ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 06:21 AM   #16
Mac
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotspice
AHAAAAAAA, I think I found a flaw

Not really but I gotta ask, your relays aren't screwed to your battery are they?


There are always flaws! I have had a fair amount of mil-spec wiring / soldering experience, and to do it over, there are things I'd do a little differently.

Actually they are. The top of the battery where the sticker is applied is just an insert, so there is a space under the top. I popped off this cap, and bolted (with nylock nuts on the bottom) my relays. The three relays are 1) for the centech, 2) for the 4 x 55w PIAA 1100X lamps, and 3) for the Stebel horn.
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC

Mac screwed with this post 10-28-2008 at 06:26 AM
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 06:43 AM   #17
tmgs
...Trailers are for Boats
 
tmgs's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: N. E. Georgia, Space Coast FL.(sometimes)
Oddometer: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Dog
...well?
under the tool tray area?
mine is in a plastic box, along with the relay, mounted up front on a dash I made, it made it so only one power cable is running to the battery, everything is powered from that up front on our bike

BTW here is a compact fuse panel and relay

http://www.fuzeblocks.com/
tmgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:17 AM   #18
DaFoole
Lewddite at large...
 
DaFoole's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: BFE, SW Oregon/SF BayO'rea
Oddometer: 3,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac
Right behind the tool tray, which was filled with the Autocomm and heated gear controller.

http://www.mattmccabe.com/mod-fuseblock/

http://www.mattmccabe.com/mod-wiringharness/

... and while you're at it, do yourself a favor and keep the wiring clean.

WOW!! Nice Job!! What is covering the wires? Haven't seen it before but would like to use it for the longer runs (Centech box/lights/horn going to be a winter project). Thanks.
__________________
"...when I handed the 40 ouncer to him, he got that far off stare that a cat gets when it just gets done licking its ass for the last 15". Yeah, THAT stare." -WTF-Over
"Don't come in here with your thoughtfulness, empathy, and reason... this is shit, up with which, I shall not put." -Boondoggle
DaFoole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:19 AM   #19
Rapid Dog OP
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,000
Thumb

...lots of good ideas here...thanks fellas.
I'm going to look into the Excel Cycle kit.
__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:48 AM   #20
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Not a Centech but a Fuze Block... the relay is built into the unit.



Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:54 AM   #21
Hotspice
Satellites not acquired
 
Hotspice's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Snow-Bound
Oddometer: 5,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrodgolfer
On the info bracket that's at the rear of the airbox. Fits well there.
A question for those of you that mount them here..

Aren't you worried about water getting into the block during heavy rains??

__________________
Cyclenutz.com motorcycle accessories

Get a SmugMug account and use coupon code DwHE0pDRjpJfw to save yourself $5.
Hotspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 08:56 AM   #22
Railbender
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: NW PA
Oddometer: 1,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFoole
WOW!! Nice Job!! What is covering the wires? Haven't seen it before but would like to use it for the longer runs (Centech box/lights/horn going to be a winter project). Thanks.
That looks like split cable tubing on the wires. You should be able to find it at Harbor Freight, Radio Shack or an auto parts store. I have seen it in at least 2 diameters.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

__________________
The shortest distance between two points is boring.
Railbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:16 AM   #23
Rapid Dog OP
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,000
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotspice
A question for those of you that mount them here..

Aren't you worried about water getting into the block during heavy rains??


I'm wonderimng about the saddle clearance...must work doe...
__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:16 AM   #24
AKtracks
Kilted Fükengrüver
 
AKtracks's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Oddometer: 1,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotspice
A question for those of you that mount them here..

Aren't you worried about water getting into the block during heavy rains??

I cover mine with a small, heavy plastic bag to keep water & debris out.
__________________
'07 R1200GS

Adventure Cycleworks Providing support to the Adventure Touring Motorcyclist in Fairbanks, Alaska

-
AKtracks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:27 AM   #25
Rapid Dog OP
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,000
Question

Quote:
Not a Centech but a Fuze Block... the relay is built into the unit.
Any comments/pros/cons on the Fuzeblock in comapro to the Centech?
Weather-wise or otherwise?
__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:01 AM   #26
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Railbender
That looks like split cable tubing on the wires. You should be able to find it at Harbor Freight, Radio Shack or an auto parts store. I have seen it in at least 2 diameters.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

Actually it is an expandable mesh tubing, IIRC. Nice stuff.

As for water in the fuse box, under the seat is is not an issue at all. Even at the base of the tank vertical it isn't. Though some water might drip on it, I have not seen one short out.

I would suggest, however, sealing the back with a liquid rubber coating in case an errant screw or peice of metal might fall under it.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:54 PM   #27
MeanMoe
one really mean cat
 
MeanMoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by SinCityJets
2 things....

1 - Mac, that shit is bad ASS!!
2 - Tom at http://www.excelcyclewerkes.com/index_files/Page577.htm has an AWESOME kit. He actually has a stainless steel mount that mounts vertically on the screw that holds the manual holder under the seat. I installed mine this weekend. Comes complete with pre wired relay. Plus he's a great guy and great customer service.
The Kildala2000 mount is similar but for the 1150. It mounts to the inspection plug clip on top of the air box. Fuse box on the front and relays on the back.
__________________

MeanMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:19 PM   #28
wrigmanG/S
Gnarly Adventurer
 
wrigmanG/S's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Corona, California
Oddometer: 214
Installed mine under the tank, just in front of the air box. It's out of the way, and all I have to do to access it is remove the air intake tube.
wrigmanG/S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:21 PM   #29
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Dog
I'm wonderimng about the saddle clearance...must work doe...
I had to dremel a little piece off one of the the under-seat fins to stop it from rubbing.
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:25 PM   #30
Burnszilla
BurnsMoto.com
 
Burnszilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Redwood City, California
Oddometer: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Dog
Any comments/pros/cons on the Fuzeblock in comapro to the Centech?
Weather-wise or otherwise?
You choose which circuit is switched or unswitched by easily moving the fuse to one side or the other. It's brilliant.
Burnszilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014