Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-26-2004, 05:11 PM   #1
turbonotch OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 735
Eh? Yamaha TW200 review... no really - - (beware, long)

BACKROUND INFO:

Before I start this, I just wanted to say 'hi' to everyone. I guess I'm technically a newbie here... But I've been lurking for months, I've been riding motorcycles of all types for 15+ years, I've worked in a few motorcycle shops back in the 90's, and I've been a moderator on a techboard for turbocharged motors and drag racing for 4-5years. So I'm no newbie to motorcycles or performance... this just happens to be my first post.

I've been doing the dual-sport thing for close to 10 years now. I've been trying to buy a 'newer' bike in the fall while holding onto the 'older' bike until spring and sell it for what I payed the year before. That way I have a different bike every year, they never get so clapped out they aren't worth anything, they are really easy to maintain (only requiring basic lube and filter jobs), and I pretty much sell them for what I payed after a year of hard use.

Anyway - I got caught in the lurch this year. I was looking into buying a house so I had to unload the toys during fall and winter. I talked to my old boss at the cycle shop and located a clean low mileage DR350S for a steal. I gave him a down payment and said... "I'll pick it up in the spring after this house business is squared away".

Winter comes and goes...I go the balance of the money to pick up the DR350. "Oh - sorry about that, I sold it to a friend". WTF was the downpayment for then... it wasn't a beer money - we had an agreement!? You've got to be kidding me! So here I am in the sweet spring weather with no bike and every dualsport I call for was sold within a day or two of being for sale :(