3
pirahna
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 17,648
Can I have one? Thanks.
pirahna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 09:34 PM   #4
Manuel Garcia O'Kely OP
Back at last

Quote:
Originally Posted by pirahna
Can I have one? Thanks.
Snort....

Dunno, I remember what happened to the last guy who made knives and sold 'em here. Poor Pally probably still regrets that idea.

You know, I'm making mine with a file, abrasive paper and a few simple pieces of equipment. I don't even have a grinder yet. If I can do it, you can do it.

I will say that knife No. 1 is not a very good one - the blade length is not quite right for the handle's orientation for kitchen use. Maybe after I make a sheath for it? It's also a bad heat treatment job so it's not going to hold it's edge all that well - but I love the handle, it came out well, I think.