ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 01:27 PM   #17926
FlyGuy
MachineHead
 
FlyGuy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Middle of Highway 1 California
Oddometer: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bigrn View Post
I had a lot of people responded to my original post. However most people I believe missed the title "Problems with my Mikuni Pumper Carb" Please keep in mind when respondin to my inquirey, it is a Mikuni Pumper Carb. Thanks
What happens if you turn the idle down?
then readjust the mixture
Both easy to do on the TM40, I can adjust while sitting on the seat
There is more to it than that but you should be down to 1500 rpm after that the ignition timing increases and its hard to stabilize the idle.
I typically see a large RPM difference on my vapor 1200-1500 or more

If you have a bike with a light weight piston and or lighted crank parts I recommend a different ignition or modify the one you have to alter the advance curve to a higher RPM.

2000 RPM is a bit to high for a stock motor
FlyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 01:33 PM   #17927
FlyGuy
MachineHead
 
FlyGuy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Middle of Highway 1 California
Oddometer: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsilver1007 View Post
Having problems with my edelbrock (surprise surprise), the pumper is having problems and the throttle is starting to hang.

the question is, what should i do? try fixing the edelbrock?i know the parts are basically unobtainable . Go back with the stock carb?

My bike is pretty much stock other than a full after market exhaust and the thing ripped with the edelbrock and i could never get the stocker quite right.
Stock carb if your not willing to spend the money for the TM40
Or someone might chime in with some eddy parts for you (possible wishful thinking?) most people liked them when they were right.
FlyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 03:34 PM   #17928
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
So I just ordered a chain and now I am confused on how many links I need with my SM wheel setup.

I have 15/44t sprockets ordered from XR's only. They called me today and said that I need a 120 link chain.

I am pretty sure 110 or 108 links is how many I need. I know I can cut it down, but now I am unsure what I need. Anybody with a similar setup?
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #17929
PineyMountainRacing
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 2,290
I just put a set of 17's on mine, with 15/44 gearing. I took 2 links out of the stock chain, and that put the axle about half way in the adjustment range. It's pouring outside or I'd walk out to the shop and count how many links are in the chain now. But I know it's the chain tht came on the bike with the stock gearing.
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:29 PM   #17930
PeteN95
Beastly Adventurer
 
PeteN95's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Muk, WA
Oddometer: 2,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper X View Post
I stuck a washer about 3mm thick on the side that was closer and it worked perfectly.
That is going to tweak your forks a bit, why not just adjust the lacing to even the rim out?
__________________
"If you ain't slidin', you ain't ridin'"

SVN/XRR/XC-W
PeteN95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 04:44 PM   #17931
PineyMountainRacing
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteN95 View Post
That is going to tweak your forks a bit, why not just adjust the lacing to even the rim out?
Yeah, I could add 2.5 mm on one side and take 2.5 off the other spacer, but that will move the rotor. Is there supposed to be an offset on the hub? I was told by W9 that the hubs are CRF hubs. I put the wheel in the truing stand and it looks like there is 0 offset now. I can move the rim over in relation to the hub, that's the only way without moving the rotor and / or increasing the distance between the forks.
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:14 PM   #17932
dsilver1007
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dsilver1007's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Clemson SC
Oddometer: 312
carb

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyGuy View Post
Stock carb if your not willing to spend the money for the TM40
Or someone might chime in with some eddy parts for you (possible wishful thinking?) most people liked them when they were right.
Thank you for the help, i may end up going with the stock carb for the time being.

What would be some good starting points with jetting considering i just have an aftermarket exhaust.

The part that could have potentially kicked my eddy to the curb is the umbrella seal that i cant find a replacement for.
__________________
If you cant ride it on one, ride it on two
dsilver1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:46 PM   #17933
zoro
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Darwin, Australia
Oddometer: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsilver1007 View Post
Thank you for the help, i may end up going with the stock carb for the time being.

What would be some good starting points with jetting considering i just have an aftermarket exhaust.

The part that could have potentially kicked my eddy to the curb is the umbrella seal that i cant find a replacement for.

I have a FMF pipe, power bomb header and stock carb.

