ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 08:25 PM   #751
slabm7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Cochrane, AB
Oddometer: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by sion View Post
hi

I've got an 02 XR250R which, if I've read the service manual correctly, has an AC electrical system. I have installed a Tusk DS lighting kit, which runs off a small battery pack (12 volt 1000mA NiCad batteries in AA size)



so obviously, this is a DC system.

what I'd like to do is tap into the bikes electrical output to keep the battery charged and power the LEDs...

what would be involved in that? would I need to rewind the stator or does it already have DC output thats just not being used?
You can run your LEDs and headlight off an AC system. But your signal lights and battery will have to be a DC system. A stock XR650R has no DC system and needs a rectifier/regulator put on to convert AC to DC. If the kit comes with a battery I would be surprised if they didn't include some kind of rectifier.
__________________
03 Honda XR650R dual sported
1999 Honda VTR1000


Nobody EVER lies on their death bed and says "I should have worked more".
slabm7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:38 PM   #752
sion
sigh-own
 
sion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Hocking Hills
Oddometer: 3,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by slabm7 View Post
You can run your LEDs and headlight off an AC system. But your signal lights and battery will have to be a DC system. A stock XR650R has no DC system and needs a rectifier/regulator put on to convert AC to DC. If the kit comes with a battery I would be surprised if they didn't include some kind of rectifier.

no rectifier...very simple kit that does not tie into the existing electrics at all...just the battery powering the led turn signals and brake/tail light, and the horn.
__________________
I say, there's no such thing as a bad day's riding. -metaljockey

whats the value of good gear?: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...ostcount=49301
sion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:55 PM   #753
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,328
They sell battery-powered tallight and turn signal kits for bicycles at wallyworld that I know at least a few guys have used to get tickets signed off...
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:55 PM   #754
slabm7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Cochrane, AB
Oddometer: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by sion View Post
no rectifier...very simple kit that does not tie into the existing electrics at all...just the battery powering the led turn signals and brake/tail light, and the horn.
How does the battery charge?
__________________
03 Honda XR650R dual sported
1999 Honda VTR1000


Nobody EVER lies on their death bed and says "I should have worked more".
slabm7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:30 PM   #755
sion
sigh-own
 
sion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Hocking Hills
Oddometer: 3,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by slabm7 View Post
How does the battery charge?

on the charger, at home after the ride...

this is what I want to accomplish...actually, I just want to run the lights off the bikes juice...I guess I might not even need the battery, unless the LEDs need a capacitor.
__________________
I say, there's no such thing as a bad day's riding. -metaljockey

whats the value of good gear?: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...ostcount=49301
sion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:14 PM   #756
slabm7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Cochrane, AB
Oddometer: 302
I have been reading this thread all night so far and have learned alot about my electrical system and where I want to go with it, but I have a quick question.

I am going to rewind my stator to a 2 x 125W setup, run one to the BD R/R and the other to the stock regulator. On the DC side I want to run blinkers, tail/stop light, heated grips and a 35W headlight. Now on the AC side I only want to run a 100W light. I want to hook the 100W light into a relay and run it off my hi beam indicator so that the 100w light only comes on when I use the high beams. Will the stock regulator be able to dissipate enough heat that I can leave the 100W light off and not damage the regulator? Or will I have to leave the 100W light on to keep current moving?

Thanks Guys.
__________________
03 Honda XR650R dual sported
1999 Honda VTR1000


Nobody EVER lies on their death bed and says "I should have worked more".
slabm7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 01:31 PM   #757
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,362
Stators Demystified

All you ever wanted to know about stators

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=189734
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 01:56 PM   #758
Gildus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Gildus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by sion View Post
on the charger, at home after the ride...

this is what I want to accomplish...actually, I just want to run the lights off the bikes juice...I guess I might not even need the battery, unless the LEDs need a capacitor.
ok, that explains it...i was scratching my head trying to figure out how you managed to use a battery on an AC system without a rectifier. Anyway, no need at all for a capacitor. At some point you may want to go with a slightly more powerful battery, depending on your needs. Or, when you're ready, just add a rectifier and you'll never have to worry again about charging the damn battery. It's really, really not a big deal to do. Just re-reading the posts on this thread will teach anyone how to do anything from a simple mod like that to designing and creating your own wiring harness (my current project). Pulling out and replacing all the wiring sounds impressive, but thanks to RideFreak and others, I've found it's not only not difficult, but I feel completely different about my bike now. It's like it's got added personality, customized to me, and I feel like I trust it much more, and could fix anything that might come up. Before, I liked to think of other mods but anything with electrical made me nervous. I just hoped no bad juju would strike with all those mysterious wires. Best time investment I ever spent on ADV was reading ALL the posts on this thread.
Gildus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:47 PM   #759
XRx
Broken Filter
 
XRx's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Bruins Territory
Oddometer: 505
Okay, so I've been trying to get things more nailed down before starting to ask questions. But I think it's time for a question or two.

