User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-14-2008, 08:09 AM   #1
CrazyMike OP
***42***

Oddometer: 890
F800GS/F650GS Electrical System Capabilities

First of all....I am not an electrical engineer, but I like to think that I have a basic understanding of how electrical systems work.

There are several small discussions out there regarding the capacity of the BMW F800/F650GS electrical system and my goal here is to draw those discussions into one thread. Hopefully, this will create a single thread that describes current (read amperage) capabilities of the accessory plugs (a known trait of the BMW CanBus system), the available room to add accessories, and the capabilities to increase the available capacity of the system (either through aftermarket/optional alternators, alternator modifications, or reducing the draw of the standard systems).

The motorcycles currently have 400W alternator. (I expect the alternator size to grow over the next few years just as it has on other BMW models. Hopefully, those alternators will be direct bolt-on replacements for the current alternator.)

Questions:
  • Does anyone know what the standard system draws? (Obviously this will be affected by a couple of the features on each motorcycle; ABS and heated grips.)
  • What capacity is available to add accessories such as additional lighting, heated accessories, etc.?
  • Can we increase the available capacity of the system by upgrading to HID lights or other methods, thereby reducing the lighting draw and increasing overall capacity?
  • Is it possible to have a motor shop rewind the alternator to increase the alternator output?
  • Can someone provide the allowable current capacities of the accessory plugs (the BMW plug next to the ignition, the GPS pigtail and the alarm system pigtail)?
Obviously, there will be other questions so please ask at will.