Main is a 175
Pilot is the 68S
Needle is B53E and set at middle (3rd) clip groove
Idle mixture is 1.25 turns out

I'm at sea level and will most likely move the needle to the next lean clip position (move needle down another clip position) just to try.
zoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:25 AM   #17934
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Well as I took the chain off my bike I counted the pins 108. So I am guessing thats the lenght I need?

Also I am getting really annoyed with everything I take off this bike I see the shoddy work of the last owner.

The front sprocket had like 1/8th inch of play on it forward and back. This is what the sprocket holder looked like.
http://i.imgur.com/pd3SaXN.jpg

This is what the shaft looks like.
http://i.imgur.com/MxJ4YEk.jpg

The reason I am replacing the chain is because I noticed a link was stiff/damaged. Part of the metal from one of the side plates was completely gone. Really lucky it never broke!

I think it's a result of the play in the CS sprocket. Guessing it hit the case saver which looked like it had almost no clearance for a 15t sprocket.

What could have caused this? Over tight chain? Using the wrong sprocket? I know the xr650l sprocket is thiner.

The question is when I get the new parts (I ordered a new sprocket, the plate to hold it and bolts) is if there will be play in it as well....
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:51 AM   #17935
bigkuri
Studly Adventurer
 
bigkuri's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London, but am a Kiwi
Oddometer: 730
Yikes you really need a new crankshaft seal... that is nicely rusty/dirty!

Your splines are not the worse I've seen (loads of XR600's), but they are starting to get worn.

Will be interested to see what some of the guru's say here, but my take is just make sure you buy the best fitting sprocket you can, with a nice wide footprint, and forget about it. They all have some play, and there is not much you can do...
__________________
---------- Current Bike: 2006 Honda XR650R ------------
bigkuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:08 AM   #17936
1bigrn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 192
[QUOTE=zoro;22198165]I have a FMF pipe, power bomb header and stock carb.

Main is a 175
Pilot is the 68S
Needle is B53E and set at middle (3rd) clip groove
Idle mixture is 1.25 turns out

I ran the exact same set-up on my carb and it was perfect. In many ways I like it better than my Mikuni pumper.
1bigrn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:04 AM   #17937
OBD
Other Brother
 
OBD's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Manchester, CT
Oddometer: 130
[QUOTE=1bigrn;22199492]
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post
I have a FMF pipe, power bomb header and stock carb.

Main is a 175
Pilot is the 68S
Needle is B53E and set at middle (3rd) clip groove
Idle mixture is 1.25 turns out

I ran the exact same set-up on my carb and it was perfect. In many ways I like it better than my Mikuni pumper.
Was that with side panel and/or air filter mods or stock?
OBD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:27 PM   #17938
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigkuri View Post
Yikes you really need a new crankshaft seal... that is nicely rusty/dirty!

Your splines are not the worse I've seen (loads of XR600's), but they are starting to get worn.

Will be interested to see what some of the guru's say here, but my take is just make sure you buy the best fitting sprocket you can, with a nice wide footprint, and forget about it. They all have some play, and there is not much you can do...
Yeah clearly the guy did not put a drop of grease on the splines. Like literally everything the former owner did was a hack job. I have learned my lesson. I will not buy a modified bike again. You cant trust the former owners to do the work right.

I ordered a pbi sprocket. It seems to be what the XR650L guys do when their splines get chewed up. I cant wait to get the sprocket to compare it to the one that was on there depth wise.

Yeah I should probably replace that seal too!

EDIT: Looks like that seal was improved and has a new version. Parts ordered!

medisyn screwed with this post 08-28-2013 at 02:28 PM
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:46 PM   #17939
mitchn06
Studly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 553
what is everybody running for a backfire screen?
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Sold) LINK
2014.5 Kawasaki KLR650 NE
mitchn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:42 PM   #17940
Shibby!
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Currently - Canada
Oddometer: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchn06 View Post
what is everybody running for a backfire screen?

The stock one....
__________________
Tour of Idaho T1 Challenge - https://spotwalla.com/tripViewer.php...551f1642711d75
Eat. Sleep. Ride - The Great Divide: http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...4#post19193704
Go, Get Lost - Heading South: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=735690
Dirt Donkeys Do Baja: http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=671095

Shibby! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015