ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 10:46 AM   #15616
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
I think you could get away with a stock stator running through a rectifier (with a cap) to power a LED HL and TL. Power draw for LEDs are ridiculously low.
XR 650R already have a rectifier and condenser with DC 12V output, correct?

So can i use stock headlight power supply for LED headlight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Of course this isn't DOT legal but it'd go nicely with my full knobbies
That's not a problem for me as i live in Angola...DOT legal is still a concept under construction
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:34 PM   #15617
Lostsaffa
Half Man Half BRP
 
Lostsaffa's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Cannon Hill, Brisbane
Oddometer: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by babuja View Post
XR 650R already have a rectifier and condenser with DC 12V output, correct?

So can i use stock headlight power supply for LED headlight?



That's not a problem for me as i live in Angola...DOT legal is still a concept under construction
Babuja, most of the guys here are in the USA and have the lower output stator as their XR was a dirt bike off the shelf. If yours is from Southern Africa you will have the European/Australian/SAfrican spec XR with uprated stator which has all the components to easily run LED replacements of a similar draw or less than stock.
__________________
Blog: XR650R.Blogspot.com
FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/BajaXR650R
Lostsaffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:15 PM   #15618
Unsung
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 60
So I'm putting my clutch discs back in and I noticed there's no spring seat. There's the judder spring but not the spring behind it that the manual calls for. What do I do?
Unsung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:00 PM   #15619
slickwill
Exhiled
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Oddometer: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsung View Post
Reassembling my clutch after replacing the clutch center, should I just coat the clutch bushing (the one that's still in it) and everything with oil when I put it back together, or use some type of grease on the clutch bushing and maybe end of the lifter rod? Also if I should put grease on that clutch bushing, what type, and should I coat the thing inside and out?
I think the manual calls for a moly/oil mix there. I used assembly lube. I wouldn't use any form of grease.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
slickwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:03 PM   #15620
KASUYAHO
Road Hog
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Aussie Land
Oddometer: 3,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsung View Post
So I'm putting my clutch discs back in and I noticed there's no spring seat. There's the judder spring but not the spring behind it that the manual calls for. What do I do?
Where did it go ?

You will need one otherwise the judder spring will wear into the clutch centre

Or some remove the judder spring and run more clutch plates.
KASUYAHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:23 PM   #15621
Unsung
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 60
I.. found it.
Unsung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:09 PM   #15622
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Medisyn, I wasn't trying to say you were doing it wrong, it's as simple as it appears. We all know how those things can be sometimes, a PITA with no logical reasoning

I just didn't want you guys to get wrapped around the axle over tightening sequences ect... that's not the cause.


No worries, I took no offense. I used a new seal and everything. It might just be the cover is warped. This is the first oil change I have done on this bike since I bought it off somebody used. so its possible the cover is borked. I am going to inspect everything more carefully to see whats going on.

Nobody uses anything to help seal the cover right? The FSM seems to indicate nothing other than oiling the seal.

medisyn screwed with this post 12-22-2012 at 06:40 PM
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:29 PM   #15623
Capt. Egregious
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Capt. Egregious's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Where the sewer meets the sea, Edmonds Wa
Oddometer: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Someone was just asking me about the same thing, I think you could get away with a stock stator running through a rectifier (with a cap) to power a LED HL and TL. Power draw for LEDs are ridiculously low. These guys are using LED flashlight reflectors which isn't a bad idea. I've got a D (2) cell Maglite that blows away the XRs stock HL for brightness. I looked on BD website to see if I could find the power draw for their lights but couldn't find it.

Of course this isn't DOT legal but it'd go nicely with my full knobbies

Yup, You can run LEDs off stock stator on DC. My BD 10" LED light bar draws 42 watts. My HID lights draw the same amount(3.5 amps each but they are voltage sensitive).

Capt. Egregious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 01:43 AM   #15624
babuja
Gnarly Adventurer
 
babuja's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Luanda, Angola
Oddometer: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostsaffa View Post
Babuja, most of the guys here are in the USA and have the lower output stator as their XR was a dirt bike off the shelf. If yours is from Southern Africa you will have the European/Australian/SAfrican spec XR with uprated stator which has all the components to easily run LED replacements of a similar draw or less than stock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Egregious View Post
Yup, You can run LEDs off stock stator on DC. My BD 10" LED light bar draws 42 watts. My HID lights draw the same amount(3.5 amps each but they are voltage sensitive).

