ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 01:33 PM   #15616
Mur
Wheee!
 
Mur's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Grass Valley,CA
Oddometer: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigToad View Post
I prefer the screen size of the Montana, I note that's what Colebatch uses it on the Sibirsky Extreme ride partially because it holds a massive amount of waypoints

On the XRR I had to stick an ear plug behind the plastic that holds battery otherwise it shuts off soon as it gets rough.
Thanks for the replies. I ended up going with the Garmin 62 ST...
Mur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:54 PM   #15617
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 289
XR650R LED Conversion

Hi guys,

XR headlight it's really bad.

Thinking about converting to LED but realized that LED need battery, and DC power? is this correct?

There's any AC LED for my XR?
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:29 PM   #15618
KASUYAHO
Road Hog
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Aussie Land
Oddometer: 3,452
Just enquiring if anyone has and wants to sell a
Acerbis under seat tank and seat for a XR650R.
KASUYAHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 09:58 PM   #15619
Shibby!
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Currently - Canada
Oddometer: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuja View Post
Hi guys,

XR headlight it's really bad.

Thinking about converting to LED but realized that LED need battery, and DC power? is this correct?

There's any AC LED for my XR?

Just needs DC power.

You can get this by having a dual wound stator and regulator / rectifier, or converting your whole system over to DC and floating the ground.

Up to you. First determine what lights you want and the wattage they require keeping in mind the stator produces a fraction of what it's rated at during idle.

IMO, LED is the way to go if you can swing it.

I have HID, and although bright, I still want LED and my next rig will have it.
__________________
Tour of Idaho T1 Challenge - https://spotwalla.com/tripViewer.php...551f1642711d75
Eat. Sleep. Ride - The Great Divide: http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...4#post19193704
Go, Get Lost - Heading South: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735690
Dirt Donkeys Do Baja: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=671095

Shibby! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:37 AM   #15620
mrfallover
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 226
I just changed mine yesterday, no special sequence etc.
Try a new seal, they are cheap. These bikes are just so easy to service, I can't imagine not figuring this out quickly.
Let us know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
This is pretty much what I did the first time and the second. I third try is always worth a shot!
__________________
What can possible go wrong?
mrfallover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:07 AM   #15621
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
This is pretty much what I did the first time and the second. I third try is always worth a shot!
Medisyn, I wasn't trying to say you were doing it wrong, it's as simple as it appears. We all know how those things can be sometimes, a PITA with no logical reasoning

I just didn't want you guys to get wrapped around the axle over tightening sequences ect... that's not the cause.
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:30 AM   #15622
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shibby! View Post
Just needs DC power.

You can get this by having a dual wound stator and regulator / rectifier, or converting your whole system over to DC and floating the ground.

Up to you. First determine what lights you want and the wattage they require keeping in mind the stator produces a fraction of what it's rated at during idle.

IMO, LED is the way to go if you can swing it.

I have HID, and although bright, I still want LED and my next rig will have it.
Someone was just asking me about the same thing, I think you could get away with a stock stator running through a rectifier (with a cap) to power a LED HL and TL. Power draw for LEDs are ridiculously low. These guys are using LED flashlight reflectors which isn't a bad idea. I've got a D (2) cell Maglite that blows away the XRs stock HL for brightness. I looked on BD website to see if I could find the power draw for their lights but couldn't find it.

Of course this isn't DOT legal but it'd go nicely with my full knobbies
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 10:46 AM   #15623
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
I think you could get away with a stock stator running through a rectifier (with a cap) to power a LED HL and TL. Power draw for LEDs are ridiculously low.
XR 650R already have a rectifier and condenser with DC 12V output, correct?

So can i use stock headlight power supply for LED headlight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Of course this isn't DOT legal but it'd go nicely with my full knobbies
That's not a problem for me as i live in Angola...DOT legal is still a concept under construction
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:34 PM   #15624
Lostsaffa
Half Man Half BRP
 
Lostsaffa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Cannon Hill, Brisbane
Oddometer: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuja View Post
XR 650R already have a rectifier and condenser with DC 12V output, correct?

So can i use stock headlight power supply for LED headlight?



That's not a problem for me as i live in Angola...DOT legal is still a concept under construction
Babuja, most of the guys here are in the USA and have the lower output stator as their XR was a dirt bike off the shelf. If yours is from Southern Africa you will have the European/Australian/SAfrican spec XR with uprated stator which has all the components to easily run LED replacements of a similar draw or less than stock.
__________________
WTB: XR650R Johnny Campbell Signature Triple Clamps (Blue anodized), Please PM me if you know of any for sale for my 1x replica build!
Lostsaffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:15 PM   #15625
Unsung
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 57
So I'm putting my clutch discs back in and I noticed there's no spring seat. There's the judder spring but not the spring behind it that the manual calls for. What do I do?
Unsung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:00 PM   #15626
slickwill
Exhiled
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Oddometer: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsung View Post
Reassembling my clutch after replacing the clutch center, should I just coat the clutch bushing (the one that's still in it) and everything with oil when I put it back together, or use some type of grease on the clutch bushing and maybe end of the lifter rod? Also if I should put grease on that clutch bushing, what type, and should I coat the thing inside and out?
I think the manual calls for a moly/oil mix there. I used assembly lube. I wouldn't use any form of grease.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
slickwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:03 PM   #15627
KASUYAHO
Road Hog
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Aussie Land
Oddometer: 3,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsung View Post
So I'm putting my clutch discs back in and I noticed there's no spring seat. There's the judder spring but not the spring behind it that the manual calls for. What do I do?
Where did it go ?

You will need one otherwise the judder spring will wear into the clutch centre

Or some remove the judder spring and run more clutch plates.
KASUYAHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:23 PM   #15628
Unsung
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 57
I.. found it.
Unsung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:09 PM   #15629
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Medisyn, I wasn't trying to say you were doing it wrong, it's as simple as it appears. We all know how those things can be sometimes, a PITA with no logical reasoning

I just didn't want you guys to get wrapped around the axle over tightening sequences ect... that's not the cause.


No worries, I took no offense. I used a new seal and everything. It might just be the cover is warped. This is the first oil change I have done on this bike since I bought it off somebody used. so its possible the cover is borked. I am going to inspect everything more carefully to see whats going on.

Nobody uses anything to help seal the cover right? The FSM seems to indicate nothing other than oiling the seal.

medisyn screwed with this post 12-22-2012 at 06:40 PM
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:29 PM   #15630
Capt. Egregious
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Capt. Egregious's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Where the sewer meets the sea, Edmonds Wa
Oddometer: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Someone was just asking me about the same thing, I think you could get away with a stock stator running through a rectifier (with a cap) to power a LED HL and TL. Power draw for LEDs are ridiculously low. These guys are using LED flashlight reflectors which isn't a bad idea. I've got a D (2) cell Maglite that blows away the XRs stock HL for brightness. I looked on BD website to see if I could find the power draw for their lights but couldn't find it.

Of course this isn't DOT legal but it'd go nicely with my full knobbies

Yup, You can run LEDs off stock stator on DC. My BD 10" LED light bar draws 42 watts. My HID lights draw the same amount(3.5 amps each but they are voltage sensitive).

Capt. Egregious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014