ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2014, 10:45 PM   #1
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Just bought a F650 GS and wondering if theres a way to use my old electronic devices

See pics.

Also is the socket next to the ignition the only electricity port on the bike?

Thanks.

Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 12:08 AM   #2
BlauZahn
n00b
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 2
Check out a PDM60

I have all kinds of stuff hooked up to a PDM60 (solid state circuit breaker). Don't hook anything into the BMW Canbus system (it's also solid state...microprocessor controlled; but you can't change the trip current of the circuits).
The PDM60 on my 2013 F8gs includes circuits for:
1)Bajadesigns aux. lights
2)SAE connector for gps, usb or whatever
3)rider heated liner (Gerber)
4)pillion heated liner (Gerber)
5)will be adding Zumo 590LM in about a week
The PDM60 hooks directly to the battery. You tap the tail light with the enclosed Posi-Tap connectors for an ignition signal (turns on the PDM60 when the ignition is switched on). This can be set with a delay (0-260 sec) so you can start the bike without all the electronics draining the battery. You can set each circuit to delay shutoff after the ignition is turned off (0-600 sec).
I covered all the wires with Tech-Flex mesh to toughen them up to abrasion. Slip heat shrink tubing over the ends of the Tech-Flex to keep it tidy. I used 3M heat shrink crimp connectors, again covered by heat shrink tubing, for splices (soldering is probably best; but this splice is tight and waterproof).
Wire the Battery Tender directly to the battery with an in-line fuse.

check out: pdm60.com and techflex.com
heat shrink connectors
BlauZahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 02:41 AM   #3
GeeK_InsiDe
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 277
Hi n00b,

You have one more power socket clipped on top of your battery.

But for the good life of your canbus system, you'd better run a relay.

See thread

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1023725
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 05:24 AM   #4
Beairmo
Keeping it real
 
Beairmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Fishers, IN
Oddometer: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excite-Bike View Post
See pics.

Also is the socket next to the ignition the only electricity port on the bike?

Thanks.

I put a fused SAE plug on my battery and ran it out under the seat. The BMW Powerlet outlet does not have the wattage to support heated gear so go direct to battery with it.

http://www.amazon.com/Powerlet-Heavy...s=sae+powerlet

Then get an SAE to Socket for the heated gear:

http://www.amazon.com/Powerlet-SAE-S...s=sae+powerlet

I put one of these in my Wolfman Explorer lite tank bag. Then and it works really well to plug my tank bag into the BMW powerlet to charge the low wattage devices (phone, camera, Scala, etc).

http://www.amazon.com/Powerlet-Basic...s=sae+powerlet

In the tank bag you can put this:

http://www.amazon.com/Weather-Resist...ds=sae+charger


I also bought this low dollar voltage checker to see what my battery is at:

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender...3BNVHQG7MP5JK9

Then a battery tender like this can plug direct into the SAE plug so you don't have to pull the cover to charge. Just pull the seat off if you keep the plug under the seat. I actually let mine dangle out most of the time.

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender...attery+charger

You could also keep an SAE to Cigarette for your tire pump. Again, I don't think the powerlet has the wattage to power your pump, but you can check the wattage.

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender...e+socket+cable
__________________
'13 F800GS; '14 K1600GTL; '09 WR450F
'74 RD350 (Winter Project)

"If your going through hell...keep going!
(Winston Churchill)
Beairmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 11:54 AM   #5
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Thanks guys. So does the power socket clipped on top of your battery run through the 5 amp limiting auto-shut off canbus system?

My heated vest is a special low 3-3.5 amp draw one meant for scooters so shouldn't it be ok if I just use a COAX to Powerlet adapter and plug it into the external top of tank plug while riding?

Also I read somewhere that you should not run an air pump while a bike is running but for fear of killing my battery out in the middle of nowhere I did exactly that every time with my Suzuki DR-Z400 with no issues at all. Any reason not to do the same with the GS?
Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 11:58 AM   #6
GeeK_InsiDe
Moore Gas!!!
 