My plan is to rewind my spare stator I bought, with two separate outputs, wattage/windings still in question.

I have a Baja Designs Dual Sport Kit(2 of them actually). My question is about the BD control switch. I plan to run two hi/low beam headlights on one leg of the stator, and the directionals/tail/running lights, horn etc., on the other leg. I suspect all of that power would melt the BD switch assembly, so I'll likely at least need to use relays.

Question 1, Can I use relays from the same switch assembly to run accessories off of two different legs of the stator? As mentioned I have two R/R's, two of everything, though the two switch assemblies are different, old vs. new style.

Question 2, How about if I ran the headlights on AC, I can't run them through the BD low/highbeam switch can I if I'm running the other stuff off DC thru the switch?

Ultimately, I designed and today picked up a pretty sweet billet setup that will allow me to mount the two BD headlights side by side. Just a matter of figuring out what I need to do to wire them up, preferably still using the BD switch assembly.
__________________
"Get the hell out of my way." - John Galt
'78 KE100 - '09 K1300S - '09 CRF450X Tagged- '00 XR650R Tagged - '80s XR600/XL600 Project - Giant Trance X3 - PC: SSD-4.2ghzOC - Old mildly stinky hockey gear
XRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:50 PM   #760
Gildus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Gildus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRx View Post
Okay, so I've been trying to get things more nailed down before starting to ask questions. But I think it's time for a question or two.

My plan is to rewind my spare stator I bought, with two separate outputs, wattage/windings still in question.

I have a Baja Designs Dual Sport Kit(2 of them actually). My question is about the BD control switch. I plan to run two hi/low beam headlights on one leg of the stator, and the directionals/tail/running lights, horn etc., on the other leg. I suspect all of that power would melt the BD switch assembly, so I'll likely at least need to use relays.

Question 1, Can I use relays from the same switch assembly to run accessories off of two different legs of the stator? As mentioned I have two R/R's, two of everything, though the two switch assemblies are different, old vs. new style.

Question 2, How about if I ran the headlights on AC, I can't run them through the BD low/highbeam switch can I if I'm running the other stuff off DC thru the switch?

Ultimately, I designed and today picked up a pretty sweet billet setup that will allow me to mount the two BD headlights side by side. Just a matter of figuring out what I need to do to wire them up, preferably still using the BD switch assembly.
What's the wattage of the lights you're planning to use? Are you planning to wire the stator for 200 or 250 watts?
Gildus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 10:10 PM   #761
XRx
Broken Filter
 
XRx's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Bruins Territory
Oddometer: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gildus View Post
What's the wattage of the lights you're planning to use? Are you planning to wire the stator for 200 or 250 watts?
I left that info out intentionally so as to hopefully figure out how to wire the switches etc. But since you've asked, The two headlights are the two rectangular BAja Designs Headlights that come with teh dual sport kit. So right now they have 35w low and 35w high each I believe. But I would like to put the 55w low / 60w high or whatever they are bulbs that baja designs sells, put that into each. But if I have to go with the 35w x2 that is fine too.

But what I really want to know is if I can run two different sides of the stator off the same switch assembly if I use relays. Do you know the answer to that specific question? Also can I get away with one leg AC and one leg DC using relays and the same switch, or both need to be DC, or can only use one leg of the stator through the switch assembly?
__________________
"Get the hell out of my way." - John Galt
'78 KE100 - '09 K1300S - '09 CRF450X Tagged- '00 XR650R Tagged - '80s XR600/XL600 Project - Giant Trance X3 - PC: SSD-4.2ghzOC - Old mildly stinky hockey gear
XRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 10:59 PM   #762
Gildus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Gildus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRx View Post
I left that info out intentionally so as to hopefully figure out how to wire the switches etc. But since you've asked, The two headlights are the two rectangular BAja Designs Headlights that come with teh dual sport kit. So right now they have 35w low and 35w high each I believe. But I would like to put the 55w low / 60w high or whatever they are bulbs that baja designs sells, put that into each. But if I have to go with the 35w x2 that is fine too.

