ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2009, 07:50 AM   #61
Lost Rider
Roadie
 
Lost Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, California Republic
Oddometer: 3,109
Updated Setup.

I'm using the Garmin marine mount to hold the GPSMAP 478, bolted to an aluminum plate, mounted to my quick release top box. The whole setup comes off very easy and I never have to unplug anything from the Garmin, instead a military grade waterproof connector is used on the box to supply power, and the audio comes out the front with a panel mount 1/8th jack.












__________________
Photography for me is not about recreating what I saw through
the viewfinder but to show people the way I want to see the world.

LostRider.com
Lost Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:36 AM   #62
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,778
Anyone use the Garmin Nuvi 550 Waterproof? I'm interested in this one mainly because it's $260. And Touratech makes a lockable MvG mount for it.
__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 09:51 AM   #63
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiTown
I'm using the Garmin marine mount to hold the GPSMAP 478, bolted to an aluminum plate, mounted to my quick release top box.
That's quite a setup there, ChiTown. Does the position of top box interfere with your standing on the pegs at all?

Looks like that LX3 is well-protected in there. I'm having a blast with mine.

David
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 02:19 PM   #64
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,795
Garmin 60CSx RAM Mount Power Cable Holder

I use a Garmin GPSMap 60CSx and the only thing I don't like about it is the fact that the power cable has nothing holding it in. It falls out often.

This is what the back of the gps looks like, in the RAM mount:



This is not helped by the pFranc power cable I made up, but I like the setup so I gave a little thought to the idea of keeping the cable in and came up with this:



This is just a flat piece of plexiglass which I cut up and is now sandwiched between the RAM diamond mount and the RAM gps holder, and which keeps the power cable from coming out unless I remove the gps from the RAM mount.





That should be the end of that problem, I hope.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 02:42 PM   #65
dukedar
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Griz
Anyone use the Garmin Nuvi 550 Waterproof? I'm interested in this one mainly because it's $260. And Touratech makes a lockable MvG mount for it.
Griz,

Let us know what you find out on the nuvi 550. I am looking at that one real hard as well.

The Zumo 550 is too rich for me, and I do not need or want Bluetooth, XM, or Text to Speech. The Zumo 450 might be a contender, but it is discontinued, and only available on eBay now as a refurb.
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 07:24 PM   #66
Lost Rider
Roadie
 
Lost Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, California Republic
Oddometer: 3,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodWorks
Does the position of top box interfere with your standing on the pegs at all?

David
Negative, it's not in the way at all, I can see all the gauges too.
__________________
Photography for me is not about recreating what I saw through
the viewfinder but to show people the way I want to see the world.

LostRider.com
Lost Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:17 AM   #67
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedar
Griz,

Let us know what you find out on the nuvi 550. I am looking at that one real hard as well.

The Zumo 550 is too rich for me, and I do not need or want Bluetooth, XM, or Text to Speech. The Zumo 450 might be a contender, but it is discontinued, and only available on eBay now as a refurb.
I'm using the Nuvi 500 (same as 550 but with different maps, the 500 has topo.) I have seem them for as little as $225 USD.

I have it mounted like this ...
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...08#post9047608

Due to it NOT being wide screen it fits in very nicely in the space between the windscreen and the instruments. It does not have Bluetooth or XM, does do basic text-to-speech (no street names).

I initially had a cheaper one (Nuvi 265) but found out that the cheaper ones do not allow a custom route (they allow waypoints but you can't pick the ROADS so ... that caused me to upgrade).

Being waterproof, having a swappable battery (advertised to last 8 hrs), and the topo maps - I use it for hiking and camping also made it not hurt so much on the wallet. Bluetooth would have been nice as I could see WHO was calling during a ride and then decide wether to pull over and talk or roll on the gas but I can live without it...

The new units are small enought to fit in a pocket, so I decided not to worry about a locking mount... one more key to dick with ... that I could loose....
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 11:01 AM   #68
Lindeberg
Adventurer
 
Lindeberg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 88
Where can I find a modestly priced power cable which fits between my 800GS and my Garmin 60CSx? Preferrabily a short one.
__________________
Rock 'n roll roadster ('11 BMW R1200R)
Lindeberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 03:13 PM   #69
dukedar
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindeberg
Where can I find a modestly priced power cable which fits between my 800GS and my Garmin 60CSx? Preferrabily a short one.
There is a good How-To on the F800 Rider's forum on making a GPS cable:
http://f800riders.org/HoW/showentry.php?e=29&catid=6

I am currently looking hard at a nuvi 550, and I plan on going this route. I will gt a moderately priced 12v car cable, and cut the end off to splice in the BMW connector like in the How-To
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 02:56 PM   #70
RobTheRigger
Thread Killer
 
RobTheRigger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Gone fishin'.
Oddometer: 673
Since I financed my bike, I said "Screw it." and got the Nav III, which is wired into the CANbus plug. I want to be able to use my eTrex as a backup, or if I want to let the wife use the Nav in the car. I found a car charger with a USB for a blue-tooth earpiece. I just wired a cigarette plug into the bike via an AP-1 and "Voila!" USB power!

Rob
__________________
I can imagine a no more rewarding career. And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: "I served in the United States Navy." JFK

"I rode a lot of dirt bikes when I was younger, so I trust the chain and sprockets more than that newfangled voodoo shaft stuff!" DolphinJohn
RobTheRigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 03:58 PM   #71
Capt.Jim
b00b
 
Capt.Jim's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindeberg
Where can I find a modestly priced power cable which fits between my 800GS and my Garmin 60CSx? Preferrabily a short one.
Not sure that this is modestly priced ($32.95 USD) but its exactly what your looking for. I just received one for my setup.



Available from Powerlet. You can also get the empty Powerlet end to use for your own cables. Here is a link:

http://www.powerletproducts.com/shop...t-cable/236/23

jim
Capt.Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 03:05 AM   #72
Lindeberg
Adventurer
 
Lindeberg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 88
Thank you for that.
__________________
Rock 'n roll roadster ('11 BMW R1200R)
Lindeberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 08:18 AM   #73
innovathinker
Adventurer
 
innovathinker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Oddometer: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukedar
There is a good How-To on the F800 Rider's forum on making a GPS cable:
http://f800riders.org/HoW/showentry.php?e=29&catid=6

I am currently looking hard at a nuvi 550, and I plan on going this route. I will gt a moderately priced 12v car cable, and cut the end off to splice in the BMW connector like in the How-To
Just what I was looking for!

Thanks!
__________________
My Silly Little Website: http://www.gsriders.us
innovathinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 11:16 AM   #74
LewisNClark
Studly Adventurer
 
LewisNClark's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: North GA and Atlanta
Oddometer: 966
GPS mounted with a Pelican Box

Can't justify a separate GPS in 4 different vehicles. So my solution was a Pelican box mounted across the middle of the handle bar with two U-bolts. Pelican box was $15 on eBay (wallyworld has a one for $10.) My Magellan 5310 has a 5 1/2 inch screen and the volume can be so loud I can easily hear the street by street directions without a headset. Box does not effect view of speed-0 or OBC. I never change a GPS while riding so opening and closing the waterproof Pelican is very easy. box also works well for I-Pod and Radio.


LewisNClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:25 AM   #75
dukedar
60 easy payments!
 
dukedar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Oddometer: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyMike
I've got this setup with a Zumo. It does partially block the tach. I just flipped the brackets and now the bar is on the bottom. It doesn't block anymore. Good to go .
Any pics of your setup? Are you using the TT Cradle also?
__________________
Darren
'09 BMW F800GS
dukedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014