Tnks guys
__________________
Cheers guys
Babuja
________
KTM 950 ADV
www.babuja.smugmug.com
http://www.nomadstrail.net/site/
babuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:14 AM   #15625
AJ..
Beastly Adventurer
 
AJ..'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Oddometer: 1,592
ok since we're on the topic of lightings...I need help on mine....

My bike should be the european version...with all the wiring for lightings comes from factory.I am dumb about the watts or power output that the stock stator provides.
Recently I've completed on the fairing project part2,everything is in running order including the signals,tailights,horn...except the headlite is super dim..I am using Honda CBR400 stock headlamps,and downsize the bulbs from 55/60 to 35/30.
Previously,I used a Honda XR400Sm headlite,and it's bright....

Advice please....What should be the best way upgrades for me to take?BAJA design high output stator?


CHeers,
AJ
__________________
HONDA XRV750-02,(woot-woot)BMW R1100GS-'98()BMW F650GS-01
Suzuki XF650Freewind-01
Husqvarna TE510centennial Rallye-04
KTM640ADV,KTM620DUKE projected()[COLOR=red]VF750C-96(project tracker)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/AJs-friends/158711187491373?v=wall[/URL]
AJ.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:43 AM   #15626
ZXRaziel
Studly Adventurer
 
ZXRaziel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Grey skyes and rain of Good old England ( NEast)
Oddometer: 509
I want to add some extra candles to my setup , i like this new stuff from BD http://www.bajadesigns.com/ProductDe...mNumber=640241
Just not sure about the positioning , i was thinking under the main light , but then the front mudguard might get it the way
__________________
good things them hondas
ZXRaziel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:35 AM   #15627
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchn06 View Post
sounds like your pilot could be a bit rich. post your jet numbers and you will get more input. As you may know, you would rather be too rich than too lean. IDK, i rarely use choke either just initial start, then flip it off, let it warm up a few minutes then depart. I'm sure it is fine.

Thanks for the reply! I'll rip in to the carb here in the next few weeks when I can let the XRR have some down time and report back with my findings.
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:42 AM   #15628
dohcfox
meh
 
dohcfox's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ.. View Post
ok since we're on the topic of lightings...I need help on mine....

My bike should be the european version...with all the wiring for lightings comes from factory.I am dumb about the watts or power output that the stock stator provides.
Recently I've completed on the fairing project part2,everything is in running order including the signals,tailights,horn...except the headlite is super dim..I am using Honda CBR400 stock headlamps,and downsize the bulbs from 55/60 to 35/30.
Previously,I used a Honda XR400Sm headlite,and it's bright....

Advice please....What should be the best way upgrades for me to take?BAJA design high output stator?


CHeers,
AJ
I've heard great things about the Baja Designs stator but personally, I'd grab a Ricky Stator unit, mainly because the owner will stay on the phone with you and spend time answering your questions and will help solve problems. RS's customer support, IMO, is stellar.

Also, talk to Darryl at Cyclops about lens housings options for your fairing. He'll be able to steer you in the right direction and he's a super cool guy to boot!
__________________
Ser decente no cuesta un culo y queda uno putamente bien!
dohcfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:42 PM   #15629
AJ..
Beastly Adventurer
 
AJ..'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Oddometer: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohcfox View Post
I've heard great things about the Baja Designs stator but personally, I'd grab a Ricky Stator unit, mainly because the owner will stay on the phone with you and spend time answering your questions and will help solve problems. RS's customer support, IMO, is stellar.

Also, talk to Darryl at Cyclops about lens housings options for your fairing. He'll be able to steer you in the right direction and he's a super cool guy to boot!

Thanks,I will try inquire with Ricky Stator.
__________________
HONDA XRV750-02,(woot-woot)BMW R1100GS-'98()BMW F650GS-01
Suzuki XF650Freewind-01
Husqvarna TE510centennial Rallye-04
KTM640ADV,KTM620DUKE projected()[COLOR=red]VF750C-96(project tracker)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/AJs-friends/158711187491373?v=wall[/URL]
AJ.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:47 PM   #15630
poppy
Slow and Steady
 
poppy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: G.C QLD
Oddometer: 2,328
I think the Ricky stator is a plug and play in the US bikes but not so in the Euro bikes. Like the look of the fairing/light/guard set there AJ, nice.
poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015