Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-04-2008, 12:07 PM   #1
newride OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 704
front brake bleed for an airhead

Hello all again,
yes, I am catching up on years of no maintence on my R90/6. I did a search and could not find if there is a step by step on bleeding the front brake on such a bike. I have never done the fluid in brakes before.

My moto blog: http://jbloggie1.blogspot.com/
newride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
Mista Vern
Knows all - tells some.

Oddometer: 15,512
Just Google "how to bleed brakes" and you will get lots of info. It's nice to have a helper on hand, but you can do it yourself. Brake fluid is hard on surfaces, so if you spill any clean it up real well.

Eidt: cars and bikes are generally thesame process, only the brake lever is pumped instead of a pedal. Also, be very careful trying to loosen the bleeder; if it hasn't been opened in a long while it may be tough to get it to turn. Make sure the wrench fits tight or you will round off the bleeder.

Emily Bronte
Mista Vern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:44 PM   #3
datchew
Don't buy from Brad

Oddometer: 7,409
how long has it been? It might looks like this (notice the chunks):

datchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:57 PM   #4
rain
Ooh Ooh Ahh Ahh

Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by newride
Hello all again,
yes, I am catching up on years of no maintence on my R90/6. I did a search and could not find if there is a step by step on bleeding the front brake on such a bike. I have never done the fluid in brakes before.
When I did the brake fluid on my old RS () I used SpeedBleeders ... they're kinda hokey but they make doing the job yourself much easier. If you want someone to come and help with the loosen-squeeze-tighten procedure let me know...
Old 12-04-2008, 01:53 PM   #5
kz1
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 780
Word of caution