ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2015, 07:15 AM   #1
CodeMonkee OP
Geek Adventurer
 
CodeMonkee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 5,603
Wireless connection to satellite dish?

I live on 20 acres of forest on a mountain.

No cable. No FiOS. Internet is slow (3 mbps at best when running good).

Until last year there were so many trees around me that I could not see the satellites for DirecTV.

Last year some of my neighbors clear cut their trees. Now at the edge of my property (along the private road), the view to the satellites is clear.

Problem is that this is about 300 feet from my house. Also, my driveway has new and expensive paving and I don't want to dig a trench across it. My understanding is that this is too far anyway.

My shop is separate from my house, has its own power and is about 50 feet from the road. I could put an power source and receiver of some sort in the shop pretty easily, but how do I get the satellite signal from the shop to my house?

Because of the paving, underground power lines and septic lines, and the distance, running a line from the shop to the house isn't feasible.

Is there a wireless setup that could handle this problem?

I looked around and the only wireless setup for DTV I could find was one meant for in house setups and not meant for this kind of distance.

Thoughts?

TIA
__________________
'09 Husaberg FE570
'99 Beta Alp
'04 Ducati MTS - sold
Not all who wander are lost
CodeMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:34 AM   #2
a1fa
Throttle Jockey™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,867
you could do it with wireless ethernet and their version of slingbox...
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:15 AM   #3
Mini Trail
n°°b
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: West Tennessee
Oddometer: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeMonkee View Post
I live on 20 acres of forest on a mountain.

No cable. No FiOS. Internet is slow (3 mbps at best when running good).

Until last year there were so many trees around me that I could not see the satellites for DirecTV.

Last year some of my neighbors clear cut their trees. Now at the edge of my property (along the private road), the view to the satellites is clear.

Problem is that this is about 300 feet from my house. Also, my driveway has new and expensive paving and I don't want to dig a trench across it. My understanding is that this is too far anyway.

My shop is separate from my house, has its own power and is about 50 feet from the road. I could put an power source and receiver of some sort in the shop pretty easily, but how do I get the satellite signal from the shop to my house?

Because of the paving, underground power lines and septic lines, and the distance, running a line from the shop to the house isn't feasible.

Is there a wireless setup that could handle this problem?

I looked around and the only wireless setup for DTV I could find was one meant for in house setups and not meant for this kind of distance.

Thoughts?

TIA
I'm not sure about Directv but with Dish you could put the DVR receiver and a router in the shop then put a hopper in your house with a wireless adapter.
__________________
Your cycle had a bell on it.
Mini Trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 10:50 AM   #4
KungPaoDog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 470
Do a solar powered box at the satellite dish to power either a wireless ethernet extension, or a wireless router. You could probably boost the signal with a relay in the middle if need be.
__________________
2010 Honda NT700V-Red
KungPaoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 11:08 AM   #5
Manuel Garcia O'Kely
Back at last
 
Manuel Garcia O'Kely's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Central Colorado Rockies
Oddometer: 13,308
The old time solution would have been an LNA Low Noise Amplifier at the antenna and a long coax run. There are ways to get conduit under paving without a trench.
__________________
Never ascribe to Evil that which is more resonably explained by Ignorance and Stupidity

There's casting, then there's running into the stream with a baseball bat trying to club the fish to death. - Jim Moore
Manuel Garcia O'Kely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 01:07 PM   #6
CodeMonkee OP
Geek Adventurer
 
CodeMonkee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 5,603
Thank you for the suggestions.

I am not sure a simple ethernet solution will work, but if it did then that would be great as it would possibly be the simplest to implement and use.

Sure you can send data via ethernet/WiFi, but what off the shelf components are out there that would connect the DTV DVR to my TV via ethernet/WiFi? How would I use these with a remote control.

I haven't found any components like this anywhere - yet.

I was hoping for someone who had actually done this before to say it could be done and how they did it.

