ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 02:10 PM   #15136
Sean-0
straya carnt
 
Sean-0's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Mumblebum Northern NSW
Oddometer: 4,431
Thanks for that i really like your setup ..... will be going along those lines myself

the baja lightbar is kick ass .....iv seen them in operation
the 2 spots i think would be great angled out a tad ..then the light bar showing front

bloody nice setup
Sean-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:23 PM   #15137
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
Are you asking what jets we run?

If so, here is where i'm at now...

Pilot - 27.5
Pilot Air jet - 1.2
Jet Needle - 9DJY1
Needle Jet - Y4 (but moving to a Y6 this weekend to test)
Clip - 2.5 (washer under, clip in pos 3)
Main - 140

Currently my pumper is disabled for tuning reasons.

I'm at 1850 ft, ~75 deg F, 30-50% humidity

Starts and idles great (like beyond great) small stumble off idle (which pumper will fix) light surging 1/4-1/2 throttle, very nice and clean 1/2 to 1/1 (pretty happy up top)
For anyone interested....

the Y6 needle jet fixed my surge and sad middle

I'm pretty darn happy with the carb now. Now i'm going to enable the accelerator pump and see whats doing.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:29 PM   #15138
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
I have installed my 200w ricky stator but it is only umm, 90% working.

All the lights work, but the headlight switch does nothing. The headlight is on no matter what setting I have it set to and the bright does not work. Also the kill switch does not work when I put it in the bottom position. The bike stays on! Had to stall it to turn it off.

I am running a AC-to-the-light and the rest DC setup. I have the relay from Baja Designs and I am using the stock AC reg on the AC side. But I have some questions about the BD relay. I cannot find anywhere to plug this in from the relay Baja Designs gave me http://i.imgur.com/g3RFZ.jpg Sorry I should have snapped a better pic. It has two flat blade connectors inside of it.

Also I am unsure where to plug the yellow/green wire from the BD kit now. http://i.imgur.com/0DpXK.jpg

Before I think it was plugged into either the blue or green wire. I assume that yellow/green wire is part of the kill switch? For the rest of the connections on the relay I just matched the blue and green wires.

Thanks in advance guys.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:51 PM   #15139
juri.tabain
Adventurer
 
juri.tabain's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Going RTW
Oddometer: 43
XR250L rear hub on XR650R

Hey guys,

would anyone of you know if an XR250L hub fits the BRP? I am desperate for a proper rear wheel cush drive and this might be the best bet - there is just no one with an 250 around I could try out...

And before ordering and shipping from the US it would be great to know what I'm doing (not that I usually would... ).

Anyone ever tried this mod?
juri.tabain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:06 PM   #15140
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
For anyone interested....

the Y6 needle jet fixed my surge and sad middle

I'm pretty darn happy with the carb now. Now i'm going to enable the accelerator pump and see whats doing.
Accelerator pump is dialed in. I'm very happy so far!
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:32 PM   #15141
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
I have installed my 200w ricky stator but it is only umm, 90% working.

All the lights work, but the headlight switch does nothing. The headlight is on no matter what setting I have it set to and the bright does not work. Also the kill switch does not work when I put it in the bottom position. The bike stays on! Had to stall it to turn it off.

I am running a AC-to-the-light and the rest DC setup. I have the relay from Baja Designs and I am using the stock AC reg on the AC side. But I have some questions about the BD relay. I cannot find anywhere to plug this in from the relay Baja Designs gave me http://i.imgur.com/g3RFZ.jpg Sorry I should have snapped a better pic. It has two flat blade connectors inside of it.

Also I am unsure where to plug the yellow/green wire from the BD kit now. http://i.imgur.com/0DpXK.jpg

Before I think it was plugged into either the blue or green wire. I assume that yellow/green wire is part of the kill switch? For the rest of the connections on the relay I just matched the blue and green wires.

Thanks in advance guys.
So it appears the yellow and black wire from the relay connects to the "stock" H4's yellow black wires? I connected it all that way and the bright appears to work with the headlight switch. It seemed strange to me to connect it since its a DC connection but I guess that is the whole point of the relay.

I just dont get why what BD supplied me does not connect at all. I had to use alligator test wires to connect the two. Here is a better shot of the yellow and black wire connector from the relay. http://i.imgur.com/Armys.jpg

I think I am just going to pop the male spades out and plug them into the "stock" H4 harness matching the black and yellow wires respectively?

