ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2014, 09:21 AM   #1
ubermick OP
the n00biest
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 160
Moving turn signals with Motech luggage rack... Necessary?

Righty ho, chaps and chapettes. So my F650GS arrived safe and sound on Friday, and my SW Motech luggage rack arrived yesterday evening. (Only three days late... well done, FedEx!) Apparently though, I did a piss-poor job of doing my research on these, as when I popped them open and got to installing, I noticed they want my rear turn signals relocated. (Snagged them from Amazon, where there was no mention of it, although does say it loud and proud on the Twisted Throttle page for the same kit.)

So looking to slap a pair of Pelican 1550s on there with Caribou's DIY kit. Doing a dry fit, the racks go nowhere near the blinkies, so questioning whether or not relocating them is actually necessary, although holding a case on there, it does impede the view of the signal (what little there would be) from the side.

Anyone got a similar setup, and if so did you move them? Would rather not mess about with that step if I don't have to, and to be honest am not a big fan of how they look when moved. I did ping Roger at Caribou, but he was unsure about needing to do it or not...
ubermick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 09:42 AM   #2
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,477
I moved mine, but I did not use their wiring. I blindly accepted the inference that the rack conflicts with the blinkers. I've mounted MoskoMoto Scout panniers which are nowhere close. I'll check my installation to see if the blinker move was unnecessary.

Fred
FredRydr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 11:55 AM   #3
bmwroadsterca
RadioFlyer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lanark County near Ottawa ON
Oddometer: 126
I had done this install on my wife's bike. No mods to the signals necessary. I read somewhere that this is there to satisfy some EU or German requirement.

mike
bmwroadsterca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 03:48 PM   #4
tofire409
Geared up and ready.
 
tofire409's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, CDN
Oddometer: 654
It's an F8... but no mods needed





__________________
Damn I wish all roads were dirt.
2011 White F800GS, 30,000 km's
Toronto to Maine and back, Toronto to Boston -The Long way, To the Dragon, 2days TCAT
tofire409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 04:42 PM   #5
Girthy Knobkers
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Girthy Knobkers's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: East Bay
Oddometer: 419
I did relocate. But no need for changing the wiring, just get under the rear plastic cover and snip the zip ties holding the connectors in place. That will free up enough oem wiring to move them back. They are much more visible if moved! This also prevents anything that could go wrong down the road with re-wired signals...
Girthy Knobkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 09:20 AM   #6
ubermick OP
the n00biest
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Girthy Knobkers View Post
This also prevents anything that could go wrong down the road with re-wired signals...
Think that's my worry about it - the fact that BMW (and all manufacturers really) love to blame everything and anything in the case that something goes wrong.

Everything's mounted up, and the signals are deffo visible from the back, just not from the side. (That said, not sure how visible they are from the side anyways.)
ubermick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014