GeeK_InsiDe's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Switzerland
Oddometer: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excite-Bike View Post
So does the power socket clipped on top of your battery run through the 5 amp limiting auto-shut off canbus system
Yes, it's limited too but it should be OK for your jacket. In fact there's only one way to be sure

And you may have problems to run your air pump (depends on which one you have) with those sockets.
GeeK_InsiDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 12:05 PM   #7
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excite-Bike View Post
See pics.

Also is the socket next to the ignition the only electricity port on the bike?

Thanks.
You can't run much off that outlet. As some have said run a fused SAE plug from the battery and be done with it. That plug won't run my heated gear or my air pump. I did use the one under the cover for my GPS.
__________________
"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch.
Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote" Ben Franklin

Current bikes F800GS-EXCF350-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 02:47 PM   #8
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieg View Post
As some have said run a fused SAE plug from the battery and be done with it.
Ok, so should I use the one on the left with a plastic double toothed 7.5 amp fuse in it or the one of the right with a traditional glass cylinder 15 amp fuse in it?

Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 02:52 PM   #9
jttele
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jttele's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexander, NC
Oddometer: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excite-Bike View Post
Ok, so should I use the one on the left with a plastic double toothed 7.5 amp fuse in it or the one of the right with a traditional glass cylinder 15 amp fuse in it?

That's your choice, either would work fine. I'd prefer the one on the left as the auto style blade fuses are easier to find and not break prone like the glass ones. I'd say you would want at least a 15 amp fuse or maybe a 20 amp if you are going to use this for a tire pump. I've blown a couple of 7.5 or 10 amp fuses using it for a pump.
__________________
Jttele
jttele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 02:55 PM   #10
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Also what the heck is this thing just hanging there?

Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 03:03 PM   #11
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jttele View Post
That's your choice, either would work fine. I'd prefer the one on the left as the auto style blade fuses are easier to find and not break prone like the glass ones. I'd say you would want at least a 15 amp fuse or maybe a 20 amp if you are going to use this for a tire pump. I've blown a couple of 7.5 or 10 amp fuses using it for a pump.
The pump says: Voltage: DC 10-13.5V. Amp.: max. 10.

So it clearly needs at least a 15 amp fuse but can you put a bigger clip style fuse in the slot for a 7.5 amp fuse? I thought they were colored and sized by their amps, no?
Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:40 PM   #12
MTrider16
Ridin' in MT
 
MTrider16's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Montana
Oddometer: 1,609
Is that an F650 single? or the F650 twin? The battery location seems suspicious for the twin, at least compared to my F800GS.
__________________
'13 VFR1200D, '13 XVS950, '09 F800GS, 07 CRF250X
Riding roads in Montana - Big Sky Country
www.mtrider16.smugmug.com
Mountains, Moose, and Miles: a Montanan's Alcan Highway Story
Continental Divide and More: the "No Dust" Tour of WY and MT
MTrider16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 02:22 AM   #13
Excite-Bike OP
Adventurer
 
Excite-Bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 78
Twin. Everything worked out perfect. Thanks guys.
Still curious what that plug hanging there is though.
Excite-Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 10:40 AM   #14
deguoren
该出手时就出手
 
deguoren's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: big freezer Germany
Oddometer: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excite-Bike View Post
Twin. Everything worked out perfect. Thanks guys.
Still curious what that plug hanging there is though.

looks a lot like the old version of the connector for a CTEK battery charger.



from: http://www.ctek.com/gb/en/chargers/C...Plug%20Adapter
__________________
Do what you love, and do it often. If you don’t like something, change it. If you don’t like your job, quit. Travel often; getting lost will help you find yourself. Some opportunities only come once; seize them. Life is about the people you meet and the things you create with them, so go out and start creating. Live your dream, and wear your passion. Life is short."
deguoren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014