But what I really want to know is if I can run two different sides of the stator off the same switch assembly if I use relays. Do you know the answer to that specific question? Also can I get away with one leg AC and one leg DC using relays and the same switch, or both need to be DC, or can only use one leg of the stator through the switch assembly?
I asked about the wattage because it's relevant to whether you can power both lights on one leg of the stator or not. I'll assume you're going to wind for a 250 watt output (125 watts each side).

As you know, the BD switch power rating is too low for two headlights - you might get away with it for a while but it will eventually fail. Ridefreak had the idea to use an XRL control since it can handle the power and therefore avoids the complication of having to use a relay at all.

Why not use AC to power the two headlights and DC for the other stator output? That would max out the AC leg but as long as you don't run anything else on AC you should be fine. With this scenario, using the BD switch, you'll only need one relay as long as you're switching both lights high or low at the same time.
Gildus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:13 PM   #763
Gildus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Gildus's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRx View Post
Question 1, Can I use relays from the same switch assembly to run accessories off of two different legs of the stator? As mentioned I have two R/R's, two of everything, though the two switch assemblies are different, old vs. new style.

Question 2, How about if I ran the headlights on AC, I can't run them through the BD low/highbeam switch can I if I'm running the other stuff off DC thru the switch?
Q1 The only thing you need a relay for is the lights, as they draw a lot of current. Tail lights, turn signals, etc., don't require a relay and can be controlled by the BD switch just fine

Q2 If you use a relay tied to the BD switch for your AC headlights, yes you can run DC turn signals, taillight, etc. and control them with the same switch
Gildus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:55 AM   #764
XRx
Broken Filter
 
XRx's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Bruins Territory
Oddometer: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gildus View Post
Q1 The only thing you need a relay for is the lights, as they draw a lot of current. Tail lights, turn signals, etc., don't require a relay and can be controlled by the BD switch just fine

Q2 If you use a relay tied to the BD switch for your AC headlights, yes you can run DC turn signals, taillight, etc. and control them with the same switch
Great, that's the answer I'm looking for. I wasn't sure if I could run an AC relay from a DC signal. Hmmm much more succinct there than I was last night...

On another note, that seems like a good idea with the street model switch setup. Maybe I'll steal the switches off my old XL600 that no longer gets any love.
__________________
"Get the hell out of my way." - John Galt
'78 KE100 - '09 K1300S - '09 CRF450X Tagged- '00 XR650R Tagged - '80s XR600/XL600 Project - Giant Trance X3 - PC: SSD-4.2ghzOC - Old mildly stinky hockey gear
XRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:45 AM   #765
crypto666
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: The best trails in Nevada
Oddometer: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by slabm7 View Post
I have been reading this thread all night so far and have learned alot about my electrical system and where I want to go with it, but I have a quick question.

I am going to rewind my stator to a 2 x 125W setup, run one to the BD R/R and the other to the stock regulator. On the DC side I want to run blinkers, tail/stop light, heated grips and a 35W headlight. Now on the AC side I only want to run a 100W light. I want to hook the 100W light into a relay and run it off my hi beam indicator so that the 100w light only comes on when I use the high beams. Will the stock regulator be able to dissipate enough heat that I can leave the 100W light off and not damage the regulator? Or will I have to leave the 100W light on to keep current moving?

Thanks Guys.
That is pretty much the same setup myself and others use; split the coils to a dc and ac side. For myself I chose to let the ac headlight run all the time with no switch (it can be unplugged for stealth mode), this is to keep the reg from having to shunt all the power and for safety. I wouldn't trust the stock reg to dissipate all that power, it was designed around a much smaller stator. Ricky stator has some heavy duty units though that would hold up. I avoided the use of relays because I don't want the added weak link.

The one thing I had to add was batteries (A123 system cells) because my hid doesn't like a dirty power supply and the batteries clean things up. I tried a capacitor at first, but found that the heavy duty r/r I use lets some voltage sneak by and it charges the cap upwards of 16v. If you aren't running any sensitive electronics you can get by without the batteries.
crypto666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014