ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 09:31 PM   #1
jcmccorm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Oddometer: 40
Quickdisconnect replacement question...

So I pull into the driveway after a 70mile ride on the '02 Adventure and smell gas. Before shutting down I look down to the right and see gas pissing out of one of the plastic disconnects. Great.

This is the second time it has happened. I checked the forum here and ordered the chrome plated brass kit from Beemerboneyard as I'm sick of messing with these things.

Here's the question. It's a real bugger pulling the old ones out of the hose. I'm holding the hose with pliers and the QD with another set of pliers and pulling. I'm stuck on the crossover connector and I'm afraid of ruining the hose.

How do you get these things out? Should I replace the hoses as well? (cause this can't be good for them).

Thanks.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
Some-Young-Guy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Some-Young-Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 377
I changed the hose at the same time I installed the new quick disconnects. I bought the connections, hose, and hose clamps all at the same time. The new hose clamps were the "screw" type and not the OEM "crimp" type.

Good luck!
__________________
________________________

2004 BMW R1150GS

ATGATT Rider

"At the age of thirteen I experienced an epiphany when I realized that liberalism is nothing more than a mental disorder. I've been clear headed and self motivated since and this, more than anything else, has served me well." SYG
________________________
Some-Young-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:50 PM   #3
jcmccorm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Oddometer: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some-Young-Guy
I changed the hose at the same time I installed the new quick disconnects. I bought the connections, hose, and hose clamps all at the same time. The new hose clamps were the "screw" type and not the OEM "crimp" type.

Good luck!
Thanks!

Can I get the hose and clamps at an autoparts store? The kit came with just enough clamps (6) for replacing the disconnects. They're nice clamps and I'd hope I can get ones just as good locally.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
Some-Young-Guy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Some-Young-Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 377
Here is a tip...

It's important that the new fuel lines are the right lengths. A little too short and the quick connects wont connect; a little too long and there will be unnecessary stress on the fittings.

After you remove the old hoses and fitting, save them and reassemble them to act as a guide for cutting the new hose sections to the proper lengths.

In other words, make sure that the new hose assemblies have the same lengths as the old hose assemblies. Each of the two assemblies will have a slightly different length.
__________________
________________________

2004 BMW R1150GS

ATGATT Rider

"At the age of thirteen I experienced an epiphany when I realized that liberalism is nothing more than a mental disorder. I've been clear headed and self motivated since and this, more than anything else, has served me well." SYG
________________________
Some-Young-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 10:26 PM   #5
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,916
Replace the or-rings often, also. And carry spares. Sometimes the orings are damaged when your disconnect the fittings.
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 06:46 AM   #6
Oilybimmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Oilybimmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: North Wales
Oddometer: 1,424
Dont forget to put them in in opposite directions, that way you can never connect them up the wrong way round DAMHIK
Stewart
__________________
1998 GS 1100, TT hard parts, Zega panniers, MRA screen, WP rear shock, HID, keeps getting better.
PM me for drawings and dimensions to make your own Canbus fluid adapter
Oilybimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:03 AM   #7
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm
Thanks!

Can I get the hose and clamps at an autoparts store? The kit came with just enough clamps (6) for replacing the disconnects. They're nice clamps and I'd hope I can get ones just as good locally.

Cary
You can get Fuel Injection screw type hose clamps at any auto parts store. I can't say if they would be as nice as the ones you have, but they will work.

Jim
JimVonBaden is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:08 AM   #8
jcmccorm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Oddometer: 40
Thanks for the tips guys!

I'll stop and get hose and clamps and finish this off after work tonight. It'll be much easier to just cut the old hoses off since I won't be using them again.

Might look into that cannisterectomy while I'm here.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 09:00 AM   #9
Farnsrocket
Manos arribas!!!
 
Farnsrocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Heroinburg
Oddometer: 3,983
Someone correct me if I am wrong, but make sure ya get fuel injection hose too.
__________________
Crackhead retards keep me steadily employed.

I can't leave good enough alone.
Farnsrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 09:37 AM   #10
jcmccorm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Oddometer: 40
I picked up some fuel injection hose from Autozone. It's not an exact match as the ID and OD are both a little smaller than the factory hose. The clamps they had seem decent enough but are a little LARGER diameter than the beemer ones. They should screw down ok though.

Cary
jcmccorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:33 AM   #11
DriveShaft
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 4,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm
I'm sick of messing with these things.
Nooooo, Cary, you were supposed to go with theeeese.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=341730




Just bustin'.

Yes, on hose replacement. It's the inner hose diameter that counts, and you should be aiming for 8mm or 5/16th FUEL INJECTION rated hose.
DriveShaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 12:05 PM   #12
jcmccorm OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Oddometer: 40
Yeah, I saw those babies (the Jiffy-Tights). I've got no good reason for not going with them except that the chrome-plated brass ones are identical to the original ones, except they're not going to break in my lifetime. Either one would've been good.

ID is smaller but it is for fuel injection. I'll know in a couple of hours if I'm hosed (yeah, that's the best pun I could come up with). I bet it'll stretch though :)

Cary
jcmccorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 05:29 PM   #13
dukebackpack
Retired Bowman
 
dukebackpack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Miami
Oddometer: 136
doesn't need to be fuel injection hose, just fuel hose.
__________________
"Grab'm by the nose and kick'm in the pants" -Patton
dukebackpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 05:44 PM   #14
ragtoplvr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: S. W. Mssouri
Oddometer: 5,879
Regular hose is not designed for more than about 15 PSI. It will work, and it probably will work for a long time. The operative word is probably. Just be aware that it is not designed for the pressure.

Rod
ragtoplvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 08:05 AM   #15
vospertw
Adventures on the Cheap
 
vospertw's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmccorm
So I pull into the driveway after a 70mile ride on the '02 Adventure and smell gas. Before shutting down I look down to the right and see gas pissing out of one of the plastic disconnects. Great.

This is the second time it has happened. I checked the forum here and ordered the chrome plated brass kit from Beemerboneyard as I'm sick of messing with these things.

Here's the question. It's a real bugger pulling the old ones out of the hose. I'm holding the hose with pliers and the QD with another set of pliers and pulling. I'm stuck on the crossover connector and I'm afraid of ruining the hose.

How do you get these things out? Should I replace the hoses as well? (cause this can't be good for them).

Thanks.

Cary
Beemerboneyard also sells a kit of 5' of FI hose with a dozen clamps like the ones you received with your QD's. $25 IIRC. Not sure if it's a better deal than you can get elsewhere. Should be on the same page on their site as the QD's.
__________________
Todd Vosper

'07 DR650SE

"If ever a time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in Government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin."
- Samuel Adams
vospertw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014