I got the kill switch working again as well.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:51 PM   #15142
Capt. Egregious
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Capt. Egregious's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Where the sewer meets the sea, Edmonds Wa
Oddometer: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean-0 View Post
Thanks for that i really like your setup ..... will be going along those lines myself

the baja lightbar is kick ass .....iv seen them in operation
the 2 spots i think would be great angled out a tad ..then the light bar showing front

bloody nice setup
Thanks. The LED light bar puts out alot of light. I think it would work better if it was mounted higher. The OnX LED light bar was the one I was going to get but it did not have interchangeable optic lenses.
Capt. Egregious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:30 PM   #15143
Sean-0
straya carnt
 
Sean-0's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Mumblebum Northern NSW
Oddometer: 4,431
so it is the baja light bar >> my mate has 1 .. there freaking bright
i just like the look and simplicity of your setup .. how does it handle a crash

looks as tho it go ok as its tight and close together
your yousing the BRP top clamp yes ?
i have a scotts damper here ATM looking to set it up .... i have the oil fil post but dont like it ..im looking at a HDB top clamp for vapour dash and switchs

then i can mount the scotts over the bars with a forward post as you have done

i like it
Sean-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:15 AM   #15144
BuRPsa
Finally growing up..
 
BuRPsa's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Pretoria
Oddometer: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyLightning! View Post
The vapor is a very affordable and accurate way of monitoring the vitals on pretty much anything you install it on. In my opinion, it is the best for the price.
I second that. But as important, they back up their products with a sterling service too!
I separately bought dual units online, and one had a problem. Because living so far away from them I thought that my guarantee would have expired the day it was sent, but when I contacted them this turned out to be a too negative view of me - they did sort it out, courteously & friendly, it is in the mail whilst I type this.
"Service" here means often a village in rural China, immeasurably different than in the 1rst world, and therefore I know that my next dashboard will also be a Vapor.
BuRPsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:40 PM   #15145
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 353
Hesitation when strong acceleration

When at relanti if I give a strong aceleration the motor hesitates and some time dies...

If I gradualy acelerate a bit and been give a stronh aceleration I have no problem.

What cold be the problem? Tnks guys
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:44 PM   #15146
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuja View Post
When at relanti if I give a strong aceleration the motor hesitates and some time dies...

If I gradualy acelerate a bit and been give a stronh aceleration I have no problem.

What cold be the problem? Tnks guys
See my post in your other thread
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:01 PM   #15147
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
See my post in your other thread
Following your advice there
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:13 PM   #15148
ZXRaziel
Studly Adventurer
 
ZXRaziel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Grey skyes and rain of Good old England ( NEast)
Oddometer: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Egregious View Post
Just got done pressure washing the bike. Here are afew pictures of the gauge bracket and head light brackets. My garage is a mess so the pics are not very good.
I wound the stator with 18 ga. magnet wire. Running two DC circuits, two regulators, two battery's. The HIDs are sensitive to low voltage. If both HIDs are on at the same time at idle for long time they start to flicker. At higher rpm I can run all the lights and fan no problem.
Champion , thank you .
__________________
good things them hondas
ZXRaziel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:53 PM   #15149
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Super potentially dumb question. I have never really worked on dirt bikes, but if I put it on a dirt bike stand will the bike stay balanced if I remove the front wheel and forks? Or will more be needed to support the bike? I am going to pull the forks to get a shop to re-spring and freshen them up with new seals and bushings.

Anybody got a good inexpensive stand recommendation?
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:39 PM   #15150
Desert Scoundrel
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Lakewood Co
Oddometer: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
Super potentially dumb question. I have never really worked on dirt bikes, but if I put it on a dirt bike stand will the bike stay balanced if I remove the front wheel and forks? Or will more be needed to support the bike? I am going to pull the forks to get a shop to re-spring and freshen them up with new seals and bushings.

Anybody got a good inexpensive stand recommendation?

It depends where on the frame you put the stand and whatkind of stand. If the stand has a large platform then the bike will pretty much stay put. I use one of those cheapy HF stands and just place it where the bike will over-balance the opposite direction. If I am working on the rear then I put the stand further towards the front of the frame or visa-versa.
Desert Scoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015