Due to the physical layout of the underground lines combined with the pavement, I really don't want to go the route of laying more underground lines - I would rather just stick with Amazon/Netflix/Hulu if I have to. The reason I want satellite is because my internet access is very slow due to the location often resulting in a movie/show stopping and buffering for minutes), plus so far, program selection still pretty much sucks compared to cable or satellite.
__________________
'09 Husaberg FE570
'99 Beta Alp
'04 Ducati MTS - sold
Not all who wander are lost

CodeMonkee screwed with this post 05-04-2015 at 04:46 PM
CodeMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 02:55 PM   #7
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 15,462
I have found either HD or long range, but not both. I've not checked Crutchfield yet.
troidus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:11 PM   #8
shores
ElBandido
 
shores's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 609
If you are comfortable with networking you can install a pair of these point to point to for low cost
http://routerboard.com/RBSXTG-5HPacD
shores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:13 PM   #9
manganos
Let me pontificate.
 
manganos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia
Oddometer: 3,597
Bore the driveway and place a few conduit.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.
manganos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:28 PM   #10
shores
ElBandido
 
shores's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 609
Or rent a concrete saw and cut a trench for your new conduit and pull quality coax and outdoor cat5e or better then just patch the driveway
shores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:02 PM   #11
CodeMonkee OP
Geek Adventurer
 
CodeMonkee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 5,603
1) You cannot just pass satellite vid over TCP/IP; you have to pass all the control signals, etc., and the remote control signals and so on. If it was just as simple as using ethernet I would just hookup some WiFi WAPs between the house and the shop - something I will eventually do anyway. The receivers generally are not setup to work that way.

Satellite systems have to control the LNBs on the dish - they need power, and you need to be able to switch between the different LNBs as you switch channels in the system to switch between the different satellites. You can't just plug ethernet in and have that happen.

2) The max distance a DTV dish can be from the receiver that controls it is about 150 feet (depending on the type of cable) - otherwise you get into signal and control issues. To get around obstructions and to get to the edge of the property where the satellites can be seen, is about 250 to 300 feet at least.

3) I do not want to dig up my driveway - I just spent $17K to have it paved, and it wouldn't save much even if I did - maybe 50 to 100 feet at best.
__________________
'09 Husaberg FE570
'99 Beta Alp
'04 Ducati MTS - sold
Not all who wander are lost
CodeMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:29 PM   #12
GSWayne
Old Guy nOOb
 
GSWayne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Oddometer: 3,093
Any chance putting the satellite dish on a mast would solve your problem?
These guys http://www.mgs4u.com/fiberglass-push-up-mast.htm have fiberglass ones up to 50 ft that would be easy to deal with. These guys http://www.texastowers.com/towers/ss.htm have heavier duty units if you wanted unguyed masts or one taller than 50 feet.
__________________
It isn't the conditions its the decisions

Don't bring a motorcycle to a car fight
GSWayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:54 PM   #13
discochris
Beastly Adventurer
 
discochris's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Sometimes the Twin Cities, Sometimes NW Wisconsin
Oddometer: 1,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1fa View Post
you could do it with wireless ethernet and their version of slingbox...
Their version, the GenieGO is absolutely terrible.
discochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:48 AM   #14
CodeMonkee OP
Geek Adventurer
 
CodeMonkee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Orygun
Oddometer: 5,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSWayne View Post
Any chance putting the satellite dish on a mast would solve your problem?
These guys http://www.mgs4u.com/fiberglass-push-up-mast.htm have fiberglass ones up to 50 ft that would be easy to deal with. These guys http://www.texastowers.com/towers/ss.htm have heavier duty units if you wanted unguyed masts or one taller than 50 feet.
My trees are 100'+ tall, so no, I don't think that will work.

I have an open area to the north of my house, but for every foot away from the trees is pretty much a foot down the mountain, so I don't gain anything by moving the dish away from the trees.

I had some thinning done when the neighbors clear cut, but the trees still block the view of the satellite from anywhere near the house, and I am not willing to cut down more trees, especially not just to get TV.

Moreover, the mast would have to be guyed - you should see the trees here, 2 to 3 feet in diameter at the trunk, sway in the wind. Satellite dishes are very picky about where they are aimed so even the slightest movement would cause it to lose signal (I have some experience with this - I had several dishes where I used to live).
__________________
'09 Husaberg FE570
'99 Beta Alp
'04 Ducati MTS - sold
Not all who wander are lost
CodeMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015